We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Ranked #50 of 349 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location just opposite the railway station as well as the bus station which makes it very easy for travelling. The staff are very polite. The rooms are small but very clean. Only thing is the check in is at 3 pm so be sure you have everything chalked out. We reached there at 10 in the morning, left our luggage at the reception and went sight seeing before we could check in at 3 pm. Buses available to Gion and Higshiyama from the bus station. Lot of eateries around. Highly recommended for convenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    289
    105
    18
    8
See reviews for
84
236
102
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is located directly in front of the Kyoto JR station, on the north side. It makes access to everything in Kyoto very convenient. There are plenty of restaurants from all price ranges and cuisines within walking distance.
Our room was very small, especially considering the price. There was barely room for a full size bed. There was no closet. In the bathroom, the same faucet supplied water to the sink and the shower (with a diverter valve) so one could use only the shower or the sink at any one time. The wall dividing the rooms is also quite thin, so if the person in the adjoining room turns and hits the wall while sleeping, you can hear it.
On the plus side, there is free Wi-Fi at the hotel.
The staff were attentive but when we went to pick up our luggage the following afternoon, the clerks go busy and forgot about us. They did apologize profusely, though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent location, great service and helpfully organised our luggage to be sent to our next hotel without a problem. Free wifi plus a computer area which allowed free printing which was useful. Right outside is subway entrance and bus to and from Gion and Higashiyama stops right in front. Highly recommended for where it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a-little-fatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

of the 3 places i stayed in japan, this was the least memorable or remarkable, but that isn't necessary a bad thing!
the location is JUST out of the metro exit, and an easy 3 minute stroll from the Shinkansen / JR stations. very easy to hop on a bus to virtually anywhere in Kyoto you'd want to tour.
staff were nice, place very clean.
smallish room, which is expected, but there was no window in our room, which made it a bit claustrophobic.
also note - they wouldn't let us check in until 2:45/3pm - we had taken an early morning train in from Tokyo so would have liked to have gotten settled and checked-in straight away. they did of course hold our bags whilst we went out exploring, but just be aware of that time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The main reason I booked this hotel is the location, it's very close to Kyoto JR station and main JR bus terminal. (JR bus for traveling in Kyoto itself and JR train for visiting nearby cities such as Nara or Osaka)
Front desk was very polite (standard for hotel in Japan) I booked for small double room (means smaller than standard double room) the room and bed were small as its name but it was ok for me, if you are not sure you guys can fit in small bed, book standard room instead :p
There are so many shops and restaurants before station, in station, including Isetan department store, oh and Yodobashi store just 1 block away, so you can't be bored if you are around the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 01NEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Arrived on a late train. Walked out of the main Karasuma Entrance across the forecourt bus terminal at there it was across the road. A Hotel in a hard to beat location if you are using trains and buses and lets face it as a tourist in Kyoto what else are you going to use!

The Pro's - Location. Clean and good value. Staff speak passable English which is good as I speak awful Japanese :-) Good dining options nearby in the eateries in the station underpasses. Folders in the foyer of the the Hotel detail tourist attractions and tips on getting there. They uncomplainingly store your luggage once you check out. Typical capsule style Japanese bathroom - functional and clean.

The Con's - Double Room small - even by Japanese standards. Bed located up against the wall meaning you have to climb over your partner to get out. The pillows are typical Japanese style which means pretty lumpy! Hotel was pretty full and the WiFi really slow. Small opaque window with minimal natural light.

In Summary - Great location and good value. A quality tourist class motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and is my 4th time to Kyoto. The reasons for choosing this are location and price (10,000 yen for a twin room without breakfast). Extremely cheap!

1. Location
- directly opposite JR Kyoto station (go towards Karasuma exit)
- is only 10-15mins walk from JR station platform and 3mins from bus interchange
- Porta mall exit C is a few steps away from the hotel but please don't exit there with suitcase since there is no elevator but steps. Take the main walkways.
- is the best place to start your sightseeing with access to buses and subway and JR/Kintetsu rail
- get a bus pass for 500yen and you can covered 99% of the sightseeing areas. Subway is more expensive.
- lotsa food and shopping around the area (behind the hotel is a supermarket at B2 of Yodobashi, there are also lotsa electronics, cosmetics, stationeries, etc available). You can grab water, instant noodles, fruits, snacks)
-JR Kyoto has many restaurants, Isetan and other shops for young and trendy ladies)
-Ogawa coffeeshop is just right downstairs for breakfast/coffee/dessert
- there are no historic sites within 500m but if you like you can visit Kyoto Tower which is just 50m away

2. Rooms
- HUGE! At least 30sqm with plenty of room for luggage.
- comfy beds but not so good pillows.
- good sound proofing and extremely clean
- I wish their towels were more fluffy and thicker
-as usual they provide amenities like shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush, razor, combs, cotton buds and sshower gel like other Japanese hotels
- the decor is basic but I can't complain for the price
- I know some reviews mentioned tiny rooms, just make sure you don't choose semi-double room if you like space. Is only a little more for that space which I reckon is totally worth paying!
- free wifi and fast speed
- our room has the view of JR station. This is apparently only for twin and bigger rooms. The other rooms hardly have any windows.

3. Service
- check in is at 3pm and checkout is 10am so is not great for those that arrive early from Osaka/Tokyo however they do keep the luggage for you and Japan is safe so trust them with your bags
-polite and basic English spoken
- self service is expected for moving your own luggage ans helping yourselves to the free maps, sightsee info and free facial masks at the hotel lobby.
- they provide safe keeping of passport since there is no safety box in the room.

Overall this is a highly functional hotel at a good price and accessible location. If you are fine with no frills, this is definitely for you. Do book early as I see that is very popular with tourists. I had to scout for many booking sites before finding an available room using Japanican.com.

Ps: there is a takoyaki van selling delicious octopus balls outside from 9pm. Pls try it being a famous local snack.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catteaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#70 of 349 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#22 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#16 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Property: Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Address: 579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#32 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hokke Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing