We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinkakuji Temple

Kinkakuji Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.01*
and up
Private Highlights of Kyoto Tour
Ranked #2 of 1,010 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Kyoto's most famous attractions, this temple was originally built in 1397 as a residence for shogun Ashikaga Yoshimitsu. The structure was completely covered in gold leaf, earning it the name Golden Pavilion.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited the pavilion in winter and were prepared for no reflections, no blossoms or autumn colors. So we were not prepared for the impressive sight, it was certainly worth the trip, plus we still got photos of it reflected in the lake.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,417
    3,287
    984
    149
    32
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Excellent visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is one of the most memorable Temples to visit in Kyoto.
The gardens surrounding the Golden pavillion are magnificent even in January and there are no crowds. The walking is easy and there are explanations in English all around the gardens and the various traditional buildings.Wow

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank donnison44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
208 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Like Nothing Else -- Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This temple, according to our guide, replaced the original temple that was burned down by a crazed monk. I wasn’t quite finished whining in my head that there didn’t seem to be much value in visiting a replacement temple when it suddenly came into view.

1. You need a camera. I don’t know what it would be like to look at the temple and not take a picture to show the folks at home. It would probably trigger some kind of breakdown.

In the sunlight, it was as if someone dreamed up this golden structure, reflected on the surface of the surrounding pond, glittering – I couldn’t imagine such a thing with my own mind. Even now, two months after my trip, I am still baffled by the beauty of it. If I had to pick one place in all of Japan to go to, this would be it – no yummy food to eat or fun things to do there, but for the joy of looking at it, it’s the number one tourist attraction by a mile.

2. Prepare for a massive crowd -- people really just go there to snap, snap, snap pictures. It’s hard to look away!

Our guide told us not to face the front of the temple (which was congested with visitors) and just walk along the sides and behind it. That was fine. It was breathtaking from any angle, and closer from the side.

The gardens are beautiful and somehow, even with a sea of people, it still had a serene quality.

Would go again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We visited this temple during our tour of Kyoto, we were able to ride our bikes from the center of the city, it was a decent treck but quite fun. The temple is beautiful and fun to walk around. Great for pictures. Our group all agreed this was one of our favorite temples in Kyoto.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rhea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very nice place to visit
A big plus is the excellent accessibility
Very beautiful, especially in autumn, when the trees are red
Minus - a lot of tourists, some time is very difficult fotograftrovat beautiful nature

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirill_Keriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinkakuji Temple also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Kinkakuji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing