We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Kyoto Hotel Okura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Ranked #22 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am was in a business trip for 2 days. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. They can see in your eyes if you need anything and hurry to help you.
The staff of the main restaurant during breakfast is also so friendly and welcoming.
Several restaurant and shopping are close by walking distance.
I think it will be more convenient if they consider having another tv channel English speaking.

Room Tip: HIgher floors have a view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohamed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just felt great to enjoy the service of this 125 years old hotel. Nice room, great service, and excellent location within 10 minutes walk from the busy street of malls and traditional Japanese stores. The subway station "Kyoto Municipal Station" is just opposite the street of the hotel. For those who is interested in Japanese history, Honnō-ji is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. (the place where Honnō-ji Incident happened in year 1582).

Breakfast is good .The restaurant is at 17th floor ,so you can have food with amazing view of the Kyoto city. I enjoyed most when having breakfast there during early morning. Overall, it's a pleasant stay there and I am looking forward to my following stays ( if I'm back to Kyoto).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Rooms were a bit older than others we stayed at. Location is fantastic. Has underground direct access to subway and underground shopping area. Within walking distance to numerous areas. Service from staff is excellent. Our view on 7th floor was limited by roof. If you really want a view, go above 7th floor (note: you have to pay extra for this).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuGrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Let me just be honest. There is no compromise in quality assurance for Japanese.

When we arrived at Kyoto Okura Hotel, I saw the banner addressing 125th anniversary. The hotel looks really well maintained. Kudos to the team.

The room is spacious and whatever is required for a traveler (business or leisure), everything is provided.

Breakfast is on the roof top, an amazing view.

Although it was a really short stay for me, it has been a great experience, for me.

Thank you Kyoto Okura Hotel team.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamuelTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Super access to subway, the riverside bars and restaurants. Major shopping corridor of 4th strret is only a 6 minute stroll. Hotel is filled with old world classic charm. Very clean, and safe. The bath linens were a bit sparse and not as many as I'd prefer (only 1 bath towel ,hand towel, and face cloth per person).

Room Tip: Rooms are on the shall side for the price point compared to many US city center hotels. If possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luggageliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Okura hotel Kyoto is best placed, has everything in one place. Many various restaurants (Sky Restaurant Pittoresque, Top lounge Orizzonte, Steak House Tokiwa, Japanese restaurant Irifune, Terrace Restaurant Belcanto, Bar Chippendale, cafe Lec Court, Chinese restaurant Toh-Lee, Bakery, Ryoui , cafe Le Petit Suetomi, Soba noodles restaurant Pontocho, Japanese Restaurant Akishino, Tavern Hottokeya), whatever suits you. Excellent breakfast, extremely nice service, lots of stores, gift shops, useful for weddings as well (as i could see the moment i arrived), has a spa and beauty salon, sauna, gym, whirlpool bath (had no time for those unfortunately), internet is working everywhere and it is fantastic connection. It is not the cheapest one, but this is high - class hotel, and quality comes with a price. It is not that expensive either, but let's just say that it is not cheap. I would strongly reccomend it. Good for conventions or seminars, business meetings. It is big, so they have everything. And the service is just awesome and friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dermy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was the best that I have stayed at in Kyoto(in 3 visits) , in terms of convenience, location and the number of staff who were eager to help. Located directly on top of a subway station, 10 minutes (leisurely) walk from the Geisha district of Gion, and within an even shorter walk of MANY great restaurants, this place was a bargain! I combined it with a Shinkansen (bullet train) package from Shin Yokohama and was thrilled with the cost and very pleasantly surprised with the standard of accommodation.

Room Tip: I think with Shinkansen packages you might not have choice of rooms, but even so, the room we had wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#17 of 395 in Kyoto
921 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 395 in Kyoto
3,118 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#8 of 395 in Kyoto
2,493 reviews
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Hotel Okura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Hotel Okura

Address: Kawara-machi Oike, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8558, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#2 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $155 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kyoto Hotel Okura 4.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeen-story Hotel with impressive lobby of European architecture reminiscent of the 1920s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kyoto Hotel Okura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing