We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location& friendy staff”
Review of Kyoto Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Ranked #67 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location& friendy staff”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night whilst visiting Kyoto for 2 days. We came on the Shinkansen train form Tokyo and so the the location is great as it is right next to the station and the tower. The stay at the hotel allws one to have access to the Kyoyo tower, although it is not a very tall building compared to the more modern tower/buildings. The hotel room is quite small with the toliet "cosy" at best. But it was comfortable enough for 1 night and there are numerous shops/ restuarants nearby.

The hotel is great as the bus station for the bus tour is located right to hotel. The day pass unlimited bus routes is around 500yen which is £4. Allows one to explore Kyoto and its numerous temples for a good price as taxi are very expensive in japan. The hotel is recommended for short stay only, like for us, but if you are planning to stay for more 3/4 days I do think you might find the hotel room too small.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    252
    161
    29
    11
See reviews for
166
154
60
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I've stayed there for 2 nights. The room was quiet even facing the Kyoto Station. Never woke up by the busy traffic outside at night. In the morning, however, nightmare started at 8:00 SHARP. Drilling, drilling and drilling. Perfect location and reasonable price. But make sure to check if they have any renovation on going......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bell0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were there in November and most of the hotels were fully booked and we ended up staying at the Kyoto Tower. The location is excellent, right in front of the train station, but this was the smallest hotel room I ever seen/been in my life. It's hard to move in the room, especially if you have big suitcases. The bathroom is also very small but had Toto toilette seat. The room was clean and the staff was helpful. You get a free entrance to the top of the tower to see the city view.
For breakfast you can either go to Starbucks around the corner or to any of the many choices in the train station (japanese style).
The train station is modern and is like a shopping mall with shops and lots of restaurants. The buses to the temples leave from the train station besides the subway to the city center.
November is the best time to see the maple tree foliage turn red and yellow and many of the temples and shrines do the "light ups", evening illumination of the leaves. One should not miss it if you have the opportunity to travel on this month. It's gorgeous!!
If you don't mind being in a tiny room, it's an ok hotel, considering the location. Kyoto is just enchanting!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theworldismyhomeblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel. It is just crossing street from Kyoto train station and many bus start point. We traveled from Osaka to Kyoto and Kyoto to Tokyo all by train. This location is perfect for us. We bought daily bus pass from the hotel and easily go to major temples and shrines. We also got free upgrade to large room, which is larger than the room of Courtyard hotel in Tokyo. The hotel staffs are nice and helpful. The furniture is little old. They gave us free tickets to ride to tower. It is a good value stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Hotel is directly opposite the Kyoto Station.. Our room on Sixth Floor was fresh, clean , not musty as some reviews had stated.. beds very comfortable, room and bathroom were small compared to our standards but functional.. all that is needed when exploring the city is your objective.
Close by are a multitude of conveniences.. the bus station, trains, post office, department stores . I Setan and Yodobashi, Starbucks etc. and a mini city below of shopping malls & restaurants in the train station subway accesses.
Staff were very helpful,English speaking member always on hand.. a complimentary voucher for the Kyoto Tower viewing platform was unexpected and appreciated.
Overall a great budget hotel, functional and pleasant .. Look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the station , on the higher floors, have a wonderful view of the nightly Aqua Fantasy S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Location is very convenient. Near the Kyoto station. However, the hotel is very old, musty and outdated. The bathroom is very, very small. When we checked in, the air conditioner in our room was very hot. The bathroom is so small, there wasn't enough space to move. Overall, the hotel badly needs renovation. It's one of the landmarks in Kyoto and it should be maintained properly.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RODITAS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

My wife and I with 2 kids (9 and 11) stayed there for 3 nights. We had a twin room with 2 beds. The bed is just big enough for 2 people (less than us queen and bigger than us twin).
Right outside train and bus station so it is extremely convenient. A lot of restaurants but also close to a shopping mall where there is a grocery store.
Hotel staff is very friendly. Don't expect this is a fancy place. As many people said, this is a out-dated building and room is small. But is clean and good enough for you to rest and it is what exactly it should be in this location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#89 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#52 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#46 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Tower Hotel

Property: Kyoto Tower Hotel
Address: 721-1 Higashishiokoji-cho, Shichijoo-sagaru, Higasinotoin-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kyoto Tower Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Fastbooking, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kyoto Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing