We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden onsen hotel near Kyoto station!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Ranked #222 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden onsen hotel near Kyoto station!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I looked for a onsen hotel since I knew that all the business hotels in Kyoto were very expensive and had small bathrooms. So why not relaxing in the onsen/SPA instead of trying to take a shower in a tiny (thus dangerous) bathroom?

I found the perfect onsen hotel right in the middle of Kyoto. It is a perfect spot to visit around Kyoto. You can go to Kyoto station mall or department stores near the station for an affordable nice dinner/breakfast. At night you can ease your foot pain in the onsen of the hotel (and the massage chairs). The single room was kind of small but double room was ok. Anyway, you don't care about the room because you are going to appreciate the onsen.
The location is a bit far from the station but it is acceptable, compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yyafu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    314
    222
    84
    42
See reviews for
69
220
159
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Travelling on my own, felt safe and close to Kyoto station (handy for getting around and the station top floors have an amazing selection of affordable restaurants). Room was on the small side, but the bed was a decent size and I did appreciate the mini fridge and hot water pot in the room. Free wi-fi was brilliant - password given at reception on check-in, worked really well and I hadn't expected it so a pleasant suprise. I don't think 2 of us would have managed in the room though as very little floor space for suitcases etc. Mattress was comfortable, pillow was awful and I ended up buying a cushion from Daiso to use on top. The sento on the top floor was a total bonus, yukata and slippers provided and a leaflet in english explaining how to use the baths. Really glad I plucked up the courage to try and used the sento every day in the end, especially the outdoor bath - perfect in the humid summer heat. I got a great deal on the room and flight together through trailfinders, I was happy enough given how little I paid, but if I had paid more or was having a holiday with my husband I wouldn't have been as content.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I always stay here when i'm in kyoto. Hotel is very close to kyoto station and all its shops and restaurants. Easy to find. Rooms are small, but i find them comfortable and not cramped. Room was very clean and well- equipped: fridge, hot water, window that opens. Free wifi throughout hotel. A good japanese buffet breakfast for 1500 yen: don't miss the soft tofu. Rooms are quiet. It's not really a tourist hotel, it's more of a japanese business hotel, but some staff have some english. The best thing about this hotel is its rooftop bath. There is an indoor and an outdoor bath, a cold bath, and a sauna. Wonderful to sit in the outdoor bath looking out at the mountains as night falls. It's a traditional japanese shared bath, so review etiquette if you're not familiar with japanese bathing. No tattoos allowed. The bath is the hotel highlight for me. Good price for the hotel, too.

Helpful?
2 Thank CadboroBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
258 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The single room was small, but what I expected. Everything was clean and functional, with a good selection of toiletries in the bathroom. The wi-fi worked well.

The staff were very helpful and most spoke good English. They gave me printed information using the Japanese bath on the top floor, which was very helpful. The bath itself was just wonderful after 14 hours of travelling.

The location is great, just 5 minutes from Kyoto station. I had looked at Google maps streetview to check out the route beforehand, and I had no problems finding the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very comfortable hotel.

Staff is very polite and helpful and their English level was good.

Hotel location is absolutely perfect : at 3 minutes walk from the railway station in a more calm place.

Size of rooms is the standard very small Japanese room. Very clean.

Very good Japanese bath at the top floor with very late opening (open until 1AM) and free.

I stayed 5-6 days and it was the perfect location and hotel to visit Kyoto and the region.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view if possible. That makes a big difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magix_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had a lot of trouble finding a hotel in Kyoto (book early!), but everything worked out in the end because this hotel was a fine place to stay. I spent four nights in April. The hotel was a 5-minute walk from Kyoto train stn, which meant easy access to trains, buses and the subway. It was on a quiet-ish side-street, so I didn't experience any noise from traffic or trains. My Western-style room was definitely small (or 'compact'), but quite manageable if you're just there to sleep and shower. Also, free wi-fi. There were Japanese-style baths available, which were pretty basic compared to others I encountered. The restaurant had a good selection for supper, and a buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaykay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel was clean and a short 5 min walk from Kyoto station. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was a Japanese semi-double and so the size is quite small, but at this price this hotel was a very nice one. Short walk from the hotel you will reach the train station and also the bus terminal, so it was very easy to get around Kyoto town, and surrounding area either by train or by bus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
#189 of 363 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
#125 of 363 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#47 of 363 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Property: APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Address: 1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8236, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori 3*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing