We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot to stay!”
Review of Matsubaya Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Matsubaya Inn
Ranked #62 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a great place to stay!! 10 minute walk to the Kyoto Station. We booked for 4 nights in the 4 person room. This traditional style inn is great. Very clean, very comfortable and reasonably priced for the experience. We had our own little garden view too which was lovely - but you have to be lucky enough to be on the ground floor. The owners and staff were wonderful and very helpful. Breakfast is extra - didn't try it though.

The location is great - easy walk to the station and plenty of restaurants and convenience stores nearby. If you can, use googlemaps and locate it before you head there, as it is on a side street. Once you've located it on googlemaps though you can't miss it!

Well worth the visit!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amsfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 517 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and was perfect. A perfect location near the station and an excellent service. The room was very clean.
If you want to try the Ryokan experience without expending too much money this is your place.
Hope to repeat again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dargorsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is one of the best places I stayed in Japan. The location is Very nice, a small walk from the Kyoto train station and near a bike hire shop which is the only way to get around in Kyoto.

The rooms are small but that is to expected. They are clean and cute and very comfortable. The staff operating the Ryokan are so helpful and friendly. They are so eager to make the stay special. The rooms have free wireless as well as a free computer to use in the common area.

There is also a coin laundry and dryer which is great and the staff are even able to help by providing change.

I cannot emphasize how pleasant it is to stay here, better than many more expensive hotels that we stayed in throughout the rest of the trip. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tristan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Location of Matsubaya is a short 10min walk from Kyoto Station. It's a little hidden so a map will definitely be handy when looking for Matsubaya. When we arrived staff were so so friendly and helpful, beyond any service provided in japan for our group of 4. Breakfast is served every morning before 9:30pm. I'd recommend trying the Japanese breakfast, it is delicious. Rooms are beautiful and mats were comfortable to sleep on. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I just spent 2 nights at Matsubaya Ryokan last week and we loved it! Before arriving in Kyoto, we looked for a Ryokan that would give us the traditional Japanese experience in Kyoto while also giving us the amenities that we enjoy in other hotels. Matsubaya was the very perfect mix, and we truly enjoyed our time there. The property was impecably clean, our room was cozy and comfortable and we enjoyed the friendly service from the staff and management of the Inn. The walk to and from the Kyoto train station was very easy, even with our rolling luggage! We enjoyed the proximity to it as well as to the extensive bus system in Kyoto, which took us to all the major sites. Highly recommend it to any visitors to Kyoto!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Matsubaya for 2nights,the location being juz 8to10min walk from Kyoto Station makes it very convenient.it is also abt 5min from Gojo subway.We had the D type room with attached bathrm .it was spacious and very clean.We liked the experience of sleeping on futons/tatami.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SungKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights here prior to embarking on the Nakasendo for 2 weeks. It was our introduction to Kyoto and we could not have picked a better place. It's an easy walk from the Kyoto train station and the staff are extremely helpful and have excellent English. The neighbourhood is quiet, but close to all of the action, including a very short walk to two temples. We stayed in the Western style rooms because that was all they had left and it was a bit small, but we did have an entire fridge, hotplate, kettle and small kitchen sink. The laundry machine on site was also free, which was a great bonus. I would both recommend staying here and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Shimogyo-ku
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
#17 of 379 in Kyoto
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nishiyama Ryokan
Nishiyama Ryokan
#43 of 379 in Kyoto
393 reviews
City Center
Sawaya Honten
Sawaya Honten
#37 of 379 in Kyoto
159 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#35 of 379 in Kyoto
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matsubaya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matsubaya Inn

Address: Higashinotoin Nishi-iru, Kamijuzuyacho-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8150, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
#33 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $131 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matsubaya Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Matsubaya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matsubaya Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing