We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Station, on the small side...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Ranked #300 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Close to the Station, on the small side...”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

On 4/1/2013 I stayed at this property and was delighted. Check in was prompt, even though there was a line of several people wanting to check in. It was cherry blossom season and the weather was fine, so there were many people wanting to check in and enjoy the great weather. I gave this property a 3 rating for a few reasons. First, though the rooms in Japan generally are rather small anywhere you go compared to European/Western standards, the room I was assigned on the 7th floor seemed painstakingly small, or smaller than normal. I also noticed that the duvet or top quilts seemed rather, well to put it bluntly, out dated. Also, the bed was, to put it politely, solid (hard). I do not mean this as a "complaint" per se because most Japanese sleep on the floor (also solid) on futon and tatami mats. The "bed" was more like a boxspring rather than a mattress. I am comparing my experience to other chain hotels in Japan, so I may be a bit bias however I am writing this review without viewing others before me. I did not experience the breakfast.
Good points; good water pressure, good check in, and the hotel stored my bags for me after I checked out. This was kind and thoughtful and I appreciated not having to carry my things everywhere on my last day. So, three stars.

Room Tip: Shop around. Cheap tickets, Expedia, Booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harmonyeternal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    327
    246
    93
    51
See reviews for
81
240
170
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

On our first attempt at trying to find the hotel it took us a little longer, however once we mastered the route it is so close to the train station. As we were exploring kyoto and the surrounding area everyday this was very handy. The rooms are quite small, this is normal for Japanese hotels. So moving round your room with all your stuff was a little bit tricky. Check in was quick and staff seemed helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shreevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel has a great location - 5 min walk from Kyoto station. I stayed there 4 times during my trips, always booking a room with breakfast option. At 70,000 yen per night, not bad at all. The room is small, typical for a business hotel. Window opens. There is a coin operated washer and dryer in the changing room of the communal bath on the top floor. Toiletries include shampoo, conditioner, soap, disposable razor, disposable toothbrush with toothpaste, and hair brush. Slippers are provided with disposable paper inserts. Iron is available upon request. Yukata is also provided. The breakfast is buffet style, with plenty Japanese and Western selections. Staff communicates in English well. The best for me is the big bath on the top floor. There is a large hot bath indoors, a sauna, cold bath, and a smaller hot bath outdoors. Wonderful and empty at 6 a.m., busier in the evenings but I never had an instance where it was too crowded. I always pick this hotel because of the hot bath, and I am always absolutely satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Reasonably-priced. Room is small like most Jap hotel but sufficient and clean. Good public hot bath area, with outdoor bath. Good room service. Good to stay for business trip sleepover, do not expect more than that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've been in this hotel in August. This hotel was very nice and I've been there two times. I've to say that the first time the room was quite good, while the second time it was small and a little claustrophobic. Just nearby there is the Station (around the corner) and Tourist Information Office and the Kyoto Tower which was a good landmark to spot my hotel from far. The hotel itself was nice, clean and the personnel very kind. I loved the breakfasts there! If I'd come back to Kyoto, I'd take it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franz_Zena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Accessible with an approximately 8 mins walk to Kyoto station. Equipped with an open air bath in the rooftop, it provides real comfort after a day of shopping and even shrine visits, although I must mention the onsen is pretty small and old. Breakfast spread skew more towards the the local preference, mackerels, tofu, miso, etc. Great service from the receptionist!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Pros
------
10 minute walk from Kyoto Station
Good rates
Free wired internet

Cons
-------
Small rooms
Internet connection a bit come-and-go
Small Lobby
As the rooms were small, maids have to leave linens, towels etc in the corridors. Not a nice thing to see
Room with a view to another room, 5 meters away

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank megatim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
#316 of 369 in Kyoto
108 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#98 of 369 in Kyoto
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
#139 of 369 in Kyoto
305 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#48 of 369 in Kyoto
631 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Property: APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Address: 1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8236, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori 3*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing