We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the walk from the subway station”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Daigo-ji Temple

Daigo-ji Temple
Ranked #34 of 1,074 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This temple complex includes several buildings and an expansive Japanese garden. One of the oldest structures in Kyoto is a five-story pagoda that can be found on the temple grounds.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth the walk from the subway station”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The entrance to where the temple is located is about a 10 minute walk from the subway. I found this area to be quite quiet and serene. The area has a number of temples and a 5-story pagoda. The forest as a back-drop makes this place picture-perfect.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colorado_Traveler_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    153
    51
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My favourite place in Kyoto so far”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

After visiting Fushimi-Inari Taisha, my friend and I headed here, after he showed me a photo of this place, I knew I had to see it. And I wasn't in the least bit disappointed.

Of the three different places that have separate admission charges here, we chose the main area and Sanboin, as the museum area held little interest and we were constrained by time.

All I can say is, wow. There are numerous buildings on the lower Daigo level (there's an upper Daigo level that we didn't venture to due to the 40-degree (Celsius) heat and high humidity). The five-story pagoda (which is the oldest verified building in Kyoto), the gardens, and the Bentendo Hall on the pond to the rear were the highlights. I'm going back in November 2014 and I expect to be completely blown away with the same sight in red and gold leaves.

Sanboin Hall is also definitely worth seeing; the artwork and architecture in the hall is absolutely fascinating.

I'm glad I've got a full week in Kyoto booked for the end of November. I can't wait!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Daigoji Temole, Center for Shingon Buddhist Order”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The temple and training place for Shingon Buddhist tradition is more than 1000 years old, founded by disciple of Kukai. The temple is spread over a mountain from bottom to top, where you can see a living Japanese monastery.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PradiptaTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best garden in Japan”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The greatest of gardens with huge variety, great rocks, fine bridges, but no photos! Why? Daigo has many interesting buildings and a first class beautiful museum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyotocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hiking the Kami-Daigo Trail in Kyoto!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A few days ago, I went to Daigo-ji Temple in Kyoto, and hiked-up the trail that leads to the top of Mount Kasatori. It’s a bit of a steep climb but a lot of fun and the fellow hikers are very friendly. Along the trail are several World Heritage buildings and at the top is the famous Nyoirindo built in the Momoyama period (1573-1603).
Kami-Daigo, is located on top of the Kasatori Mountain. The entrance to Kami-Daigo can be reached by passing through Shimo-Daigo, or by a path beside Shimo-Daigo. There is a path with stairs up to the top, which takes about one hour to reach the main complex; halfway up there is a resting point and small shrine. At the entrance to the main complex is Daigo-Sui, a spring of holy water, which was the origin of Daigo-ji, together with other buildings. A further fifteen minute walk reaches the summit, which contains other halls, notably the Kaisan-dō (開山堂, Founder's hall), together with expansive views of the cities below.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank KyotoDreamTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daigo-ji Temple also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Daigo-ji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing