We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and very good location!”
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Welcoming Entrance Way to Gion-Kyuraku Beautiful Garden at Gion-Kyuraku (Designed by Tomoatsu Sano, Photo by Kodai Masuda)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Living Room
Welcoming Entrance Way to Gion-Kyuraku
Beautiful Garden at Gion-Kyuraku (Designed by Tomoatsu Sano, Photo by Kodai Masuda)
Wood curved sign at entrance
Beautiful illuminated garden at Gion-Kyuraku
Front Entrance
Display area in living room - 1st floor
Living Room looking from the garden
Antique light-fixture in Living Room
Living room looking into the garden
Kitchen - 1st floor
Antique light-fixture in dining area
Dining Room - 1st floor
Antique shoe box
Looking into the garden from the living room
2nd floor hallway with handmade rail
Balcony
Main Bedroom - 2nd floor
Fusuma Design
Sitting area in main bedroom with cathedral ceiling
Sitting area in main bedroom - 2nd floor
2nd Bedroom - 2nd floor
Beautiful weaved wooden ceiling - 2nd bedroom on the 2nd floor
Bathroom facing the garden
View from bathroom at night
Handmade Shigaraki Ware Sink
Working desk in the den - 1st floor
Den - 1st floor
Den can be turned into the 3rd bedroom
Antique light-fixture at entrance hall
Balcony
Looking into the Tsuboniwa Garden from the Balcony.
Designed by Tomoatsu Sano, Garden Designer
Washer/Dryer
Eco-friendly Toilet
Exterior details on the 2nd floor
Fall foliage in Kyoto
One of the many temples in the area
Our Garden Designer was selected as one of the top 100 gardeners for the book published in 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
562virgin...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and very good location! ”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived the building was easy to find via Google maps. The bus stop is just steps away. It was beautiful, clean, and traditional. We only stayed one night but it was awesome. The tub and heated floors were a great touch. I also loved the little garden off of the living room. The next morning it was only a 15 minute walk to Kiyomizudera Temple. I highly recommend this property and will definitely stay there again when we go back to Kyoto!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Go640423
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, comfortable and central”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay in this beautiful and very central machiya. We were a short walk from many of the major sights, and Gion itself is beautiful for a walk day or night. We enjoyed relaxing in the living room and ebing able to prepare some of our own meals, and the machiya had the most comfortable beds we slept in during our entire holiday in Japan. We definitely recommend a stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2017
Thank you for the perfect 5-star review. It is all about location, and Gion Kyuraku has one of the best locations in Kyoto; the Gion district. Where Kyoto's historical sights meet modern day conveniences like Kyomizu temple and local grocery stores. Kyuraku does have some of the most comfortable futons (Japanese bedding) our guest tell us. Thank you once again for your insightful and informative review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bratzzz
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Machiya for a family dream vacation”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This machiya is absolutely the best place to stay. It's very close to a supermart, restaurants, temples and you can experience old Japan with all the modern amnenities in a small but fully equipped house - washing machine, iron, TV, vacuum cleaner, heater/aircond, fridge, stove, utensils, towels, soaps, detergents...basically, everything. The owners clearly paid a lot of attention into details, incl making beautiful tiny origamis as gifts. Thomas & Rieko were friendly & fast in responding to any concerns, check-in process is extremely smooth. Best of all, the machiya has 2 toilets and for a group of 6 adults, that is a blessing! The location is fantastic...probably a 5 min walking distance to Gion and 10mins to Kiyomizudera.
Cant recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hosts, the house
Liked least: the garbage collection schedule but only because we ate in a lot during our stay!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2016
Thank you for an absolutely amazing review of Gion Kyuraku. We like to think of Gion Kyuraku as a Japanese sized machiya which is large enough for six adults to live comfortably by Japanese standard. In addition to the long list of amnesties already mentioned. These is a Japanese deck on the second floor with outdoor patio furniture to enjoy your morning coffee and a Japanese garden (tsuboniwa) which is designed and maintained by one of Kyoto’s leading gardening families. Thank you for your recommendation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judejude
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Machiya and wonderful host.”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 4 nights with my wife and 2 young children aged 7 and 9 years.
The place was exactly as specified. It was a lovely Machiya in Gion. Very comfortable and beautiful.
Firstly the biggest plus for this place is the host Reiko. I cannot speak highly enough about her. She responded promptly to every email. We asked for restaurant recommendations and she booked us restaurants. She sent us English and Japanese versions of the directions to tell taxi drivers. She booked taxis for us..
Most hosts just give you the keys and don't get too involved.
The only negative about the place is the location of being on a small side street off a one way street. Every taxi we took had trouble finding the place, even with directions written in Japanese provided by Reiko. Luckily my wife has a good sense of direction or we'd be lost each time. Otherwise the location was good , close to the heart of Gion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host
Liked least: Hard to find street.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful comments and complements of Rieko?s concierge skills. It is our hope that we can customize each visitors stay at Gion Kyuraku. It is the little things that make ones stay truly memorable. As you may have hear though main stream media Kyoto City, Japan is having a record breaking numbers of foreign tourist which has caused a shortage of skilled labor in the tourist industry in every corner including taxi drivers that deeply knowledgeable about this historic city roads. Again, thank you for your comments and insight.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosaka
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Family of 5 - very comfortable and wonderful location”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this beautiful machine for several nights with our extended family group of 5. We were very comfortable and had all the comforts of home. The property is in Gion with lot's of nearby restaurants, a market a few steps away, and subway stations within a 15 - 20 minute walk. My daughter and I took an "unplanned" walk up Matsubara-dori and found ourselves at Kiyomizudera at sunset - totally by accident. If you have a chance to do the same - it's a wonderful view of Kyoto - truly magical. The property has relatively steep stairs to get to the sleeping areas on the second floor. An office downstairs converts to sleep 2 with it's own toilet. With only 1 bath, this relieves some of the pressure on sharing the space. With a kitchen, washer/dryer and all we were able to relax and eat in or out as well as do our laundry to prep for the next leg of our trip. Our only inconvenience was that the wifi in the unit can be a little flaky. We figured out that for some reason a reboot was required to get a reliable connection. Not sure what's going on (and we did not complain/notify the owners as it mostly worked). Note that the area is a little hilly and might be a challenge for those with mobility issues (and there are those stairs) Thomas and Reiko are great and very helpful. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, range of features, neighborhood
Liked least: Flaky wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful recommendation. As stated, Gion Kyuraku is in a convenient location in Gion, Kyoto, within walking distance of several world heritage sites, like Kiyomizu Temple, Kodaiji Temple etc... As for the stairs, please keep in mind that Gion Kyuraku is a century old licenced kyo-machiya; however, the stairs are not steep for its age. During the restoration, the decision was made to add a full modern bath with shower along with two western toilets which is a significant upgrade compared to what existed before the restoration. In addition, there is a high speed Internet connection with Wi-Fi, along with several CAT5 outlets, and a Mac Air notebook computer for our guests use. The Wi-Fi is dependent on what devices are attached to it, along with the devices ability to hook up to 802.11ac or 802.11n on a 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz band. Most modern devices with licensed software and apps will connect without difficulty. Lastly, the designers have blended the modern amenities that our world class travelers demand, for example air-conditioning and heating throughout along with the traditional elements of a kyo-machiya, like the tsuboniwa (private Japanese garden). Once again, thank you for your recommendation, and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Machiya in handy location.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of five adults rented the Machiya during the Gion Matsuri. We were able to walk to the festival and to various temples. The house was very clean and comfortable and is in a quiet street with a supermarket nearby. Thomas and Reiko were a pleasure to deal with. They left us maps with highlighted details and called to check that we had settled in and were able to connect to the Wifi. We would definitely return and recommend the Machiya to our friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2014
Thank you for your great comments regarding your stay at Gion Kyuraku. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy the Gion Festival, and that Gion Kyuraku was comfortable for your family of five adults. Lastly, thank you once again for a wonderful review and recommending Gion Kyuraku to your friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizglass...
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5 stars in every sense”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, My husband, sister and brother-in-law stayed in this machiya for four nights at the end of March. We absolutely loved everything about the machiya..... its location, authenticity, cleanliness, tatami rooms and lovely comfortable futons! We would definitely recommend it to family and friends and would love to go back one day. Thomas and Reiko were very helpful when it came to advice and restaurant bookings and the whole booking process was easy and efficient. We thought it was very good value for money, barely more than an average hotel, but such a memorable experience! One comment would be that I think that any more than 4 adults would be a bit squeezy especially as there is only one bathroom. (There is a separate loo though and also one off one of the bedrooms). It would be fine for more than four people if it was a family with kids. We really loved this place and it was great being able to wander along to the local supermarket to get provisions..... tho with all the wonderful restaurants in Kyoto we didn't eat in much!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2014
Gion-Kyuraku gets another great review! Thank you for your authentic review of your stay at Gion-Kyuraku. One important fact about Gion-Kyuraku is that it is licenced by the City of Kyoto; not all machiya rentals are able to claim this. Being licenced requires certain elements to be present, for example the layout of the machiya itself, two toilets, and passing all the safety regulations etc.. which Gion-Kyuraku has. Thank-you again for a wonderful authentic review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing