We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay”
Review of Matsubaya Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Matsubaya Inn
Ranked #61 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Located only 10 minutes or so (a bit more if you are carrying heavy luggage) from Kyoto station, it was very easy to find.

The staff were lovely and showed us around and how to use everything including instructions on different slippers, etc. as well as carrying our luggage up for us.

It was a very lovely Ryokan and surprisingly I found it very comfortable on a futon on the floor - probably one of the best nights sleep I got in Japan.

Reasonable price as well.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flashlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 522 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Kyoto than Ryokan Matsubaya. It is located within a 10-minute walk of Kyoto train station, so it is a great home base for all kinds of day trips by train and Shinkansen. There are plenty of restaurants located between the train station and Ryokan, as well as convenience stores, so food was never far away. We found it very comfortable to bring back bento to our room at the end of a long day of traveling, and enjoy a quiet meal "at home".
We stayed in a tatami-style room, located in the Bamboo House section of the ryokan. Our room was large and roomy, cleaned everyday, and luxurious by our standards. No wifi though - there is supposedly only wifi up to the second floor, but we found that we could catch a pretty good signal just outside our room. We loved the mini-fridge in the room - great for storing bread and stuff for quick breakfasts. We also tried the Japanese breakfast available, which was delicious and very filling and worth every penny.
The staff at Matsubaya were pleasant and helpful, spoke excellent English, but we found they were less familial than some other place we stayed while in Japan.This did not affect our enjoyment nor our stay in anyway, and we would suggest anyone looking for a well-located place to stay in Kyoto give Ryokan Matsubaya a try.

Room Tip: Wifi is available IN the rooms only up to the second floor - otherwise, you can get a good signal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyisblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed in both a Ryokan and western style rooms during our Kyoto visit. We preferred the Ryokan style room for the experience but western style was good and cheaper. The Ryokan was very easy to find by foot from the main station. The service at the time was great with English spoken however what followed after went above and beyond. I had lost my house key during a stay in Japan which the staff found here and sent to my address in Switzerland free of charge the following week. This really was excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This accommodation is very conveniently situated about 10 mins walk from Kyoto station and we walked to all sites. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, the room had very comfortable twin beds, a great view, kettle, fridge and hot plate but no pans or utensils. The price was extremely reasonable for the area. Strongly recommended comfortable but not luxury.

Room Tip: If you want Western beds and a 'kitchenette' (fridge and kettle) must specify
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 933Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Matsubaya Inn for 4 nights and enjoyed the stay! The room was twin beds, with a private ensuite with bath and shower. the room also had a decent sized fridge and a kettle. There was an induction hot plate, but no associated pans or utensils. We were shown to our rooms where there were Kimono for us to try on. The linen was replaced every day whilst we were out exploring, which was lovely but probably unnecessary! We had LAN in our room and borrowed a cable from the reception, but would have loved WiFi. Their english was good, and they certainly were helpful. We walked a lot of places from here, and the stations werent too far.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamb_shanks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's an experience definitely worth the money spent... Will stay there again if am in Kyoto. They are clean, helpful and friendly toward foreign tourist. Plus they can speak quite well English. Wifi is pretty fast too.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MazzzyStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and the experience was well worth it! Excellent service and friendly staff. All speak great English and always willing to help, for example find somewhere to eat or suggesting activities to do in town. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. I would definitely stay here again and recommend anyone wanting a ryokan experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Shimogyo-ku
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
#19 of 395 in Kyoto
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nishiyama Ryokan
Nishiyama Ryokan
#36 of 395 in Kyoto
410 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#34 of 395 in Kyoto
257 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kikokuso
Kikokuso
#89 of 395 in Kyoto
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matsubaya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matsubaya Inn

Address: Higashinotoin Nishi-iru, Kamijuzuyacho-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8150, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $103 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matsubaya Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Matsubaya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matsubaya Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing