We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nishi Honganji

Nishi Honganji
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.67*
and up
Kyoto World Heritage Hop-On Hop-Off Loop Bus
Ranked #29 of 1,012 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Devon
Level Contributor
215 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Two huge temples and various other fine buildings in the centre of Kyoto, and its free. Whats not to like.
We went a couple of times and watched what looked like confirmation ceremony's Very quite and serene atmosphere. Nice little cafe on site. This is religion is one that appeals.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinBDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    240
    63
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo B.C.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Quiet Impressive Spot Near Kyoto Station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This site contains two very large temples, the Nishi and Higashi temples. The Nishi Temple is easy to locate and interesting to visit. (but make sure you take off your shoes!). The Higashi Temple is a short distance away and houses a large and imposing Temple (the largest wooden structure in Kyoto). When we visited the Higashi Temple was being renovated and we were not able to go inside. But the renovations were to have been completed by the end of 2012.
The Honganjhi Temples and gardens are smack in the middle of Kyoto just past the Kyoto Tower. Train travelers who make a stop at Kyoto Station can reach the temple by just walking a couple of blocks. We found the grounds nice, but they are not ordained with the typical lush and manicured gardens you will often find in Japan. However, there is a nice water feature (a moat) and shrub plantings along the outside of the temple grounds wall. A visit to the Honganjhi offers a nice respite from the very hectic Kyoto streets and sidewalks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerNanaimoB_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

A very beautful and well restored temple. You can see the exterior and interior of the temple, and smell the incense burning. We highly recommend a visit here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LWMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,576 reviews
687 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,212 helpful votes
“Loved the vast buildings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our guidebook said this was a World Heritage site, which always makes me a little apprehensive as it means numerous people and a large entrance fee. However as we were just around the corner we decided to brave it.
How wrong could I have been. No queues, virtually no people and no entrance fee. Fabulous!
We really enjoyed an hour or so here. Just in the peace and quiet, walking between the magnificant wooden structures on beautifully connecting walkways. So peaceful and tranquil.
For sheer size and beautiful wooden buildings then this has got to be visited!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
678 reviews
360 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
“Under renovation....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Both Nishi and Higashi Honganji are under extensive renovations for the foreseeable future. They are both free attractions and partially open to the public, but for those pressed for time, these could be given a miss.

On the plus side, great to see Japan preserving its cultural heritage so seriously. The building built OVER Higashi Honganji is simply amazing!! Not beautiful, just a marvel of engineering.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stonewithnomoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nishi Honganji also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Nishi Honganji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing