We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, musty hotel”
Review of Kyoto Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Ranked #67 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Old, musty hotel”
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Location is very convenient. Near the Kyoto station. However, the hotel is very old, musty and outdated. The bathroom is very, very small. When we checked in, the air conditioner in our room was very hot. The bathroom is so small, there wasn't enough space to move. Overall, the hotel badly needs renovation. It's one of the landmarks in Kyoto and it should be maintained properly.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RODITAS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    252
    161
    29
    11
See reviews for
166
154
60
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

My wife and I with 2 kids (9 and 11) stayed there for 3 nights. We had a twin room with 2 beds. The bed is just big enough for 2 people (less than us queen and bigger than us twin).
Right outside train and bus station so it is extremely convenient. A lot of restaurants but also close to a shopping mall where there is a grocery store.
Hotel staff is very friendly. Don't expect this is a fancy place. As many people said, this is a out-dated building and room is small. But is clean and good enough for you to rest and it is what exactly it should be in this location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights. I had booked something more expensive but having been in Japan a week I needed to economise :) This hotel is in a dated building but the room fittings are new. They haven't been able to raise the ceilings though and the combination of low ceilings and my narrow single room, plus an uneven floor, made me feel quite queasy. I also always check the fire escape route and it seemed to me that the door was locked. Also the staff speak little English and they gave me a smoking room despite requesting non. (This has happened to me elsewhere in Japan). Didn't like it, was glad to leave. On the plus side you won't miss it. Just make sure you exit the station via the main station not the shinkansen station. That way it's directly in front of you.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in April. The location is absolutely great, right across the street from the Kyoto train station. The floor we stayed at (9th) was renovated, queen beds, big bathroom (by Japanese standards), overall very big room (we had the Twin B - 22 sqm) and nice view of the Kyoto train station. Our room was unfortunately a smoking room but we sprayed it with the provided Japanese Fabreeze-like-spray and put on a few incense. After that it was totally fine!
Breakfast was not included but there is a Lawson (convenience store) located very close to the train station and a Starbucks right around the corner. I would highly recommend this place! You also get free tickets to go up on the Kyoto Tower observatory to check out Kyoto from above. You can also drop off your bags at the front desk if you want to go exploring, they even delivered them to our room before we got back. Friendly staff and overall great stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngworldtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Hotel rooms in Japan are rarely spacious, but they are often well-appointed. This is an aging property and though the rooms are OK, for the money you can do better. It is very well situated by the train station in Kyoto, and the observation floor is impressive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPK_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This hotel has had poor reviews in the last few years but we tried it anyway and were pleasantly surprised. Yes, the rooms are compact but after a recent reno are very pleasant when you get disciplined with your gear!! Shower is strong and hot and bottomless! The room very clean, excellent staff all over the hotel and no requests were too much (a couple of bowls or a two extra pillows delivered to the room within 5 minutes)

The biggest attraction for us was the location right across the road from the JR station and the city bus terminal...you just could be closer!

They threw in tickets for the viewing deck in the Kyoto Tower above too :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a station view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We have stayed twice at the Kyoto Tower Hotel, in April and November 2011. Both times it was for one night only and for the same reason - we were arriving in Kyoto late at night and wanted somewhere reasonably priced, super-close to the station where we could get a comfortable sleep before moving on to other hotels the next day. The hotel fills this purpose admirably. It is a 2 minute walk, directly opposite the main exit of Kyoto station, underneath the landmark Kyoto Tower, so you can't miss it. :) Both times we stayed in a twin room, which had 2 double beds (not 2 singles). Both rooms were small but comfortable and very clean, and had enough space for a table and chairs underneath the (opening) window. The window opening was a must for us as the hotel felt quite over-heated, even in the chill of late November, and we needed to cool down! The bathroom was also small but functional with all of the standard free soaps, shampoos and amenities. Free internet in the rooms is with a cable, not wi-fi, but a cable is supplied.

At check-in you get a voucher for a free drink in the hotel bar and free tickets to the Kyoto Tower. Breakfast is not included in the room rate and there are hundreds of cafes around the station if you choose not to eat at the hotel. For sheer convenience, we did have breakfast at the hotel and it was quite good, with a nice selection of western and Japanese dishes.

Check in and out was quick and efficient. On both occasions, the hotel stored our luggage during the day while we explored Kyoto. A staff member also went out to the very busy road to get a taxi for us when we were ready to move on to our next hotel and also spoke to the driver about where we wanted to go. This was really appreciated!

For an overnight stay this is a great hotel. We wanted something a bit bigger, in a more interesting part of Kyoto, for our holiday, but we were very happy with the hotel and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: The twin rooms look to be bigger than the doubles and have 2 double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumPlusOne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#89 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#52 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#46 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Tower Hotel

Property: Kyoto Tower Hotel
Address: 721-1 Higashishiokoji-cho, Shichijoo-sagaru, Higasinotoin-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kyoto Tower Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, Rakuten, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kyoto Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing