We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the classic Kyoto photo op.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinkakuji Temple

Kinkakuji Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.79*
and up
Private Highlights of Kyoto Tour
Ranked #2 of 1,074 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Kyoto's most famous attractions, this temple was originally built in 1397 as a residence for shogun Ashikaga Yoshimitsu. The structure was completely covered in gold leaf, earning it the name Golden Pavilion.
Madison
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This is the classic Kyoto photo op.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were lucky to get a pretty day. It was a Sunday and so the place was very crowded. I recommend going during the week.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JRwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,624
    3,407
    1,031
    157
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Must Visit Place in Kyoto”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We visited Golden Pavilion in the evening at 4pm in November. The sunset was at 5pm. We thought we are late. But the sunset shine on the Pavilion was just amazing. It was very shiny and golden color. Although we have seen the photo several times, but we were still WOW when seeing the actual one under the sunset. That was Amazing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing !!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

It’s really incredible, you must visit you will see the amazing golden castle and you can see a lot of traditional Japanese houses and temples, people are very kind and helpful even though they may not be able to speak English. We really spend enjoyable time over there.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bluesky3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Sight”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have visited this attraction a number of times, and each time it takes the breath away.
Like the other main attractions in Kyoto, the crowds do impact on one's enjoyment. The natural beauty and serenity are rarely available to the general public.
But it has to be seen!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GandES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Incredible site”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was one of our favorite attractions in Kyoto. The weather was perfect and the Pavilion was beautiful in the sunlight. The setting is idyllic with the pavilion situated in the middle of gardens with a very attractive pond in the front. You can take excellent photographs which highlight the beauty of the pavilion. When we were there, in November 2012, it was not crowded and it was very easy to enjoy the views without being rushed. After seeing the pavilion it was only a short walk to visit Ryoanji Temple

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Remickd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinkakuji Temple also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Kinkakuji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing