We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal, VERY convenient location”
Review of Kyoto Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Ranked #76 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel's location is VERY convenient if you plan to tour Kyoto via train and/or bus. It is directly across the street from the Kyoto City Bus station and Kyoto Station. The room is Japanese-size, so may be smaller than Western standards, however, they are very well-kept and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel did not have WiFi. This is the 2nd time I've stayed at Kyoto Tower Hotel, I will be back for a third! :-)

Room Tip: If possible, have a native Japanese speaker book through a Japanese travel website to get a much bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 567 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is located directly opposite Kyoto train station and bus terminal making it an ideal hotel to stay at. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and a good size. Staying here also entitles you to a free pass to go up the Kyoto Tower as well as a 10% discount coupon for the souvenir shop adjacent to the hotel. There is a Starbucks and Mcdonalds close by as well as a large electrical store behind the hotel with restaurants on the 6F. I would definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip to Kyoto.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori-Anne91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The location was fantastic, nobody that arrives in Kyoto should miss the Kyoto Tower. The hotel also provides free passes to visit the Tower, which is a lovely, especially during sunset.

The hotel room was very clean but very tiny and cramp. The prices were not cheap also.

Yodayabashi mall with lots of electronics is situated just behind and the tourist bus for most of the attractions is just in front of the hotel. There is a McDonalds at the corner if you want somewhere cheap (by Japan standards) and there are lots of food at Kyoto Station.

Room Tip: Something facing the Kyoto Station is always a nice sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Location is good. Near the train station and bus terminal which makes it convenient. Room is a reasonable size considering Japan's hotel room size. Complimentary entry to the Kyoto Tower. With a shopping mall nearby, you will have no problem looking for restaurants. Upon check in, staff told us that they were no wireless router available. Luckily, we got a room on the 8th floor whereby we could detect the wifi in the room. Room rate was reasonable. Will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel has a great location opposite the train station and the main bus terminals (essential to get around kyoto and beyond).

We were told that they didnt have any non-smoking rooms left even though we had booked months ago and had arrived early (before check-in time). The room they gave us was awful.! It smelt of smoke (even though they said it wouldnt), was much smaller that we had booked / paid for, the furniture had seen much better days and the room was not clean!

The next day they moved us to a much better non-smoking room but this was still tired looking and cleaning was not great.

Other than that we had wi-fi in the room, the staff were friendly and you got free tickets to the top of the tower.

I wouldnt really recommend this place to anyone unless they are staying one night and need somewhere with easy access to everything.

Room Tip: If they say all of the rooms have been booked (of the type you have requested) then kick up a fuss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Well located, opposite Kyoto station which has excellent shopping. From the hotel you can go up the Kyoto Tower (entry free for hotel guests). Big and lovely temptation are the souvenir shops --there is connecting door form the hotel!. The hotel and the shops have some discount arrangement they will tell you about. Also a free drink on the house at the hotel bar every night you are there. Room was so small I hot the walls if I stood akimbo. Nice sized bed but grim colours--grey and brown. Bathroom also very tiny but clean, with a steep step leading to it. It is reputed to serve the best sea food in the area, and we certainly had a fantastic dinner of it. Breakfast is generous and served in a large airy restaurant. Continental as well as Japanese food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordullinsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Friends and I stayed here together just for one night.
After staying in hostels, our stay at this hotel was wonderful.
We had a fantastic large room. Very clean and good view.
This hotel is in a great location, and we wouldn't hesitate in staying again.
All the staff were lovely and helpful also.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank leesh1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#82 of 379 in Kyoto
535 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#56 of 379 in Kyoto
654 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 379 in Kyoto
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel Annex
Kyoto Tower Hotel Annex
#128 of 379 in Kyoto
281 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Tower Hotel

Address: 721-1 Higashishiokoji-cho, Shichijoo-sagaru, Higasinotoin-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $88 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kyoto Tower Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kyoto Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing