We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, very small bed/room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent
Ranked #126 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This place is great in the middle of Gion. It is within walking distance to the many attractions in Gion including several temples and the night walking tour starting location. It is also very near the place where Geiko and Maiko stay and work so we could spend our nights watching out for them. You can definitely spot several Geiko and Maiko while walking around in the evenings.

There's a starbucks downstairs and a Lawson supermart around the corner so it is really convenient for us to get food and water. The room is very small - don't expect much! We booked the twin room and got a super single bed rather than a queen size bed. It is really small and squeezy. They gave us very thin and hard pillows and it was rather uncomfortable. The toilet in our room is also old and stained but at least it was clean.

Ask for a room near the elevator as the corridors can get rather long - we had a room at the very end of the corridor and it's a long winding walk!

Overall, it's great for its location but don't expect much in terms of space or comfort.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the elevator get the biggest room you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiftly_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 320 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

In dire need of refurbishment. Wallpaper peeling off the wall, cracked plastic in the bathroom... On the plus side, clean and an amazing location if you really don't have any time and need to be right in the middle of Gion.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aritokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Room a little small - not enough room to move in the batheroom but clean and comfortable - excellent breakfast - friendly service - ecologically sound and cheap (A$75 per person) - in the heart of Kyoto.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scatty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is in need of a make over. It has an old and run-down appearance. Rooms/bathroom is extremely small. Although the location is close to many sights/shops. It is far from nearest subway stop. Overall, Gion/Kyoto is very touristy and expensive. Nice place to visit as a day trip. Anyone looking for value should consider Staying in Osaka and taking 25min train to Kyoto (very frequent train service).

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NhuToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Kyoto Gion for three nights. Check in was very easy and the reception staff were helpful and efficient.Our room was small but clean and comfortable, the bathroom was the usual small Japanese capsule style but clean and functional.We had breakfast at the hotel which was good with a wide choice of Western and Japanese dishes.Whilst we were there the hotel was serving an all inclusive buffet dinner (with drinks) on the roof terrace.This was good value with a wide choice of dishes with wonderful views over Kyoto.
The hotel is very well situated for sightseeing, restaurants etc.
As we had lost a wheel from one of our suitcases we decided to send our luggage by courier to our next hotel in Nagoya. Our son who was travelling with us speaks Japanese, he discussed this with the receptionists and for a moderate charge they arranged to send it for us.They need about 24hrs to do this but the system worked seamlessly and our cases were at our next hotel when we arrived.
The Gion hotel is a bit frayed around the edges and would benefit from some TLC but the location is excellent, it's clean and good value for money. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is my fourth trip to Kyoto and the second time I stayed at the Kyoto Gion Hotel. It is a basic hotel, but as most other reviewers have stated - it is the LOCATION that can't be beat at this hotel. It is really the only hotel located in the heart of the Gion district. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel, and the Keihan Railway station is a couple of blocks away. Kyoto is an easy city to navigate, and the bus will take you to pretty much anywhere you need to go (or can drop you at a subway or train station). If you take a taxi from the Kyoto train station to the hotel is is approx $15 US. There is usually at least one taxi waiting outside the hotel at all times.

I did not get the breakfast this time (I did last time and didn't think the price, quality, or variety was particularly good). There is a Starbucks on the bottom floor of the hotel so that is just as easy to grab some breakfast there, or there are a number of cafes within a couple of blocks on Shijo-dori.

I requested a non-smoking room facing onto Shijo-dori. A number of reviewers don't like facing the main street due to the noise. I don't mind the noise, and seeing the cars/people is a bonus for me. Even though the windows are not sound proofed, there is hardly anyone on the street after 9pm so it's not very noisy.

The rooms are basic, but clean. It had a flat screen tv (no English channels but you can buy a video card from a machine next to the elevator for 1000 Yen that has a number code on the back. This gives a reasonable selection of English language movies if you must watch TV). The room also has a small refrigerator and hairdryer. There is no room safe in the room. The bed was not very comfortable (but I'm also not used to sleeping in a twin bed). The bathroom (as many others have mentioned) is one of the tiny modular Japanese bathrooms but it takes care of the basic needs. There is shampoo, conditioner, body soap (all Shiseido), toothbrushes/toothpaste, razors, sponges, etc. The room did not have free wifi (don't think you could purchase wifi either).

I got a great deal this time on the room rate through Japanican.com. Only $55/night (inc. tax) and I did not have to pay upfront (just paid for room cost at check-in).

I would definitely stay here again as this is my very favorite area of Kyoto (saw Geiko and Maiko dashing around day and night - and they were real not the "tourist" Geisha make overs.

The Kyoto Gion Hotel is located directly on Shijo-dori just west of Higashioji. It is half a block from the Yasaka Shrine and Maryama Park.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend checking out Japanican.com to book the room. Got the best rate by far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenAnneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

As others have said the location is indeed good. I recommend you get the 500 yen daily bus pass at the reception desk. There is a laundry round the corner a couple of streets down.
If you want to go downtown just keep walking away from the shrine near the hotel on the same street as the hotel and cross the bridge. Actually you can see the nearby temple in Gion from downtown. it takes you all the way into central Kyoto.
If you are a vegetarian there are three restaurants accessible by bus 206 and 203 around the corner going left as you face the temple. Look up in Happy Cow site. Recommend Kailash (homely) near the famous handicraft centre (where u can buy English books about Japan and also change cash money without your passport)- the other vego restaurant is Proverbs 15/17. Nice food many choices about $10 per dish. be careful going up the stairs if you have any handicaps. Both these restaurants were excellent - I didn't try the third one.
TRAVELLING AROUND WITH THE ONE DAY PASS IS EASY AND UNLESS YOU HAVE A MONTH YOU STILL WON'T SEE ALL the shrines and museums. So get started early: Get on any bus and there will be more shrines than you can poke a walking stick at. With that bus pass you can explore Kyoto easily and cheaply as the pass seems to be usable on both the normal and the Raku buses. Nearby Lawson supermarket has stamps and a post box. The Gion district is very lively at night but parts of it look a bit insalubrious in the area behind the street on the opposite side; though the area on the same side as the hotel look wholesome and have interesting Japanese architecture with very pricey restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank senorsolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Gion
Sasarindou
Sasarindou
#153 of 395 in Kyoto
101 reviews
Gion
Kyoto INN Gion
Kyoto INN Gion
#63 of 395 in Kyoto
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#42 of 395 in Kyoto
580 reviews
Gion
Kyoto Inn Gion The Second
Kyoto Inn Gion The Second
#190 of 395 in Kyoto
7 reviews
Gion
Kyoto Granbell Hotel
Kyoto Granbell Hotel
#87 of 395 in Kyoto
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent

Address: 555 Gionmachi Minamigawa, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0074, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 395 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $68 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing