We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service, Great Price for Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Ranked #70 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service, Great Price for Location”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you travel around Japan enough you will appreciate two things. First, not all hotel desks are totally fluent in English. The Hotel Gimmond's desk staff are not only completely fluent in English, but they are very helpful and patient. They will make you restaurant reservations and give you any other assistance you need. Since it was the Thanksgiving Labor Day weekend, many restaurants were quite busy. By the way, this weekend many of the guests were Japanese so this is not just a hotel for Western tourists. I prefer to not be surrounded by other foreign tourists when traveling.

Second point, typically Japanese hotel rooms are small, clean and utilitarian. Hotel Gimmond is no different. You don't get a lot of space and you might have to put a large piece of luggage on the bed to open it. There is a small desk, a small TV (not much in English) and small table. When we are in Kyoto, we are gone almost sun up to sundown. We might regroup before dinner to rest our feet, but we are soon back out. It is true the decor is a outdated, but the price/value equation is outstanding.

The location is a great point to explore Pontocho, the Nishiki market and the shopping on Shijo Street. We found hotels closer to these areas and Gion to be much more expensive particularly during holidays and high season. Hotel Gimmond is actually just West enough that you are not in an area with throngs of tourists. There are several laid back restaurants izakayas and other ethnic cuisines in the area. Since we need good coffee and a small bakery item in the morning to get started, there is an international bakery named Paul just to the South next to the Museum of Kyoto. We were able to use the ATM at the 7-11 across the street. Not all of our cards worked here, but there is a Citibank just West of the corner of Karasuma and Shijo.

When you get off the train at Kyoto station, you jump on the subway and head to Karasumaoike station. The hotel is a short walk from the station. We have stayed near the train station before and we prefer being closer to downtown. If you want to day trip to Osaka, Nara and other areas, you can still get to the train station very quickly.

Room Tip: Westerners probably should avoid semi-double rooms as the beds will be very small for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarcoPolo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    313
    127
    16
    11
See reviews for
110
179
73
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba
Level Contributor
369 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Following the rule of expensive hotels in Japan, this is no different, but worth the price. Great location, no more than 15 minutes walking from JR Central Station and very easy to catch buses to local tourist attractions. There´s no breakfast included, but have cheaper options in the neighborhood. The rooms are very good and confortable. Staff very friendly. Recomended.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the avenue, are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We booked two twin beds en-suite and were incredibly impressed by how LARGE the room was! It had all the amenities that other hotels typically have: flat screen TV, mini fridge, private bathroom, free wi-fi, a tea-maker/set, ample closet space with sliding doors, and as a bonus, a pull out sofa-bed AND balcony. Sure, the balcony was small, but accessible and enabled us to look onto a local shrine next door to the hotel. Pretty neat. It was a very comfortable stay, and the staff speak English. And above all, our 3-night stay was at a great price. We only paid $80 USD per night, taxes already included.

The location is great too, only a five-minute walk to the Karusumaoike (subway) Station and is close to Kyoto attractions, such as Nishiki Market and Pontocho, both of which I HIGHLY recommend! There are several 7-Elevens nearby as well. Also, check out the Japanese restaurant at the hotel. We had traditional Japanese breakfast and it was absolutely delicious! A complete meal for only 750 YEN, or about $7.50 USD per person? Good deal! Make Hotel Gimmond Kyoto your homebase in Kyoto. It will not disappoint!

Room Tip: We booked two twin en-suite and our room was large! I imagine most of the rooms are large. Definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedaywetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Good hotel, good location. It is 5 mins walking distance from the train station. You can walk to Nijo castle from the hotel and there are lots of interesting shops, cafes and restaurants all within walking distance. The rooms are clean but tired looking and could do with a revamp, the bathroom is very small more like a cubicle and dated. The staff are very helpful, friendly and speak good English.The Japanese breakfast was very good too. I would also recommend buying the two day bus pass if you are planning to do some sight seeing, you can do this at reception it is well worth it. All in all a good clean functional hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonlinda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well located close to Nijo castle and walking distance to many restaurants and shops
The room is small but comfortable with a typical show box bathroom but everything works and the price is reasonable
The staff were very helpful and helped to make our stay enjoyable


Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spinner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Although Kyoto is a very spread out city, this hotel was in a location where we could walk to many of the attractions and had easy access to all public transportations (subway and bus - not the JR line). The crew was also extremely helpful with making reservations and telling us how to get to places.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tribecagirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
En route
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Standard Japanese hotel. not quite for business, not quite for vacation. Rooms are small but to be expected by Japanese standards. Everything was clean. Staff were helpful. No complaints at all but nothing particularly outstanding either. A good location for sightseeing with Karasuma Oike subway station nearby. I would recommend this hotel as a first landing in Kyoto if you don't know your way because from the Shinkansen station at Kyoto you can easily connect to Karasuma Oike. From there it is a short 3-4 block walk to the Gimmond Hotel. Ideal if you have just arrived and are lugging suitcases. The front desk has tourist maps in English and you can buy the day travel cards (train and bus) for JPY 1,200 (as of Nov 2013). There are quite a few nice ryokan nearby too such as the Ishihara Ryokan which is only two blocks away. I would recommend you try one of those and only stay a night or two at the Gimmond. For dinner or nightlife, it's an easy subway ride to Sanjo station for Kawaramachi and the river. You could walk back to the hotel from Kawaramichi in about 20-30 mins if you happen to miss the last train and don't fancy springing for a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frogmirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#53 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#95 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#33 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#35 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gimmond Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gimmond Kyoto

Property: Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Address: Takakura-Oike-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8015, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gimmond Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gimmond Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing