We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Good Price, but No Good if You Need Space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Ranked #311 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Price, but No Good if You Need Space”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked this hotel after deciding to take location and cost over other issues. In the end, I got what I bargained for, but suffered the consequences after disregarding warning by fellow travelers about the puny rooms.

Finding the hotel was not that hard. Just walk from the train station to Bic Camera (that huge electronics and household appliance stores) and keep going in the same direction until you hit the end of the road – you’ll come across the other APA hotel along the way, but ignore it and keep going. When the road turns, follow the path north (you’ll see a small noodle shop along the way) until you see handicap path next to some steps leading up. Go up the steps, turn a corner, and you’ll see another set of handicap path + steps leading down (this area looks like public outdoor place behind a huge office building). By the time you get to ground level once again, the back entrance of the hotel right in front of you.

The room I stayed in was clean (white bed sheet is a good sign), and it had all the amenities you expected. The public bath on the top floor has a steam room, indoor bath, and outdoor bath. Just remember to bring a 100-yen coin as a deposit for your locker and your room card (which could be stored in the waterproof bag attached to the locker key). My best experience during my stay was soaking in the outdoor hot bath, enjoying the light drizzle on my face and cold air.

Yet, there’s one thing that became the deal breaker: the SIZE of the room. I've stayed in small rooms in Tokyo hotels, but it’s hard to imagine rooms smaller than THAT! We only have two luggage, and there wasn't enough room to set them out without blocking the door! It’s not hard to imagine the fun time we had trying to reorganize our belongings in such a cramped room on the night before we left…

As for the bathroom… well, it definitely sets a new record for fitting a bathtub, toilet, and sink in a space where I can almost touch the two opposite walls with my arms extended.

The Good:

- Price

- Location (for souvenirs, electronics, and food)

- Huge Public Bath (especially the outdoor one on a cold winter night)

- Clean


The Bad:

- Room Size

- and Room Size

- and Room Size....

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RCL_TPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    316
    228
    89
    49
See reviews for
72
230
163
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I recently visited Kyoto for the IDF-WPR Medical congress. Kyoto, Japan is a beautiful city with many sights to see and places to visit. Their small hole-in-wall restaurants are surprisingly cheap and serve good food. But this review is about the hotel we stayed at. It was assigned by the congress organizers and was not really the choice of our company sponsors. They shouldn't have been included in the list of choices. Don't get me wrong. There are nice things to say about the hotel. Their amenities (shampoo, body wash, etc) are top-of-the -line name brands. Their toilet has a remote control bidet and shower whose volume of water flow can be controlled. The toilet seat is heated (like most in Japan); they have a hair dryer; aircon and heater because it can get really cold. All nice so far isn't it? But I am not a very tall nor big person but I found the hotel room very small and cramped. I had a travel companion who is a tall lady who said that whenever she would pee, the toilet door needed to be open because her legs wouldn't fit. You open the door from the corridor and voila- take 3 steps and there's the bed. The gap between the bed and the dressing/office table is maybe one foot- not 12 inches but one foot or one shoe... and I am a size 6.5. And there is an internet by LAN but no wifi in the room.

But Kyoto is really extraordinary so if you are looking for a place to just sleep in then this is the place for you. If you want to reach all your gadgets from the bed- phone, iPad, alarm- and your glasses with just one stretch of your hand, then you will enjoy this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecile J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed there in March with my friend for a Sakura holiday in Kyoto. It is my second time there and I think we made a great choice staying in this hotel! First of all, things in Japan is expensive enough so a good budget hotel is essential. We stayed in a semi-double room with 2 medium sized suitcase. It was tight and we had to skip over our suitcases to get into the room. I guess it is average size for Japanese hotel and it was ok for 2 tiny Asian gals. The room was spotless and had all the essential things including hair drier, mini fridge etc. The best thing abt the hotel is the public bath (onsen) on the top floor!!!! We went there everynight after the long day and relaxed there. We did not use the tiny ensuite bathroom for shower at all. They have many pools with different temperature and a outdoor bath. Also stream room and sauna. It was free of charge for guests and we fully enjoyed it!!! ( for those not familiar with jap culture, it is actually for bathing so u need to take a shower there first before entering the onsen and absolutely no swimsuit allowed) Another good thing about this hotel was the location. It was 5 min walk from Kyoto station and the main bus stop so getting around was not a problem. We had a blast at the underground shopping mall just beneath Kyoto station and the ramen street there was also great!!!

All in all, I think it is a very good budget hotel in Kyoto for holiday or business, but you need to pack light.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeleeburu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Pretty popular business hotel near the Kyoto station.
Getting there - come out of the Kyoto station north exit. You will have the Tall structure of Kyoto Tower facing you. Right in front of you, you will see the bus stand. Look to your left - you will see the Kyoto post building, a Lawson and cafe veloce. Turn by veloce and walk a good 10 minutes. You will then reach a junction, which is the horikawa dori jn. Take a left here - the hotel is just 5 steps from here. 

The room at Apa - in typical Japanese fashion , the rooms are small and compact, maybe the attached bath was a little cramped. The table was a bit narrow and cluttered, so if you are u are unpacking a bit, make sure you check everything before u check out. 

I had forgotten my file with a JR pass when I checked out.. And came back to the hotel only at night to enquire. The staff did their checks and it was given to me the next morning. 

Tip on arriving at Kyoto station - if you are arriving from Tokyo on a JR pass, you wd come via the Hikari Shinkansen. The Shinkansen terminal is on the south part of he station. You have to take the pedestrian walkway on the 2nd fl and cross over to the north exit. 
If you arrive after 8 pm at Kyoto station, a good idea is to eat at the Cube or at Eat Paradise on the 10th/11th fl and then get out of the station. Also Remember - the Kyoto tourist information counter closes at 1900 hrs. 

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv_Gopinath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithgow, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Dont expect flashiness here. Don't expect a soft bed either. If the only thing I can say as constructive feedback, would be the beds. The beds are very very hard and not comfortable at all. My husband and I had very sore backs from sleeping there. Other than that, the rooms are clean. Facilities are good. The restaurant downstairs is very good too. One thing to know which is handy, the washing machine and dryer are located on the top floor actually in the dressing rooms of the single sex spas. You need your room card to access them.

Room Tip: Club floor has bigger rooms and I suspect softer beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daschmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights with five others, all in standard twin rooms. The hotel itself is located about a 3-5 minute walk from Kyoto Station. As we had arrived earlier via the Shinkansen, this location was of great convenience to us. Check-in was friendly and efficient, and most of the staff at the front desk could speak English. The lobby had an unappealing smokey smell, which I assume was from the restaurant.

Our rooms were very small, there was little room for two large suitcases. Having said this the rooms were very clean, and provided a good level of features for a three star hotel. The best aspect was the free in-room internet, something that I would not expect of a 3 star hotel. There were no English-language TV channels, however. Another positive is that there are a vast array of restaurants and shops in the area, being in close proximity to a new Aeon Mall as well as the Kyoto Station (which has a number of great eating places).

We had a slight issue with asking for directions at the front counter, it seems as if staff don't have a good knowledge of the local area. We asked if there was a laundromat nearby, and were instead told about the hotel's laundry services, which are very expensive. We gave up asking in the end and walked about 20 minutes to a coin-operated laundry facility (searched on Google).

If you are looking for a cheap and clean hotel near Kyoto station for a short stay, and don't mind the extra small rooms, then I would recommend this hotel. If you are after something a little more confortable, there are a number of other more up-market hotels surrounding the station.

TIP: If you are lost and can't find the hotel, ask for directions at a JR Information Desk within Kyoto station, they have very friendly staff who can speak English.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam_1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days as part of a roundtrip through Japan. The hotel might not be so easy to find as it is anonymously located in a small side street and the anterior almost looks like an office building. Luckily I got some great walking directions from a friendly taxi driver along the way, so here are some more detailed directions: exit from Kyoto station west gate; walk towards post office; across the street you’ll see Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto; keep walking straight ahead on the left side of the street (you’ll pass Caffe Veloce); walk straight ahead for about 4-5 min. until you see the big grey Omron building on your left hand; you’ll find the hotel in the first following side street.
I checked in really late at 11.45 pm, but the reception desk was still fully manned and the staff was very polite. I was offered a single room on the 7th floor. The room was very basic and extremely small (even for Japanese standards- I stayed in other single rooms in Osaka and near Kansai airport which were quite a bit larger). The room was exceptionally clean though. Unfortunately the bed was really hard; at times I wondered if it would’ve just been comfier to sleep on the floor. The bathroom was also really small, but had a nice Japanese toilet with automatic seat warmer and built in bidet, as well as a tiny bathtub- probably not doable for someone over 5.7- and extra toiletries (big bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body wash razor, comb etc.). There was no safe, so you were advised to store any valuables with at the reception desk, which became a bit tedious after a while. Breakfast was included and there was a lot of variety every day (delicious sausages, nuggets, noodles, meatballs as well as the standard continental and Asian breakfast items).
The location was amazing. There are several 7-elevens, restaurants and cafés (for instance Caffe Veloce which is open 24-7) within walking distance, not to mention the Aeon mall, where you’ll find the large Kohyo supermarket, all kinds of clothing stores (Tommy Hilfiger, the GAP etc.) as well as several restaurants, a foodcourt and a cinema amongst others. In addition the hotel is located within a 15 min. walking distance of the Kyoto aquarium, temple Toji and Nishi-Honganji temple.
The English comprehension of the reception staff is not extremely good, but when I spoke slowly, they understood most requests. There’s wifi in the lobby (which worked when I was staying there) and there’s wired internet in the rooms (which I couldn’t get to work). All in all, this hotel has a lot of nice qualities, but in the end I would prefer the Kyoto tower hotel, where I stayed at the end of my roundtrip, just because it was closer to the station and the bed was a lot comfier.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
APA Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
#255 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Smile Hotel Kyoto Shijo
#127 of 366 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#48 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
City Center
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Property: APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Address: 1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8236, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori 3*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing