We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Handicraft Souvenirs”

Kyoto Handicraft Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.14*
and up
Kyoto City Tour: Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle, Kyoto Imperial Palace and...
Ranked #10 of 365 Shopping in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Kyoto Handicraft Center is a twin buildings located nearby Heian Shrine, Kyoto. (Some floors are closed in West building, because of preparing renovation. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you.) We offer one-stop shopping for Japanese handicrafts and souvenirs, hands-on handicraft workshops, observing crafts studio, and restaurants. We are dedicated to selling not only traditional handicrafts, but also Japanese accessories and variety goods in a modern style arrangement. Amita Damascene Studio is always open and you can enjoy craftsmen work in front of your eyes. At our handicraft workshop, you are able to enjoy making a choice of handicraft out of nine kinds. We offer great services: English-speaking staffs, duty-free shopping, foreign currency exchange, oversea shipping, tour information desk, internet access, and so on. Over 400 seats are available at our restaurants, we offer Japanese lunch box (Bento) or buffet style lunch by reservation.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great Handicraft Souvenirs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

You must visit this handicraft centre when you are in kyoto especially if you are looking for something meaningful as souvenirs. We found the handmade craft beautiful and cheaper than the rest of Kyoto. If you find the same item in the independent stores in Gion you will find that it's at least 30% dearer. You can also get tax refund if you spend more than 10500Yen in one transaction. Worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AraleMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    41
    29
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“One stop shopping for quality souvenirs/home goods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you are pressed for time, this is great place to pick up some quality traditional crafts and souvenirs for self and friends back home. After a day of touring. family had it with walking around... so I went alone to check it out. At time of my visit, the original shop was under renovation. So the shops were moved to next door. This place has 3 floors of various Japanese products, some from Kyoto and some from elsewhere. Picked up some wooden dolls and lacquer wares and a block print, and ceramic saki set. All sorts of other stuff like samurai swords, tea pots, kimono, fabrics, Japanese paper, books, etc. It was busy when I was there; and staff have great command of English and where very helpful. Highly recommend it. There is a coffee shop also, I did not have time to sit and relax...just shop and go.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sofiteme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Staff Speak English Very Well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Jan 2013, Osaka & Kyoto

Now Kyoto, i when to Kyoto because i would like to search for excellent quality kimono for women, men and kids. My friend suggest that i should go to Kyoto coz the price is quite expensive in Osaka, and yes she very true.

So easy, walk from nearest station about 15 minutes only. I love so much this place because it easy for me to find it, staff very friendly and helpful. most important speak very good english, I'm alive!! hahaha.

I bought kimono and i can get 1st hand kimono for only 2500yen!
before this i'm so lazy to go to kyoto due to i want to spend more time in osaka or tokyo, but when i view the kimono in shinsaibashi so expensive i change my mind.

I in love with kyoto also but cant go alot of places due to i need to catch my big bang concert on the same day...will come here again :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FareedaSuhaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk, england
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

As a professional craftsperson i was very keen to visit this place and was not disappointed, very good. You can see items and watch videos, also participate in classes, if you pre book.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pathepotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Free to get in. This is near the Hein Jingu Shrine.This is way more interesting and instructive than I anticipated. Shows the processes of different Japanese handicrafts - wood carving, weaving, fabric printing, jewelry etc. Some of the items are just amazingly beautiful. There are a few craftspeople working in there at different times so you can observe them. The shop sells some of the goods and the prices are good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SylviaWaddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto Handicraft Center also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Kyoto Handicraft Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing