We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$170
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$398
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$235
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$97
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$100
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$174
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$183
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$283
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveler rating
178
345
128
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
345
128
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busgreat locationfrosted windowsmall double roomunderground mallfree wifiyodobashi cameracity busesair purifierbullet trainthe ground floorjr stationcoin laundrydirectly across the streetbooked this hotelhotel is excellentstation area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 680 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very central location being just right across Kyoto Station, sightseeing buses and beside Kyoto Tower. Lots of restaurant choices in the area, especially inside JR Isetan (11/F, B1, B2). Reception was friendly and housekeeping was helpful. But this business hotel is out-of-date, needs renovation. Room was very small, with limited space to move around. Bathroom was elevated, even smaller with low ceiling thus having the need to hunch, bend. TV has limited channel listing, not even a CNN and you need a remote control to turn on the ceiling light. Go figure. Coin laundry facility and vending machine for refreshments were available at the 4/F.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaWenLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A standard and old business hotel just opposite Kyoto station (next to the Kyoto tower), super easy to find! Despite its age, the rooms are clean and well appointed. The check in staffs were extremely friendly and helpful. I arrived a day earlier by mistake, they did their best to provide me a room (at a slightly discounted price) despite being in busy summer festival period. That really saved me a lot of hassle of having carry my luggage to search for a place to stay for a night.

Single room at 7,500 yen has only one small window with no view, but comfortable bed, nice bathroom and free wifi, very very quiet at night which gives good sleep. Coin operated laundry on 4th floor provides convenience for guests.

The location of this hotel has to be some of the very best you could find in Kyoto on a budget. From the train station or bus terminal, it takes you just about anywhere you wanna go in Kyoto, or nearby Nara and Osaka.

All in all, I am impressed by this hotel, and will be my top choice to stay again next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

After a long day of travelling, my friend and I were so happy to see that this hotel was directly in front of the Kyoto station. The staff were incredibly helpful despite not being able to speak english fully. The rooms were a nice size and the bathroom was authentic Japanese style. There was plenty of space for our bags, the two beds and a couch. The air conditioner was super effective against the crazy heat. And the beds/pillows were very comfortable! There are plenty of little shops to eat all around the station, and it is very close to a bank, Starbucks, and the post office (where you can use the international ATMs). Overall, I would recommend this hotel for families and travellers, though it is not the cheapest room (average price).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girl2764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very small room but is clean. This is considered standard size room for hotel in Kyoto within this price range and centrally located. We didn't spend much time in the room so we don't mind that. If you are looking for a convenient hotel for short stay, is this the one. The hotel just opposite Kyoto station and bus station just across the road. It saves a lot of time for us to travel around Kyoto. Restaurants are easy to find especially inside kyoto station, plenty of choices. Must try the Kyoto Ramen Koji location on the 10th floor of the Kyoto Station Building. This is a great place to take your pick from 7 of Japan's regional tastes of ramen The hotel staff can speaks good english.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catheen_Wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Couldn't ask for a better hotel in Kyoto... definitely staying there again when I return to Kyoto! The only thing that didn't wow me was the room size, but really, with so many things to do in Kyoto, you shouldn't spend much time in your room anyway. Bed was very comfortable, toilet size was reasonable, the staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to help... but the best is definitely the location. RIGHT IN FRONT of Kyoto station! You literally only have to cross the street. And from there, you can take the subway, train and local buses. As you may already know, buses are usually the best option to go around Kyoto (except Fushimi Inari temple - only 1 train station away!).
One thing that definitely stood out was the fact that they keep these big binders in the lobby, with many different itineraries of places and temples to visit in Kyoto, and they print multiple leaflets of each temple and itinerary for you to take with you when you go out... and it explains exactly which bus to take there, maps, how long it will take to get there from multiple places, etc. When I went there I still didn't have a specific itinerary of places we wanted to see in Kyoto, and didn't want to book any tour either, and these leaflets helped us extremely to do everything on our own! How attentive... it's something that costs very little for the hotel but makes the world of difference for the guests. 10 out of 10!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karollou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews