We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel near Kyoto station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Ranked #247 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good hotel near Kyoto station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a very decent, clean and comfortable hotel a short suitcase pull from Kyoto's huge railway station, although slightly tucked away. The restaurant looked fine, but we did not try it.

The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was a standard Japanese semi-double and so the size you would expect for the money. It had a fridge and the air conditioning was effective - these were the most important things as we visited in August. the rooftop spa was a great feature.

The onsen (spa) on the roof is a very pleasant feature. Part of it is indoors and part is open air. Remember to have a good wash and rinse before getting into one of the pools. There are a couple of things you could usefully know that we found out in the traditional manner (the hard way). One is that it has two distinct sides segregated on gender lines - we kind of assumed that we would go into separate changing rooms and meet up in the middle. Maybe that is the Japanese catering for western visitors' sensibilities or maybe their love of peace and quiet. The other thing is that when the girl on reception said "all you need is a 100Y coin and your yukata" (the latter is provided in the room) we should have taken it absolutely literally. I went into the changing room, kicked of my flip flops, changed into my voluminous blue patterned swimming shorts and slipped on my yukata hoping to merge seamlessly into the onsen as if I had been to one before. Even without my glasses on, I realised my mistake immediately. I felt like Mr Bean on Holiday. The purpose of the yukata is for getting from your room to the onsen changing room, the coin is for the locker to put the yukata in along with your room key-card, swimming shorts do not figure in the process at all. There were a few of the small towels in use, but these would only cover your modesty if you were modest about your head as they really are folded up and balanced there like it says in the books. It was quite funny, and did not stop me going back the next evening - the hot water takes away the aches of walking about all day.

Practical tips - there are three APA Hotels in Kyoto and none of them is that far from the station, and this is the little one. Kyoto station has two very distinct sides (not the To-Ji side, you want the side facing towards the Kyoto Tower and turn left, go under the overhanging part of teh station and carry on) so you need to get your navigation right and if you ask directions stress the "Horikawadori" which is the name of the main road that runs behind the hotel. There is, however, a very nice shopping mall across from the other side where you can find groceries and drinks.

Suggested day out of Kyoto - get a train to Nara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 893philb893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    314
    222
    84
    42
See reviews for
69
220
159
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Good location ,it's 8min walk to Kyoto station.but the room is so small ,no adaptor for couple day. Japanese bathroom on top floor .its good for 1-day stay with small luggage .Limited English ..Japanese restaurant on ground floor .parking machine with $15000yen (unlimited in &out) for a night .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoKonG1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The location of the hotel is near and round the corner of the Kyoto railway station. It comes with basic facilities is similar to other cities hotel (which mean nothing like what you expected as a Japanese style room). The room is small and so is the toilet. However, the room does come with television but not safe deposit box (if you need either of this or both). The room does have a fridge for use. There is no specific cupboard, however it does has a space for hanging clothing. The hotel does have an elevator. It also allows free storage of your luggage. It has a quiet environment for a good night rest. The Main Railway Station is about 10-mins walking distance and also there are a few stores before reaching the hotel. The hotel lobby and room come with free wifi. The spa or public bath area is bigger than its sister hotel in Osaka. It has an indoor and outdoor pool. The hotel also has lesser floor then its sister hotel in Osaka which translate to lesser people using the public bath area.

Room Tip: Try to get the bigger room then selecting the smaller room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

On 4/1/2013 I stayed at this property and was delighted. Check in was prompt, even though there was a line of several people wanting to check in. It was cherry blossom season and the weather was fine, so there were many people wanting to check in and enjoy the great weather. I gave this property a 3 rating for a few reasons. First, though the rooms in Japan generally are rather small anywhere you go compared to European/Western standards, the room I was assigned on the 7th floor seemed painstakingly small, or smaller than normal. I also noticed that the duvet or top quilts seemed rather, well to put it bluntly, out dated. Also, the bed was, to put it politely, solid (hard). I do not mean this as a "complaint" per se because most Japanese sleep on the floor (also solid) on futon and tatami mats. The "bed" was more like a boxspring rather than a mattress. I am comparing my experience to other chain hotels in Japan, so I may be a bit bias however I am writing this review without viewing others before me. I did not experience the breakfast.
Good points; good water pressure, good check in, and the hotel stored my bags for me after I checked out. This was kind and thoughtful and I appreciated not having to carry my things everywhere on my last day. So, three stars.

Room Tip: Shop around. Cheap tickets, Expedia, Booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harmonyeternal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
152 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

On our first attempt at trying to find the hotel it took us a little longer, however once we mastered the route it is so close to the train station. As we were exploring kyoto and the surrounding area everyday this was very handy. The rooms are quite small, this is normal for Japanese hotels. So moving round your room with all your stuff was a little bit tricky. Check in was quick and staff seemed helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shreevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel has a great location - 5 min walk from Kyoto station. I stayed there 4 times during my trips, always booking a room with breakfast option. At 70,000 yen per night, not bad at all. The room is small, typical for a business hotel. Window opens. There is a coin operated washer and dryer in the changing room of the communal bath on the top floor. Toiletries include shampoo, conditioner, soap, disposable razor, disposable toothbrush with toothpaste, and hair brush. Slippers are provided with disposable paper inserts. Iron is available upon request. Yukata is also provided. The breakfast is buffet style, with plenty Japanese and Western selections. Staff communicates in English well. The best for me is the big bath on the top floor. There is a large hot bath indoors, a sauna, cold bath, and a smaller hot bath outdoors. Wonderful and empty at 6 a.m., busier in the evenings but I never had an instance where it was too crowded. I always pick this hotel because of the hot bath, and I am always absolutely satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Reasonably-priced. Room is small like most Jap hotel but sufficient and clean. Good public hot bath area, with outdoor bath. Good room service. Good to stay for business trip sleepover, do not expect more than that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
#187 of 363 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
#122 of 363 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#47 of 363 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Property: APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Address: 1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8236, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori 3*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing