We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My experience with Agoda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Ranked #72 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    310
    125
    16
    11
See reviews for
108
178
73
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2008

My fiance and I went here for 3 days over Christmas to see Kyoto. It was an absolutely perfect hotel for us! The rooms are small, but they have EVERYTHING you need and are very clean. It is within walking distance to the main Gion District, Pontoncho Alley, the river, and many other great retaurants and shopping areas (Nishiki Market, etc.) We walked everywhere.. no need to take the subway. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who wants something cheap and really nice. Great hotel!!!!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank musicnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

The Hotel Gimmond is an average budget hotel. The room was small, but clean. The bathroom was Japanese style - small, a short, deep bathtub, and a low sink, but also clean. While there was a closet, there wasn't a dresser or drawers to put clothes in, which may be inconvenient if you are staying more than 1-2 nights. The room has a t.v., but doesn't receive any English speaking channels. If you're out during the day and evening this may not be in issue. If you need a news fix in the morning or like to unwind at night with tv, this may be more important to you. The door seems flimsy and the lock (regular key lock with a chain on the inside) would be easy to pop, but given the low crime in Japan this doesn't seem to have the same concern that it would in other countries. While there aren't many restaurants on the main street, there are many shops and restaurants a few blocks southeast of the hotel. The hotel is in a good location and has easy access by foot, subway, and bus to many of the temples and shrines.

  • Liked — the price and location
  • Disliked — no dresser/drawers, the door/lock
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfd64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
128 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

Hotel Gimmond's main drawcard is it's central location, no doubt about that although it does have it's good points and some not-so-good points...

- The rooms are average, they're very cramped and small (even by Japanese standards). We had a double room & each of us had small suitcases however we struggled to fit them into the room. We had to step onto the bed to get to the door!

- The rooms look & feel pretty outdated but they are clean & adequate nevertheless.

- The bathroom literally looks & feels like an airplane toilet, and is about the same size too (only with a shower added).

- Many ppl have commented it's great value for money, although not always. In our case (staying in Oct) we were paying an average of $180/n and must admit we expected a bit more than the 3 star budget feel that Gimmond has once you get past the nice lobby.

- On the plus side the staff are great. They speak fluent English & were always helpful.

- It's in a very convenient location, 5mins walk to Karasuma Oike station, 10min walk to Pontocho Alley & Gion. 5mins to Termaderchi shopping arcade & Karamachi Dori which are some of the best places for shopping.

- The Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa usually has very similar prices to Gimmond & is even better located again (the Royal is 2-3 blocks closer to Gion), so compare the prices between the hotels and get the best deal you can. Having said that, the Royal isn't any nicer than Gimmond...it's just slightly better located.

- There's an Internet kiosk in the lobby but it's quite expensive and malfunctioned on me twice. The staff happily refunded my money when it did though.

All in all, I'd have to say Gimmond was adequate & convenient, it was ok but it did not impress, nor did we find it good value.

  • Liked — Location & the helpful staff
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2008

- Great location, near Gion District and major subway station
- Very helpful staff
- Nice resteraunts
- Ok size room (well it's Japan)
- Perfectly clean

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — crowded breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

It's been a year since we spent a week at the Gimmond, somehow we never got around to writing our review.
My husband & I used to live in Kyoto as students and we were revisiting the 'good old days'. Rather than staying with friends ("guests and prawns go off after three days", as they say in Australia), we followed the advise given by friends who had stayed there earlier and directly booked a room at the Gimmond hotel.
The location is very convenient, minutes from both subway lines, walking distance to a lot of the downtown sights.
The room was of course small, but very comfortable and clean.
The bed was rather short, but we always have to struggle with that problem, not only at the Gimmond in Japan - my husband is 6'8".
Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful when I had difficulties connecting to the Internet. They bent over backwards to fix the problem, which I (self-employed and never really on holiday) greatly appreciated.
We did not bother to try the hotel's restaurant, as we felt it overpriced and way 'too Western'. We do speak Japanese, so we didn't have trouble to find great food at good prices. But even those who do not know Japanese can easily get around and - food-wise- do better than any hotel (with the notable exception of a good ryokan, I suppose).
We have since recommended the Gimmond to others and nobody has been disappointed so far, especially since the rates are excellent for Kyoto!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PO_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

We booked this hotel for 3 nights via Agoda.com, based on the positive reviews on this site and others, and we were not disappointed.
We had a corner room in a triple bed configuration, which comfortably accommodated myself, my wife and our 2 daughters, aged 2 and 4, who shared one bed. Since all of the japanese single beds seem to be king singles (1200mm wide) they had no problems sleeping side by side across the bed, leaving myself and my wife with a bed each.

The cleanliness of the room and the bathroom was immaculate. The room came with the usual toothbrushes, razors, soaps, shampoos and conditioners, which were replenished daily as needed.
Yes the bathroom was small, but it was about average for Japanese hotel bathrooms from our experience. It was perfectly fine for everything you should ever need a bathroom for. ;-)

Our room had an excellent air conditioner, which was easily adjustable to any desired temperature setting, and came with a full english interpretation card. Walking into a nice air conditioned room when it was 35 degrees and humid outside was heaven.
Another bonus for us was that each of our balcony doors had a solid sliding door, which when closed completely blacked out the room which was good for afternoon nap time for my daughters.
The location of the hotel is superb, a 10 minute subway ride from Kyoto station, and a 2 minute walk. The hotel is within 10-15 minutes walk of many major attractions such as Nijo castle, the Imperial Palace, and is only approximately 10 minutes from several major bus stops, which link you to anywhere in Kyoto for very reasonable rates. Bus trips are 220 yen each, or a day trip pass for the majority of Kyoto for 500 yen, which is what we opted for. These can be purchased from the Gimmond Hotel reception, and the bus maps are very easy to follow and navigate.

The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful, and the ones we had speak a moderate amount of english, so communication was never a problem.

As previous reviewers have mentioned, the nearby underground shopping arcade to the east is a huge bonus, as is the 7/11 directly across the road.
One last tip, if you stay here you must try the vending machine style 24hr japanese restaurant a few doors to the west of the hotel. Enter, select your desired dish from the display window, put your money in the vending machine inside the door and choose the corresponding dish, give the ticket to the waitstaff and only minutes later your food comes out hot, fresh and very delicious. This restaurant seemed to have a steady stream of customers at all times of the day, but we never had problems getting a seat. They even have kids meals!

We did not eat at the hotel, but the prices did appear a little costly. With the number of restaurants nearby, including the huge and bizarre Nishikikoji arcade only a 10 minute walk to the south east, this was not a problem.

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, as I dont have one negative thing to say about the hotel.

  • Liked — Location of the hotel, the size and cleanliness of the room.
  • Disliked — Nothing. Couldn't fault the hotel for the price bracket.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Newwy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#53 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#95 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#33 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gimmond Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gimmond Kyoto

Property: Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Address: Takakura-Oike-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8015, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gimmond Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gimmond Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing