We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fiona

An Unforgettable Experience

Review of Motonago
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 19, 2018
I will never forget the nights we spent at Motonago. The service and care was second to none, and our room was a wonderfully unique blend of tradition and comfort. I found myself looking forward to getting back there after our daily activities (where there would likely be tea waiting for us!), as it very soon became a sanctuary. Our meals were a highlight - the kaiseki dinner, in particular, was extraordinary. It was definitely a splurge for us, but was worth every penny. Memorable and special. Thank you for having us!
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
1.3 miles from Motonago
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.6 miles from Motonago
Free Wifi
Pool
1.2 miles from Motonago
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.5 miles from Motonago
Free Wifi
Restaurant
新特別室RIKYU 庭
5.1 miles from Motonago
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.9 miles from Motonago
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.6 miles from Motonago
Restaurant
Room service
1.7 miles from Motonago
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe Twin
1.9 miles from Motonago
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveler rating
339
64
10
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
339
64
10
6
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 421 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I spent a night at Motonago with the full dinner, breakfast and bath house options. Simply - this is something to experience! The staff were delightful and attentive, the food spectacular and the whole experience something to remember. While located in the perfect Gion position once we checked in about 4pm we did not leave until 10am the next day and just soaked in everything this accommodation had to offer - didn’t want to break the serenity by leaving. Highly recommend

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

Location is easy to find and the hotel is near all famous temples in Kyoto.. walking distance..
Huge room we have been assigned.. traditional Japanese style accommodation which we were looking forward for this trip .. and that's what exactly what we have got! A warm welcome tea with Japanese style mochi as welcome food .. heart touching one :)
Comfortable and quiet room.. interesting bath experience :)
We had dinner for second night in the hotel and that's definitely one of the best Kaiseki dinner we ever had with excellent service !!
Will come back to stay again :)

Room tip: best japanese service with traditional japanese style room
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ncccccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We were interested in a traditional Ryokan experience including Keiseki dinner, but were also looking for one that included an Onsen that both my husband and I could share (versus being separated by gender) which really limited our search based off of price and existence. Motonago far exceeded our expectations. Rooms were wonderfully decorated and maintained, food was good, it was our honeymoon so they had us dine in the private dining room looking our on the garden, it was truly special. And while they don't have an onsen, they have private hot baths that you schedule for you and anyone in your party so it was a relaxing "spa" experience my husband and I could both partake in. I would HIGHLY recommend Motonago. On top of all of the above, the price is EXTREMELY reasonable given the location and other Ryokan's in the area. Again, I CANNOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE ENOUGH! Absolute highlight of our trip.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank samantharbtilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

The owners and staff are super helpful, extremely kind. The ryokan is very clean. The food is outstanding. I recommend the private bath, but you can also schedule the other baths for private use. They will call cabs for you, loan you umbrellas, provide directions. It is an authentic Japanese experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Families are not really the typical guests for ryokans but we were accommodated wonderfully. We have three children aged 8 to 12. Some difficult dietary preferences taken care of with incredible attention to detail.... and what food! Course after course of fastidiously prepared delicious dishes.
It took some getting used to the traditions of the ryokan eg no shoes but it was amazing to experience such a rich and well preserved tradition. Our favourite moment was seeing the hosts step out into the street and watch departing guests until long after they had disappeared from view - a typical example of their observance of tradition.
It seemed like an extravagance when booking but in retrospect it was priceless. And not even that expensive when you factor in the quality of breakfast and dinner.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Test P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews