We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boon for Budget traveller”
Review of Kyoto White Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kyoto White Hotel
Ranked #193 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Boon for Budget traveller”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The location is the best 5 min walking to Kyoto station, It can't be called a professional hotel the reason --> The hotel is owned by Japanese lady and she is running the show with her little bit English speaking staff, its definitely below furnished place but we were very clear what we wanted Bit bigger than Tiny Tripple room, very clean, Internet, Clean Bathroom and important next to JR train station. we were out most of the time including late evening trying to explore GEISHA. so we came to hotel late evening when we were tired. When people grow old they get tired thats what I saw in that old lady. THe price of Room are extremely low compared to other hotel.

Good luck

Room Tip: Try avoid selecting room next to elevator as lot of people come and go late evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jignesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
17
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent location, Safe time and easy to catch bus or train to travel around the next day. Use the hotel map from their website, u def will find the hotel. It is one of the budget hotel we stay that offer all amenities u need e.g. iron machine, kettle, fridge etc We just used as a place to sleep and private bathroom so it is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurashiki, Japan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is the 4th time I've stayed here, I choose it whenever I plan on using the train for travel in & around Kyoto as it is only 3 minutes on foot from the station.
The rooms are basic tatami rooms or western-style rooms, and there are plenty of amenities- tea & hot water pot, TV, yukatas, shampoo & soap, toothbrush, hair dryer, refrigerator,etc. If the tiny "unit bath" cubicle is too small for you,there is a nice, big commmunal bath on the 5th floor. I paid 4900 yen (US$60 at today's rate) for my single room, which is a bargain for Japan.
Staff is very attentive & friendly.
There is a convenience store, coffee shop, Starbuck's and plenty of restaurants nearby, very convenient.

Room Tip: You can ask for a western-style room or a Japanese-style room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maneki-neko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

The White Hotel is in a great location right outside Kyoto Station, although it is a little difficult to find at first, and I recommend calling ahead for directions.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, with futon bedding. If you don't know how to lay out a futon, they will help you. The ensuite bathrooms are small, as in pretty much all Japanese hotels, but they are clean and perfectly useable.
The TV costs 100 yen/hour, which is slightly ridiculous given that even the cheapest hotels offer free television. Internet, however, is free, provided that you have a LAN cable (or you can rent one for 100 yen).
Although the rooms are comfortable, the service is nothing short of terrible. The woman who runs the place is extremely unpleasant. When we checked in, she was very rude, which was immediately off-putting. The tea pot in my room had clearly been used and not cleaned, and only after five minutes of protesting did she deign to lightly rinse it with cold water and offer it back to me as clean.
The cleaning staff, on the other hand, are very pleasant!
I would recommend going to thie hotel only on the basis of budget--if you go in knowing that you're paying for only the very basic of amenities and that you may encounter some difficulties with the proprieter, you will have a fine stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitofpixiedust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Family-run hostel 5-10 min from Kyoto station. Traditional Japanese-style tatami and futon, it's a good alternative to expensive ryokans if you wanna try futon.

Pros:
1. Excellent location in a quiet little alley.
2. Very comfortable futon! All of us agreed it was the comfiest bed we've ever slept in.
3. Internet available. You have to get a LAN cable from reception though.
4. Clean toilets and room. No bed bugs that we detected...but this was in Jan 2008.

Cons:
1. Language barrier. None of the staff spoke English. They were nice and polite though (as most Japanese people are, so no surprise there).
2. Small room. Tatami was big enough for three futon and a table.
3. Even smaller toilet. The toilet bowl is literally beside the shower which is beside the sink which is beside the door.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We just checked in... The lady at the front desk is not at all friendly (not only in English, but also in fluent, polite, humble Japanese). This is my first time using this hotel, and it'll be the last time for sure.

Pros: distance from Kyoto station (5 min walk), free Internet (bring your ethernet cable; otherwise, it costs 100JPY), bicycle rentals (1,000JPY/day, 500JPY after 3pm)

Cons: cash-only payment, no fridge in the room, no amenities in the room, tiny bathroom, unreasonable clerk (very negative experience + makes everything unenjoyable). Also, if you prefer beds, this hotel isn't for you.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariko_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights and paid usd95 for 2 people in a japanese style room. The hotel is close to the JR kyoto station in a dingy alley. It is more like a dormitory than a hotel. The room is old and the bathroom is so small that it is a joke. You have to lay out your own bed in the room at night using the noticeably dirty mattress and worn out sheets that they provide.
Service is terrible. Check-out is 10am and we were charged 200 yen per piece of luggage to leave our luggage in the hotel until afternoon. We returned slightly late in the afternoon to pick up the luggage and was screamed at by the bespectacle "headmistress" at the reception for being late.
Shock horror of a stay. Will never return no matter how desparate.

  • Liked — Location near kyoto station
  • Disliked — dirty bed, small rooms and bad service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sbs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Station Kyoto West
Hotel Station Kyoto West
#183 of 369 in Kyoto
65 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Livemax Kyoto Ekimae
Hotel Livemax Kyoto Ekimae
#331 of 369 in Kyoto
44 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#94 of 369 in Kyoto
332 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Rich Hotel
Kyoto Rich Hotel
#276 of 369 in Kyoto
197 reviews
City Center
Ryokan Harimaya
Ryokan Harimaya
#277 of 369 in Kyoto
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto White Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto White Hotel

Property: Kyoto White Hotel
Address: 556-1 Higashishiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kyoto White Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kyoto White Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing