We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that you need really!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent
Ranked #127 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“All that you need really!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is ideally located in the Gion district and within easy walking distance of Yasaka Shrine and Kiyomizu temple. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel that a few buses service, other bus stops are within walking distance.
Within a 10 minute walk, just over the river, there is a tiny alley with hundreds of restaurants along it, and it then opens into another area with countless bars, so the location is great. There is also a strarbucks outside the hotel for that early morning hit of caffeine before taking in the sights
As noted many times, the rooms are on the small side, but you are not going to be staying here to spend time at the hotel, you will be spending time here as it is so convenient to so many of the sights of Kyoto.
The staff are incredibly friendly and each of the staff members that I spoke to spoke English.
I had the buffet breakfast one morning and it was standard buffet food. Remember the price you are paying for the room, and don't expect Shangri-la quality breakfast, but it was fine, fueled me up ready for the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jase8au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    132
    89
    22
    12
See reviews for
47
76
69
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, english speaking, great location, clean an modern.

I stayed here four nights and from room 608 i had a view on the yasaka shrine.

Everone else seem to feel the rooms are small. Although i was in a single room, it wasnt smaller than any other hotel i stayed in in japan.

Helpful?
Thank Koen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is in a central location in Kyoto and easy to travel to sights from here (Gion). Rooms are rather small, enough for 2 medium sized humans but everything else is great. Dont bother with the breakfast, not as great as the pictures and you have a bigger selection all along the street. And if you have to theres a Starbucks right at the entrance to the hotel and a Lawsons convinience stoore at the corner with fresh food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VijayPillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My room was spacious enough, but I found the bath rather small if very well equipped. There were only Japanese programs on the TV. Breakfast was good with a good selection Japanese and Western options alongside cereals and juices. Temples/Shrines, shopping and restaurants are all within walking distance and the bus stop is right outside. Free Wi-Fi. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was a little skeptical about staying here after reading some of the recent reviews but it was the only place that still had a room left when my husband and I were booking a room for Easter. We ended up getting a room with two twin beds (that pushed together) for a pricey $200 night. Despite what other's said we felt that the room was spacious enough and the bathtub and shower were certainly big enough for being 5'9". The room we had did not appear to be any state of dis-repair everything was in very good condition. All basic amenities were provided, the beds had pillow top mattresses which were very comfortable and the room was very clean. I was not quite sure what was going on with the rock hard pillows so I didn't use one. Temples/Shrines, shopping and restaurants are all within walking distance and the bus stop is right outside. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Room 512 clean, quiet, comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taiwantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed her for 3 nights during our visit to Japan. The location is excellent, just on the edge of the Geisha district. It was a short walk into the downtown area with lots of restaurants and shopping.

The lobby is on the first floor and is very small. The staff are efficient though not particularly friendly. We found the rooms to be incredibly small, even by Japanese standards. The bathroom was minuscule. My wife who is only 5'8" had to crouch to use the shower. The state of repair of the bathroom was also poor. The bath itself had scratches and had seen better days.

The room was difficult to move about in and had a tiny wardrobe. The AC did not work and merely blew hot air into the room regardless of the setting chosen. The beds were very comfortable though and I did assume that I would sleep well. However, this is a very noisy hotel. Now I know what you'll be thinking "It's in a great location, you have to expect noise" but the noise was from inside the hotel. Paper-thin walls and doors meant that you could hear people flushing their toilet 2 rooms away. The periodic use of vending machines located on very corridor also disturbed our sleep.

Breakfast was good with a reasonable selection of hot options alongside cereals and juices. The restaurant was pleasant with a view over the street below. There is a Starbucks located on the ground floor should you decide that the hotel breakfast is not for you. We always found it adequate.

Overall the hotel is really not good enough to make me want to return. It needs a major refurbishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the vending machines and lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelstrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights with my bf last year and its location was fantastic.
The room was bit small but It was acceptable.
In addition, breakfast was also good.
I will go there in Mar this year again with my parents.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Gion
Sasarindou
Sasarindou
#134 of 369 in Kyoto
90 reviews
Gion
Kyoto INN Gion
Kyoto INN Gion
#115 of 369 in Kyoto
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#34 of 369 in Kyoto
521 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent

Property: APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent
Address: 555 Gionmachi Minamigawa, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0074, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Rakuten, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing