We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded Zen”
Review of Ginkaku-ji Temple

Ginkaku-ji Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$608.74*
and up
Private Full Day Charter including Osaka, Nara, and Kyoto from Osaka
More Info
$18.73*
and up
Kyoto Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off Loop Bus
Ranked #8 of 1,127 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1482 by the shogun Ashikaga Yoshimasa, this Zen temple was supposed to have been finished in a coat of silver. Although this step never occurred, the temple is still known by the name Silver Pavilion.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Crowded Zen”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you can get here when other people aren't here, it would be excellent. Unfortunately, the crowds really took away from the peace of it for me. There is a nice guided path, and it doesn't take much time to walk the site. I agree with the guide book that it would be even more beautiful in a light rain, so don't let a rainy day stop you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TreyBostonSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,850
    1,284
    387
    45
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“not quite sure what the fuss is about”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We followed the trail around this site: when we got to the end, I wondered if we'd actually missed something - but apparently we hadn't.
It was pretty enough, but I'd only recommend it if you've run out of other things to do
But the walk back afterwards, along the Philosophers' Trail (I think it's called) was lovely.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JulietBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not quite shinny”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The walk is quite enjoyable in the park, but if you see the Gold pavillion, you might be a bit disapointed that the silver pavillion is not silver at all.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelval2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

No entry inside this temple. Comparing it to others in Kyoto there are many more beautiful and interesting ones to see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This temple is wonderful. Tucked up against a hillside, surrounded by a beautiful garden, it is a serene spot in a serene city. It is especially beautiful in autumn when the leaves have turned, but well worth a visit any time!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank dabasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginkaku-ji Temple also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Ginkaku-ji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing