We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms like cruise ship cabins (inside)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Ranked #50 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Small rooms like cruise ship cabins (inside)”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

no proper window, but can get fresh air, very small but comfortable standard room for 1 person, for 2 persons get the deluxe rooms. good lights and air condition. straight opposite from railwaystationand tourist information. very friendly and helpful staff. good free Wifi in lobby. many tourist guidebooks in lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    323
    119
    18
    9
See reviews for
102
263
109
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel is located in very good location near JR Kyoto station and Kyoto bus stop. We stayed in small double type room. The room is a little bigger than typical business hotel. However, it is still too small for western people to stay as a couples. Room is tidy and clean. Hotel staffs are very helpful and willing to answer your question (but my wife ask them in japanese so not sure about their english skill). My room is on fifth floor and close to the elevator however luckily we did not hear any noise from the elevator.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owniski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just checked in today and the reception staff and their manager did not have any training in hospitality at all.When complaining that my room had no window,the answer was that they never promissed there should be one. I have the strong impression that the room where I and my wife have been checked in is a single room.The information in the hotel shows that 135 rooms out of the available 188 rooms are single. So be aware if you book a room in this hotel the changes are more than 71% it will be an single.

I spend half me life of staying in hotels but this one is the worst I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
118 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

+ Location is perfect
+ The Team is really friendly and always smiling

- Check-in is 15.00 - no discussion or you have to pay a surcharge
- The rooms were too small - and the bathroom ceiling only 195cms - so I touched it...
- We had a small window but hardly any daylight came in - as A/C was in front of it

I would not come back to be honest!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel staff was excellent, their English was surprisingly good! The rooms we clean and a decent size. We had 3 sharing and didnt feel cramped at all. Unless you like traditional Japanese breakfast, getting this included can end up being pointless. The staff had some reccomendations for places to eat and drink, one of them didnt work out though. The izakaya "Sesame" offered to seat us for a 500 yen table fee, a not so subtle hint that westerners were'nt welcome. Kyoto is a great city though and that type of bigotry was not at all common from my experiance. The Gion district is very active in the evenings, lots of bars and good restaraunts. Over all though this was an excellent hotel, I highly reccomend it as long as you understand its a 'base of operations' and not a luxury resort.

Room Tip: Most Japanese hotels provide basic things like a toothbrush, paste, soap, shampoo etc so no need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located directly across from the train station, which is very convenient, especially if you're using Kyoto as a bas to go to Nara or other day trips. It's not that close to the sites in Kyoto, but they're pretty spread out and inaccessible regardless. The staff is very attentive and spoke very good English. The rooms are tiny but adequate. Laundry, vending, ice down the hall. There's great tourist information in the lobby. Wifi in the lobby, wired Internet in the room. There's a grocery store around the corner. I'd stay here again for sure.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LisanCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misousri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto for two nights this past July. We had booked into this hotel as part of a JapanICan Shinkansen package from Tokyo to Kyoto. Clean and well-managed, this hotel really supports the Kyoto visitor with maps, lots of additional travel information and helpful staff whose advise is most useful. They even provided us with umbrellas since it rained two of the days we were there. Located directly across from the Train station, the hotel is accessed via the underground Porta of shops and restaurants. Look for a brass plaque, and go up one flight of stairs to the Lobby. The rooms are small, as you would expect in Japan, and the bathroom appears to be added on. You have to step up to enter the bathroom. We really enjoyed the Western sized Kimono bathrobes. The room keys are large, but are held by the staff when you go out. Our room was very quiet.

We did not eat any meals in the hotel as they seemed fairly expensive. Instead we ate at two different restaurants located in the Porta – one a sobu noodle place and the other served a local type of omelet with noodles. Both were delicious and reasonably priced (between 800 and 1200 yen for full meals). For breakfast we went to the basement of the Yodobashi electronics department store directly in back of the hotel and picked up bento boxes which we stored in our refrigerator. Much to our surprise, the price of the boxes was cut in half after 8:00 pm. We got ones with egg, rice and sauce for around 200 yen. For the trip back to Tokyo we stopped into the basement food area of the Isetan Department store at the train station and picked up fancy bento boxes for lunch. I got 4 different delicious large slices of sushi for 560 yen and my husband got a Chinese lunch for a little more. Mine even had a small blue ice taped to the top to keep it cool until I ate it.

The hotel is within walking distance of the two Honganji Temples, although the Higashi Temple is undergoing some renovations. You can also reach the Shosei-en Garden on foot. Plan to spend some time exploring the Yodobashi Department Store. It was great fun to see racks with hundreds of different kinds of ear buds and head phones. You won’t believe how many watches this store carries. Prices were surprisingly reasonable.

Bus stops are directly across the street and destinations are clearly labeled. For our full day in Kyoto, we got a one day subway pass, as we had reserved the free passes to the Imperial Place [easy to do on-line] and wanted to see Nijo Castle, the Downtown and the Gion area. We got to Gion around dusk and did indeed see the apprentice Geisha.

Altogether, we enjoyed the hotel and our visit to Kyoto.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not directly face the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stltraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#67 of 369 in Kyoto
534 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#83 of 369 in Kyoto
495 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#22 of 369 in Kyoto
705 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Property: Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Address: 579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hokke Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing