We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the gates”

Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.37*
and up
Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour
Ranked #1 of 1,074 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This shrine is one of many located throughout Japan that was built to honor Inari, the Shinto god of rice.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“the gates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

back in 2005, i saw the gates exhibit in central park. and when i went to kyoto, i realized this was the original one. i am not sure how many, but it's really "as far as the eyes can see" very beautiful for pictures.
also visit the nice temples and wishing area. eventhough it is not my religion, i was very impressed and fascinated visiting fushimi inari.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank justgothomefromtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,141
    4,165
    728
    77
    30
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We loved our visit to this shrine, it is completely different to anything else we saw during our visit to Japan. It was a great experience walking through the tori but also branching off onto some of the tracks to see small temples. very easy to get there by train and then the 1st gate is right by the station.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a gorgeous attraction! I missed it the last time I was in Kyoto, and I was so glad I caught it this time, albeit by night.
It's open 24 hours a day, but go during daytime for the best photos. That being said, it was spectacular at nighttime, too, just not easy to capture in photos.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AsiaJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Fox or Vixen? It's Kitsune in Japanese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

You can't say that you were in Kyoto if you didn't visit this place. It's amazing! Go there at dusk and with an approaching storm. I did it and it was magic! Next time, I'd go back there in the daylight!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Franz_Zena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legazpi, Philippines
Level Contributor
215 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Just one of the nice temples to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is my second time to visit Kyoto and in the first time (in July 2010) I didnt get the chance to see this place. When me and my friends visited this shrine we were in awe of how nice the temple is. Different from the usual temples that are all colored BROWN or in antique finish --- this shrine is colored Orange!! Fun to see and fun to take photos too.

I personally would like to recommend that you visit this shrine in the evening when all the lights are lit up. The lights enhances the beauty of the temple and cast a shadow over the beautiful orange color!

Take your pick! Day or night this is is one nice temple to visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ricoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing