We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$138
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/28/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$138
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/28/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com$138
Priceline$138
Orbitz.com$138
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveler rating
305
181
45
8
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
305
181
45
8
12
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 551 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Part of our goal for our trip to Kyoto was to stay in the traditional Japanese inn. Matsubaya was a good option for that at a good value. Matsubaya is a family run business and it definitely felt like that in a good way - in a way, you felt you were staying at someones home. When we had breakfast, it felt like we were in dining room at someones home and the food was well-cooked family type of meal.

Location of the hotel is about a 10-15 min walk from the main Kyoto station - a bit of walk when you're lugging large luggage, but totally within reason. There's not many sights immediately within the walking vicinity of the hotel but a good way to get around to see sights around the city is to rent a bike - you can do guided tours (search on tripadvisor) or just go on your way - there's a bike rental store right around the corner from Matsubaya.

We stayed in both the normal size room and the larger room. Took some adjusting to sitting on the ground at all times in tradtiional Japanese style, but we got used to it and it was a pleasant stay. The bigger room was better choice - just have more room to manuraver and kick back. One of the funny things youll notice is a vending machine that serves beer on the second floor - a great addition.

This place is a good mix of a traditional Japanese style living and hotel. Very pleasant style. Recommended for sure. Another nice thing is that their website was one of the only hotels that had real time reservation availability - a big plus in my eyes and just easier to deal with.

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank JaseL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were a little unsure how our stay would go when we arrived and felt a bit of a youth-hostel vibe. It didn't help that we were given the room at the top of the stairs right in front of the internet terminal and vending machine and that some other guests were congregated there and talking loudly just as we arrived. The door to our room was very thin, so this made us very nervous. Luckily, those guests checked out the next morning and we weren't bothered by noise for the rest our our 4-day stay. If fact, the room was small but quite cute and may ironically have been quieter than some because it's far from all the others and many people use the back stairs to get to their rooms. Although a bit far from the action (Gion, Shijo-Teramichi) Matsubaya is convenient to Kyoto station (easy walk, even with luggage) and you'll probably buy a bus pass if you're there for at least a day which makes life easier. In-room and hotel amenities are very basic by both Western and Japanese standards; but a fresh (and often very well starched!) Yukata is provided daily. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 567kimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is almost ryokan style with clean rooms and a great location close to the central station. We stayed here with our 2yr old son and found staff to be attentive and helpful at all occassions. Price is not low, but good value in this category. Get the first floor garden view room if possible.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Pavel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in a Japanese-style room with private bath. Convenient location - near the station on a quiet side street. Very gracious, helpful and friendly English-speaking hosts. Nice tatami mats and comfy futon, green tea and rice crackers. Bathroom was clean and not cramped by Japanese standards. Very reasonablly priced with good breakfast option. Free Internet access.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCDave66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I've stayed here for 3 days after and before staying in a ryokan in Tokyo. I've taken a better, little more costly room with private bathroom. The location is perfect: right next to the main street Kyoto. I also tried their Japanese breakfast - if you consider breakfast take this one and not the American-style one (bacon and egg or whatever - you already have it at home). The staff was very kind and helpful, the room was clean with tea set and an electric kattle, and a TV set. If you are in Kyoto - I strongly recommend a walking tour with Johnny Hillwalker, an 80+ English-speaker, Japanese guide.

Room tip: See my tip about breakfast (Japanese and not Western). Also try to avoid noisy neighbour, as the walls are thin.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haramachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews