We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Ranked #48 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I booked this hotel for a last-minute vacation with little knowledge of Kyoto. When we arrived, first pleasant surprise was that it was literally across the street from Kyoto Station. Very convenient! The staff was very polite and greeted us warmly. Our room was spotless clean and very cozy.This is really all you need. No frills, but lovely and very clean. The double twin room was very spacious. I specified non-smoking and would recommend doing that.
On our last night, we stayed in a small double room,which was in fact small but also very clean and cozy. Sakashita was so helpful with tourist information and spoke amazing English. Overall, I give this place 5 stars!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 648 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location just opposite the railway station as well as the bus station which makes it very easy for travelling. The staff are very polite. The rooms are small but very clean. Only thing is the check in is at 3 pm so be sure you have everything chalked out. We reached there at 10 in the morning, left our luggage at the reception and went sight seeing before we could check in at 3 pm. Buses available to Gion and Higshiyama from the bus station. Lot of eateries around. Highly recommended for convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is located directly in front of the Kyoto JR station, on the north side. It makes access to everything in Kyoto very convenient. There are plenty of restaurants from all price ranges and cuisines within walking distance.
Our room was very small, especially considering the price. There was barely room for a full size bed. There was no closet. In the bathroom, the same faucet supplied water to the sink and the shower (with a diverter valve) so one could use only the shower or the sink at any one time. The wall dividing the rooms is also quite thin, so if the person in the adjoining room turns and hits the wall while sleeping, you can hear it.
On the plus side, there is free Wi-Fi at the hotel.
The staff were attentive but when we went to pick up our luggage the following afternoon, the clerks go busy and forgot about us. They did apologize profusely, though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent location, great service and helpfully organised our luggage to be sent to our next hotel without a problem. Free wifi plus a computer area which allowed free printing which was useful. Right outside is subway entrance and bus to and from Gion and Higashiyama stops right in front. Highly recommended for where it is.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a-little-fatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

of the 3 places i stayed in japan, this was the least memorable or remarkable, but that isn't necessary a bad thing!
the location is JUST out of the metro exit, and an easy 3 minute stroll from the Shinkansen / JR stations. very easy to hop on a bus to virtually anywhere in Kyoto you'd want to tour.
staff were nice, place very clean.
smallish room, which is expected, but there was no window in our room, which made it a bit claustrophobic.
also note - they wouldn't let us check in until 2:45/3pm - we had taken an early morning train in from Tokyo so would have liked to have gotten settled and checked-in straight away. they did of course hold our bags whilst we went out exploring, but just be aware of that time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The main reason I booked this hotel is the location, it's very close to Kyoto JR station and main JR bus terminal. (JR bus for traveling in Kyoto itself and JR train for visiting nearby cities such as Nara or Osaka)
Front desk was very polite (standard for hotel in Japan) I booked for small double room (means smaller than standard double room) the room and bed were small as its name but it was ok for me, if you are not sure you guys can fit in small bed, book standard room instead :p
There are so many shops and restaurants before station, in station, including Isetan department store, oh and Yodobashi store just 1 block away, so you can't be bored if you are around the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01NEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Arrived on a late train. Walked out of the main Karasuma Entrance across the forecourt bus terminal at there it was across the road. A Hotel in a hard to beat location if you are using trains and buses and lets face it as a tourist in Kyoto what else are you going to use!

The Pro's - Location. Clean and good value. Staff speak passable English which is good as I speak awful Japanese :-) Good dining options nearby in the eateries in the station underpasses. Folders in the foyer of the the Hotel detail tourist attractions and tips on getting there. They uncomplainingly store your luggage once you check out. Typical capsule style Japanese bathroom - functional and clean.

The Con's - Double Room small - even by Japanese standards. Bed located up against the wall meaning you have to climb over your partner to get out. The pillows are typical Japanese style which means pretty lumpy! Hotel was pretty full and the WiFi really slow. Small opaque window with minimal natural light.

In Summary - Great location and good value. A quality tourist class motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#74 of 376 in Kyoto
563 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#80 of 376 in Kyoto
527 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#26 of 376 in Kyoto
733 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Southern Kyoto
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Address: 579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $79 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotwire, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hokke Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing