We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A good hotel next the station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Ranked #189 of 347 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A good hotel next the station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've been in this hotel in August. This hotel was very nice and I've been there two times. I've to say that the first time the room was quite good, while the second time it was small and a little claustrophobic. Just nearby there is the Station (around the corner) and Tourist Information Office and the Kyoto Tower which was a good landmark to spot my hotel from far. The hotel itself was nice, clean and the personnel very kind. I loved the breakfasts there! If I'd come back to Kyoto, I'd take it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franz_Zena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    276
    189
    71
    29
See reviews for
62
176
143
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Accessible with an approximately 8 mins walk to Kyoto station. Equipped with an open air bath in the rooftop, it provides real comfort after a day of shopping and even shrine visits, although I must mention the onsen is pretty small and old. Breakfast spread skew more towards the the local preference, mackerels, tofu, miso, etc. Great service from the receptionist!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Pros
------
10 minute walk from Kyoto Station
Good rates
Free wired internet

Cons
-------
Small rooms
Internet connection a bit come-and-go
Small Lobby
As the rooms were small, maids have to leave linens, towels etc in the corridors. Not a nice thing to see
Room with a view to another room, 5 meters away

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank megatim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My room is super small. No wardrobe. Can not say it's comfortable. But it's very closed to Kyoto station. Within 10 minutes by walk. For the first time visitor like me, it's OK because it's very cheap comparing with other hotels in Kyoto. 我的房間非常小。沒有衣櫃。不算舒適。但它很靠近京都車站。10分鐘內的步行路程。像我這樣第一次到京都的遊客,這是可接受的,因為與其他位於京都的酒店比較,它的房價非常便宜。

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElegantDecadent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by a Japanese travel agent for our 4 day stay in Kyoto, and were at first disappointed - the ambiance of the entrance was an apparently "shady" back street ally with those suspicious characters you see in dark Japanese movies (something we did not experience much of in our otherwise typically clean, safe, efficient tour of Japan that most tourists see), and it seemed to be of lower grade that the other APA hotel you have to pass to get to it from the train station. However, by the end we were won over. Yes it is a "Japanese style" hotel with small (but clean and of course efficient) rooms, and does not cater to foreign tourists so English is limited. But it had the best breakfast buffet (Japanese) of the 7 hotels we stayed at in Japan, and the Onsen on the top floor was terrific with indoor/outdoor and cold pools. As room rate was part of blended package I cannot comment on the value side, but for those looking for an authentic middle range Japanese style hotel, this is highly recommended. Location is good for those traveling in Japan by train.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saterik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked this hotel after deciding to take location and cost over other issues. In the end, I got what I bargained for, but suffered the consequences after disregarding warning by fellow travelers about the puny rooms.

Finding the hotel was not that hard. Just walk from the train station to Bic Camera (that huge electronics and household appliance stores) and keep going in the same direction until you hit the end of the road – you’ll come across the other APA hotel along the way, but ignore it and keep going. When the road turns, follow the path north (you’ll see a small noodle shop along the way) until you see handicap path next to some steps leading up. Go up the steps, turn a corner, and you’ll see another set of handicap path + steps leading down (this area looks like public outdoor place behind a huge office building). By the time you get to ground level once again, the back entrance of the hotel right in front of you.

The room I stayed in was clean (white bed sheet is a good sign), and it had all the amenities you expected. The public bath on the top floor has a steam room, indoor bath, and outdoor bath. Just remember to bring a 100-yen coin as a deposit for your locker and your room card (which could be stored in the waterproof bag attached to the locker key). My best experience during my stay was soaking in the outdoor hot bath, enjoying the light drizzle on my face and cold air.

Yet, there’s one thing that became the deal breaker: the SIZE of the room. I've stayed in small rooms in Tokyo hotels, but it’s hard to imagine rooms smaller than THAT! We only have two luggage, and there wasn't enough room to set them out without blocking the door! It’s not hard to imagine the fun time we had trying to reorganize our belongings in such a cramped room on the night before we left…

As for the bathroom… well, it definitely sets a new record for fitting a bathtub, toilet, and sink in a space where I can almost touch the two opposite walls with my arms extended.

The Good:

- Price

- Location (for souvenirs, electronics, and food)

- Huge Public Bath (especially the outdoor one on a cold winter night)

- Clean


The Bad:

- Room Size

- and Room Size

- and Room Size....

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RCL_TPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I recently visited Kyoto for the IDF-WPR Medical congress. Kyoto, Japan is a beautiful city with many sights to see and places to visit. Their small hole-in-wall restaurants are surprisingly cheap and serve good food. But this review is about the hotel we stayed at. It was assigned by the congress organizers and was not really the choice of our company sponsors. They shouldn't have been included in the list of choices. Don't get me wrong. There are nice things to say about the hotel. Their amenities (shampoo, body wash, etc) are top-of-the -line name brands. Their toilet has a remote control bidet and shower whose volume of water flow can be controlled. The toilet seat is heated (like most in Japan); they have a hair dryer; aircon and heater because it can get really cold. All nice so far isn't it? But I am not a very tall nor big person but I found the hotel room very small and cramped. I had a travel companion who is a tall lady who said that whenever she would pee, the toilet door needed to be open because her legs wouldn't fit. You open the door from the corridor and voila- take 3 steps and there's the bed. The gap between the bed and the dressing/office table is maybe one foot- not 12 inches but one foot or one shoe... and I am a size 6.5. And there is an internet by LAN but no wifi in the room.

But Kyoto is really extraordinary so if you are looking for a place to just sleep in then this is the place for you. If you want to reach all your gadgets from the bed- phone, iPad, alarm- and your glasses with just one stretch of your hand, then you will enjoy this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecile J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
#200 of 347 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#52 of 347 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#71 of 347 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
City Center
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Property: APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Address: 1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8236, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 347 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori 3*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing