We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$174
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Expedia.com
$185
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Agoda.com
$148
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Hotels.com$185
Priceline$163
Destinia.com$212
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,737)
Filter reviews
1,737 results
Traveler rating
960
595
127
36
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
960
595
127
36
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor walking distance concierge staff star hotel buffet breakfast nishiki market rooms are large japanese hotels train station japanese food convenient location gion key
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 1,737 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2014

Hotel is easily accessible to the tourist attractions and very close to the main shopping area of Kyoto. Also close to many great restaurants. All within walking distance. There is also an underground train station right below the hotel.

Rooms are large by Japanese standards and clean. Only problem I had was that they are too strict with their rules eg. I wanted to go to my kids room nearby wearing the bedroom slippers provided but was spotted by a staff and subsequently not allowed to go out of the room in the slippers.

Maybe it's just me but they could be a bit less uptight about it. Other than that, it's a great place to stay.

Room tip: Higher floor rooms facing the mountains are the best.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank oghe_kelate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2014

came to this hotel for a biz trip, very modern, very western. Except for the food they service and the polite staff, it's hard to believe I'm in Kyoto because the western style. Room is spacious, and view - to the west, is magnificent! You can see the Buddha head from the hill on your right side window. Try the buffet lunch on 17th floor, is delicious! Japanese people are super polite and respectful, this is probably the quietest buffet I have ever tried. Image I just came back from Vegas ;-) no one fights for food, people are patient. What makes this hotel special is also the location, in the middle of city center easy access with public transportation - walking distance to a long shopping street and the Nishiki fish market, a plenty of GOOd restaurants nearby. If I will come back to Kyoto, I will still stay with Okura.

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank MinkbearF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel on October 23-27, 2014 for a business purpose. This hotel is located right in front of Kyoto City Hall, therefore, it is very strategic. The bus stop is right across and the subway station is right below. Both can take you all around the city. The room is bigger for Japanese standard and is well maintained though the model is rather outdated. The internet connection is free and good. Guest services such as laundry, concierge and reception are excellent. They promptly and politely (with a typical Japanese's bow) respond to our requests. However, this hotel does not provide complementary mineral waters. Small thing but annoying: big hotel does not want to provide free bottled waters for the guests? Come on, the bottled waters are not that expensive! All in all, you should consider this hotel for your next visit to Kyoto.

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank bsoetjipto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2014

Great location in modern Kyoto, but blocks away from traditional neighbourhoods. Unmatchable.
Although a little old, which you can tell from the design of some facilities, it is perfectly kept. Luxurious and modern.Rooms are huge for Japanese standard and very comfortable.
Service great and helpful staff will solve just about anything.
Surrounded by stores, restaurants, night-clubs and walking options, and direct access from the subway make it an ideal place.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

Well located for visitors to walk to Shicho ( busy shopping area) ,Terramachi , Ponto Cho even Gion . Close to subway . Free shuttle bus to Kyoto station every hour from 0835 to 1735
A bit old looking but carpets , toilet are clean . Corner room can accommodate 3 adults . Beds and pillow are comfortable . Can request various type of pillow such as bulk wheat etc . Flat screen TV but CNN channel are dubbed in Japanese . Fridge with mini bar items .
Toilet is adequately large with hairdryer a bath tub shower and single basin .
Wifi is free even in room
Everything else are charged . Usage of gym , swimming pool sauna etc are chargeable. No complimentary drinking water .
Front desk check in staffs are efficient . More importantly concierge staffs are highly efficient and English speaking .
House keeping staffs ensure clean room everyday .
Decent value
Highly recommended

Date of stay: October 2014
1  Thank Happy258
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews