We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmhh - this is a difficult evaluation...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Ranked #56 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed August 11, 2012

+ Location is perfect
+ The Team is really friendly and always smiling

- Check-in is 15.00 - no discussion or you have to pay a surcharge
- The rooms were too small - and the bathroom ceiling only 195cms - so I touched it...
- We had a small window but hardly any daylight came in - as A/C was in front of it

I would not come back to be honest!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 653 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel staff was excellent, their English was surprisingly good! The rooms we clean and a decent size. We had 3 sharing and didnt feel cramped at all. Unless you like traditional Japanese breakfast, getting this included can end up being pointless. The staff had some reccomendations for places to eat and drink, one of them didnt work out though. The izakaya "Sesame" offered to seat us for a 500 yen table fee, a not so subtle hint that westerners were'nt welcome. Kyoto is a great city though and that type of bigotry was not at all common from my experiance. The Gion district is very active in the evenings, lots of bars and good restaraunts. Over all though this was an excellent hotel, I highly reccomend it as long as you understand its a 'base of operations' and not a luxury resort.

Room Tip: Most Japanese hotels provide basic things like a toothbrush, paste, soap, shampoo etc so no need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is located directly across from the train station, which is very convenient, especially if you're using Kyoto as a bas to go to Nara or other day trips. It's not that close to the sites in Kyoto, but they're pretty spread out and inaccessible regardless. The staff is very attentive and spoke very good English. The rooms are tiny but adequate. Laundry, vending, ice down the hall. There's great tourist information in the lobby. Wifi in the lobby, wired Internet in the room. There's a grocery store around the corner. I'd stay here again for sure.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LisanCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto for two nights this past July. We had booked into this hotel as part of a JapanICan Shinkansen package from Tokyo to Kyoto. Clean and well-managed, this hotel really supports the Kyoto visitor with maps, lots of additional travel information and helpful staff whose advise is most useful. They even provided us with umbrellas since it rained two of the days we were there. Located directly across from the Train station, the hotel is accessed via the underground Porta of shops and restaurants. Look for a brass plaque, and go up one flight of stairs to the Lobby. The rooms are small, as you would expect in Japan, and the bathroom appears to be added on. You have to step up to enter the bathroom. We really enjoyed the Western sized Kimono bathrobes. The room keys are large, but are held by the staff when you go out. Our room was very quiet.

We did not eat any meals in the hotel as they seemed fairly expensive. Instead we ate at two different restaurants located in the Porta – one a sobu noodle place and the other served a local type of omelet with noodles. Both were delicious and reasonably priced (between 800 and 1200 yen for full meals). For breakfast we went to the basement of the Yodobashi electronics department store directly in back of the hotel and picked up bento boxes which we stored in our refrigerator. Much to our surprise, the price of the boxes was cut in half after 8:00 pm. We got ones with egg, rice and sauce for around 200 yen. For the trip back to Tokyo we stopped into the basement food area of the Isetan Department store at the train station and picked up fancy bento boxes for lunch. I got 4 different delicious large slices of sushi for 560 yen and my husband got a Chinese lunch for a little more. Mine even had a small blue ice taped to the top to keep it cool until I ate it.

The hotel is within walking distance of the two Honganji Temples, although the Higashi Temple is undergoing some renovations. You can also reach the Shosei-en Garden on foot. Plan to spend some time exploring the Yodobashi Department Store. It was great fun to see racks with hundreds of different kinds of ear buds and head phones. You won’t believe how many watches this store carries. Prices were surprisingly reasonable.

Bus stops are directly across the street and destinations are clearly labeled. For our full day in Kyoto, we got a one day subway pass, as we had reserved the free passes to the Imperial Place [easy to do on-line] and wanted to see Nijo Castle, the Downtown and the Gion area. We got to Gion around dusk and did indeed see the apprentice Geisha.

Altogether, we enjoyed the hotel and our visit to Kyoto.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not directly face the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stltraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Will be seeking this hotel out again when I visit Kyoto.

Room: Very standard (read: very small) room for a discount / business hotel in Japan. From the display outside, it seemed like there were women's rooms that had foot bath / massagers in them (doesn't do me much good!). Typical step-up bathroom with limited space, small desk and bed, wall-mounted AC unit. Small but very serviceable. As typical in Japan, you get a full range of toiletries, including toothbrushes / toothpaste and razors. The view from the room I was in was certainly nothing to write home about, but sufficient light still got in the room.

Location: Outstanding. Literally across the street from Kyoto station (JR and other lines, Shinkansen, and Subway line) and Kyoto's main bus station (also the central taxi area in Kyoto, if you'd rather go that way). The hotel is a block from Yodobashi camera (my personal favorite electronics store in the world) and a host of other shopping / dining options. I would highly recommend staying in this area, especially if you 1) have never been to Kyoto or 2) do not speak Japanese.

Service: Typical outstanding Japanese service. Got to the hotel early (and was subject to the letter of the law check-in time...something to keep in mind in Japan) and the hotel was very accommodating in storing my bags while I wandered around the city. My few requests were handled promptly and professional. FYI, this is one of those hotels that wants you to leave your key (a physical key, not a keycard) at the front desk when you leave.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arkleseizure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is located in the city centre opposite the Kyoto Train station. The room is basic and clean. I stay three nights at the hotel spending most of the time touring Kyoto. The staff were very courteous. There is a coin operated laundrette at the fourth floor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tankokbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here in March/April and found it good value for money and an excellent base for exploring Kyoto and the region. It's directly opposite Kyoto Station, so great for bus and train links. Moreover, the hotel provides very helpful laminated guides to the most popular sites, with bus and walking instructions on how to get there. You can take the guide with you and return it later. Our hotel room was small, but very clean and well-appointed. We didn't want to pay more for a larger room, and it was fine. Breakfast at the hotel was expensive, but just outside the hotel are steps down to the underground shopping mall. We had breakfast at Anvil each day: eggs, toast and coffee and then straight up to the train or bus! This was also a good location for evening meals - we followed the queues and enjoyed excellent okonomiyaki and beer on a couple of evenings. Staff at the hotel spoke good English and couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Check out room size in advance is this is important to you. If not, a small room will save you money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Veronica749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#78 of 379 in Kyoto
567 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#82 of 379 in Kyoto
533 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#25 of 379 in Kyoto
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#67 of 379 in Kyoto
736 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#42 of 379 in Kyoto
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Address: 579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $73 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hokke Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing