We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Watazen Ryokan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watazen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Watazen
Ranked #46 of 349 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Watazen Ryokan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Brilliant location, delightful service, the best Japanese breakfasts and delicious dinner. As a coeliac, I was so grateful to staff for sourcing gluten free soy sauce and preparing all my food accordingly. Starting the day with a hot onsen style bath blissful.I cannot speak too highly of this ryokan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Watazen Ryokan.
All the staff of Watazen are very happy to hear that you enjoyed Japanease foods.
Most of Japanese dishes are sesoned soy sause. It is not so difficult to get gkuten free one.
Please, visit Kyoto again and try various traditional deshes.
We wish we can serve you next time at Watazen. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    80
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
83
81
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is located right in the center of Kyoto city. Walking distance to Nishiki Food Market & Gion. The traditional Japanese hotel room is nice & clean. Hotel staff is nice & friendly. They are so kind to lead us to their recommended car-park which is few streets away from hotel building & fetch us with our luggage to the same car-park on our check-out. The Kaiseki dinner & Shabu Shabu dinner was served at hotel room & tasted great ! The staff will set the bed after dinner. This is our first experience in staying at traditional Japanese ryokan & Watazen Ryokan gave us great experience.

Room Tip: Excellent Kaiseki Dinner served in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YuenYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your say at Watazen Ryokan.
We are very glad to hear you that you really enjoyed Japanese traditional dishes.

We hope we can serve you again in near future.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerima-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

nice location in the city center
from the hotel you can walk to subway and you and access the hotel by bus
good experience for ryokan (japanese hotel style)
dinner here was nice
there are onzen Japanese bath style inside the hotel
the owner of the hotel come to greeting u at you room very worm welcome

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yick Yoi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Watazen.
Did you enjoy shopping at Nishiki food market?
We are vely glad that you enjoyed Japanese style dinner in your room.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in near future.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Excellent location, close to market street and shopping. Very helpful and friendly staff. Asked for transport advice from reception staff and they kindly marked sights on a map and explained buses. They recommended a bus day pass (500 yen) which was great value. Can buy at reception. Breakfast is very nice, they even cater for vegetarians. Japanese style room with futons was super comfortable. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 438Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hotel staffs are all very helpful and speak good english. The location is wonderful, about 15 min walk from the subway station. Dinner and breakfast were extremly good and delicious!! Love the place would definitly go back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasel_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your stay at Watazen.
We are very glad you enjoyed Japanese dishes.
We hope we can serve you next time when you travel Kyoto again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a Japanese style room. There was 4 of us. Great central position, Staff very courteous and always glad to make our time with them the best it could be. Public bath in the basement. We loved the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your stay at watazen.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed Japanease style bath.
We hope we can serve you next time when you travel Kyoto again.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

in the middle of kyoto, quiet street, perfect service, wonderful rooms, if you choose a traditional japanese room. public bath in the basement very relaxing. lobby looks a bit old but never mind. breakfast is fantastic. and people working there are so nice. i loved this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Matsui Honkan Ryokan
Matsui Honkan Ryokan
#56 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Maifukan
#26 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#38 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Motonago
#14 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
City Center
Nishiyama Ryokan
Nishiyama Ryokan
#77 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watazen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watazen

Property: Watazen
Address: 413 Izutsuyacho, Rokkaku Sagaru, Yanaginobaba, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8113 , Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shinkyogoku Shopping District , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Watazen 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WATAZEN is a Classical Japanese Inn with modern amenities, located in the center of Kyoto. It has been a familiar inn for many travelers to Kyoto since [Tenpo Gannen](1830). Today, many people enjoy our traditional harmonious atmosphere in central Kyoto. We are confident that our excellent service and cuisine will make your visit to Kyoto a memorable one. Please enjoy Kyoto and relax at WATAZEN. The cost is from 6300JPY - per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Travelocity, Rakuten, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Watazen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watazen Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing