We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Ranked #204 of 349 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
New Zealand
Level Contributor
253 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The single room was small, but what I expected. Everything was clean and functional, with a good selection of toiletries in the bathroom. The wi-fi worked well.

The staff were very helpful and most spoke good English. They gave me printed information using the Japanese bath on the top floor, which was very helpful. The bath itself was just wonderful after 14 hours of travelling.

The location is great, just 5 minutes from Kyoto station. I had looked at Google maps streetview to check out the route beforehand, and I had no problems finding the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    279
    194
    73
    30
See reviews for
62
180
145
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very comfortable hotel.

Staff is very polite and helpful and their English level was good.

Hotel location is absolutely perfect : at 3 minutes walk from the railway station in a more calm place.

Size of rooms is the standard very small Japanese room. Very clean.

Very good Japanese bath at the top floor with very late opening (open until 1AM) and free.

I stayed 5-6 days and it was the perfect location and hotel to visit Kyoto and the region.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view if possible. That makes a big difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magix_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had a lot of trouble finding a hotel in Kyoto (book early!), but everything worked out in the end because this hotel was a fine place to stay. I spent four nights in April. The hotel was a 5-minute walk from Kyoto train stn, which meant easy access to trains, buses and the subway. It was on a quiet-ish side-street, so I didn't experience any noise from traffic or trains. My Western-style room was definitely small (or 'compact'), but quite manageable if you're just there to sleep and shower. Also, free wi-fi. There were Japanese-style baths available, which were pretty basic compared to others I encountered. The restaurant had a good selection for supper, and a buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaykay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel was clean and a short 5 min walk from Kyoto station. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was a Japanese semi-double and so the size is quite small, but at this price this hotel was a very nice one. Short walk from the hotel you will reach the train station and also the bus terminal, so it was very easy to get around Kyoto town, and surrounding area either by train or by bus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Close to Kyoto Station Complex and therefore near the heart of town this is a well placed hotel for a short stay in Kyoto. Benefiting from a large taxi rank across the road it was convenient for the trips we made to the 'Golden' Temple and to the Goin district which are the two 'musts' we would recommend in Kyoto.
The Hotel is clean modern and comfortable . We didn't use the restaurant although it looks quite upper market from the outside. The Room was a small single for double occupancy typical of the std Japanese Hotel type. Nothing to write home about but no complaints either.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a very decent, clean and comfortable hotel a short suitcase pull from Kyoto's huge railway station, although slightly tucked away. The restaurant looked fine, but we did not try it.

The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was a standard Japanese semi-double and so the size you would expect for the money. It had a fridge and the air conditioning was effective - these were the most important things as we visited in August. the rooftop spa was a great feature.

The onsen (spa) on the roof is a very pleasant feature. Part of it is indoors and part is open air. Remember to have a good wash and rinse before getting into one of the pools. There are a couple of things you could usefully know that we found out in the traditional manner (the hard way). One is that it has two distinct sides segregated on gender lines - we kind of assumed that we would go into separate changing rooms and meet up in the middle. Maybe that is the Japanese catering for western visitors' sensibilities or maybe their love of peace and quiet. The other thing is that when the girl on reception said "all you need is a 100Y coin and your yukata" (the latter is provided in the room) we should have taken it absolutely literally. I went into the changing room, kicked of my flip flops, changed into my voluminous blue patterned swimming shorts and slipped on my yukata hoping to merge seamlessly into the onsen as if I had been to one before. Even without my glasses on, I realised my mistake immediately. I felt like Mr Bean on Holiday. The purpose of the yukata is for getting from your room to the onsen changing room, the coin is for the locker to put the yukata in along with your room key-card, swimming shorts do not figure in the process at all. There were a few of the small towels in use, but these would only cover your modesty if you were modest about your head as they really are folded up and balanced there like it says in the books. It was quite funny, and did not stop me going back the next evening - the hot water takes away the aches of walking about all day.

Practical tips - there are three APA Hotels in Kyoto and none of them is that far from the station, and this is the little one. Kyoto station has two very distinct sides (not the To-Ji side, you want the side facing towards the Kyoto Tower and turn left, go under the overhanging part of teh station and carry on) so you need to get your navigation right and if you ask directions stress the "Horikawadori" which is the name of the main road that runs behind the hotel. There is, however, a very nice shopping mall across from the other side where you can find groceries and drinks.

Suggested day out of Kyoto - get a train to Nara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 893philb893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Good location ,it's 8min walk to Kyoto station.but the room is so small ,no adaptor for couple day. Japanese bathroom on top floor .its good for 1-day stay with small luggage .Limited English ..Japanese restaurant on ground floor .parking machine with $15000yen (unlimited in &out) for a night .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoKonG1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
#205 of 349 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#50 of 349 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
City Center
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
#112 of 349 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
City Center
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Property: APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Address: 1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8236, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 349 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori 3*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing