We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base for Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kyoto Hotel Okura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Ranked #20 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
256 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A good base for Kyoto”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The staff at the hotel were very helpful. They were able to make reservations at restaurants that spoke little English and provide detailed maps to get the place as well. The shuttle from the train station is very convenient. The lobby is nice and the hotel is a mecca for brides. There must have been at least six or seven getting pictures taken on the day I checked in.
The room was nice and the bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was served in two places-- one japanese on the six floor where you could look at the garden while eating and the other english on the 17th floor with a great view over the city. THe english breakfast had lots of japanese options. BOth were very good, but I would opt for the english if I had been there more than two days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    414
    95
    28
    11
See reviews for
338
369
103
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I really like this hotel. It's very comfortable and has a five-star feel. Our room was relatively large (37m2) and immaculately clean. Rooms have very good views of the surrounding city (including mountains and/or river, depending on which side and level). The welcome lounge at Kyoto Station is handy for arrivals and departures via a free shuttle bus. The hotel is very close to the main shopping area of Kyoto (10-minute walk), and linked by internal staircase to a metro station for longer journeys. Buses are also very convenient for visiting the sights of Kyoto. I have stayed here twice, and the concierge has been very helpful with recommendations for dining. The large flower arrangement in the foyer is always beautiful. I would recommend this place as a luxury option for staying in Kyoto.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel offer good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timon888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived late from a tour to the hotel. From our tour company, I had requested a queen bed. When we arrived, we were escorted to a room with twin beds. I informed the bell person that the room was unacceptable. He returned about 10 minutes later and informed us we could be upgraded for an additonal $70 USD. I accepted the upgrade to a junior suite corner room. This room was beautiful with a view of the downtown and river areas. The amentities were comparable to the other hotels we stayed on this trip: Tokoyo Station Hotel, Conrad Singapore, and Fairmont Beijing. We ordered an "American" style breakfast, but the eggs were runny, and we were initially charged for two breakfasts instead of one. The bill was promptly corrected. There was a coffee maker in the room. Overall, we enjoyed our brief stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mramos8556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liestal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked a three bed room and we got a spacious room with three hotel bed's, no sofabed or alike!
The room was big enough for three people and also the bathroom had a good size. The rooms were clean and in a aging but still good condition.
The staff was always friendly and helpful. The location is very good as there is a metro station underneath the hotel itself and you can reach the city centre and a lot of tourist locations by foot.

If you don't have breakfast included, better go directly into the city or to the bakery on the lobby floor. It's to expensive for what you get, if you want a western breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHRACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We picked this hotel based on some good reviews, central location and reasonable pricing.
This hotel was much better than we expected. I have just noticed a few "average" reviews and I am surprised by them. Our room was very attractive with adequate space and lovely fresh linens.
The staff were polite and helpful. The concierge was extremely informative. We were amazed by the number of lovely restaurants on the upper floors. We dined at the Belcanta on the Terrace level. Hitomi was our lovely waitress. We had a delicious meal. We did pick this restaurant because it was a little less expensive than some of the other restaurants - and also we couldn't get the time we wanted at one of the other choices. We also enjoyed the breakfast restaurant on the lobby level and the delicious bakery on the metro level - eat in or take out. The other great thing about this hotel is that you enter it right from the Shiyukusuo-Mae metro station, which we didn't realize until we saw the entrance as we were walking toward the exit. The lobby looks very attractive. I have no hesitation in recommending this fine hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe our room had been upgraded or renovated but we did not find it shabby at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraJimVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The standard rooms are very standard indeed-small, cramped and crowded and looking in need of serious refreshing. Decent bathrooms but not nearly as good as the Tokyo Peninsula

A good central location doesn't make up for the tired rooms and restaurants

Buffet breakfast ok but limited selections, decent view

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vanderhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
207 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The best feature of this hotel is the central location. It is right in the center of kyoto, a wonderful city. The room smelled of cigarette smoke. The room was on the small side. It looked aging to us. The breakfast buffet, which was included was just ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
2,825 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#10 of 366 in Kyoto
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 366 in Kyoto
839 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Hotel Okura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Hotel Okura

Property: Kyoto Hotel Okura
Address: Kawara-machi Oike, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8558 , Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kyoto Hotel Okura 4.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeen-story Hotel with impressive lobby of European architecture reminiscent of the 1920s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Kyoto Hotel Okura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing