We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, awesome french bakery”
Review of Kyoto Hotel Okura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Ranked #21 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel is not very modern but very nice.
The guy at the front desk wasn't the nicest but during all our stay the same person took care of us and every needs we might have, she was very nice. If we had to send something or anything she arrived and took care of anything.
The room was the largest we saw in all Japan. There was a large bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. There is a small corridor with a large closet.
The coffee in the room is not free. There is a nice selection of whisky in the minibar.
The hotel itself is very big with tons of restaurants and shops.
On B2 level there is a french bakery that have very good viennoiseries. That is a good deal for breakfast since the prices are ok.
The hotel is nicely located, there are lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elise-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

If you prefer a western style hotel in Japan the 126 year old hotel Okura might be your choice. It is just next to the city hall, many restaurants and super markets are minutes away, a good base for exploring. Excellent breakfast buffet, nice but expensive Restaurant in the 17th floor with excellent views. Large rooms, 70th style, more like small suites.

Room Tip: seventh flloor has a lift which has direct access to all restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IbnBatutta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Impressive 1920s lobby. Excellent location in a busy shopping district with many nearby restaurants. Clean, well-kept rooms but nothing exceptional. The staff was very courteous, and the concierges were particularly helpful in finding and booking restaurants for us. The one disappointment was the mediocre international breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

From the grand lobby with the central staircase to the bellhops in pillbox hats, this place totally reminds us of the Grand Budapest Hotel. There is even an internal courtyard/atrium so that you can call hello to (or shoot at) someone on another floor. The concierges (who all seem to be women) are incredibly helpful. Ask them anything. They are happy to make reservations for you at restaurants and to help you plan your day.

Our room on the 12th floor has a panoramic view of the view to the north--city and mountains. Subway station in the basement. Comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Kyoto Hotel Okura is an enjoyable upper-class establishment in downtown Kyoto. I stayed here nearly a week. Highlights are the stellar service, convenient location, and comfortable rooms.

The hotel is conveniently connected to the Kyoto Shiyakushomae subway stop. This neighborhood has many restaurants, shops, and is within walkable distance to atmospheric Ponto-cho and lively Gion. A short 5 min walk east across the river is the Keihan (line) Sanjo station, another vital transportation link. Between this line, the subway, and the good bus system, it’s pretty easy to sample all of the cultural delights Kyoto has on offer.

Service throughout the hotel is spot-on. The front desk was very efficient and friendly, and generally spoke good English. The attractive lobby is a good place to relax for a bit. Note that you’re supposed to turn in your key when you leave the hotel.

I stayed in a twin room, which was clean, well-furnished and spacious. It had some nice small touches, like two paper cranes on the coffee table, and a drawing explaining the mountain range view. There was a good sized TV with a couple of English language channels, as well as a small refrigerator. The free Wifi seemed fine. They provided an English language Japanese newspaper daily, which was nice. Housekeeping was effective.

A few things were not to my liking though – there were no complimentary drinks, not even instant coffee. And it’s ridiculous that you have to pay over JPY3000 to use the gym, which is only open at limited hours.

The bathroom is large, especially for a Japanese hotel, and there’s both a shower and a bathtub. There was plenty of sink space, and some good bathroom products as well.

I had dinner once at the hotel’s Japanese restaurant Irifune. What I received, while admittedly tasty, was much too expensive for how small the portions were. The service was kind, but be aware that there’s a 10% service fee. I would not eat there again.

The front desk handled check-out well, and secured my bags for a few hours before I left Kyoto. I’d probably stay here again on my next Kyoto trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank GMK1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

A modern and very comfortable hotel. Well located and convenient to shopping and walking. Easy cab ride from train. Great bathroom facilities and very comfortable beds. Clean and attractive linens and towels. We had a great eastward looking view to the river and Geisha district. We had a great Kobe steak meal, expensive but maybe the best beef we have ever tasted, in the French restaurant. We enjoyed Japanese breakfasts and a sushi lunch in the Japanese restaurant.
Our cost here was very reasonable considering the quality and accommodations and the cost of comparables. We felt an excellent value for such a high quality experience. The front desk and bell staff are notably efficient and welcoming.

Room Tip: Get an a East facing room if possible, the view during the day, and at night when pagodas and shrine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank trbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and never regret we selected hotel. Check in was quick with a smile and received an upgrade to a Corner Deluxe room, which was a nice gesture. The Corner Deluxe room was spacious (though it’s decoration is a matter of taste) and had all the amenities expected from a 4 four star deluxe hotel. Rate for the room was reasonable (given the fact we received an upgrade), found the prices at the Orrizonte Lounge bar a bit expensive.

This hotel is in a great location, near a Metro station and many of the attractions (Imperial Palace, Kinkakuji, Gion, numerous shrines and temples including Fushimi Inari) are easily reachable by foot or by public transport.

Room Tip: Recommend a corner room for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TdwLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#17 of 405 in Kyoto
934 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 405 in Kyoto
3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#9 of 405 in Kyoto
2,512 reviews
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Hotel Okura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Hotel Okura

Address: Kawara-machi Oike, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8558, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#2 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $144 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kyoto Hotel Okura 4.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeen-story Hotel with impressive lobby of European architecture reminiscent of the 1920s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kyoto Hotel Okura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing