We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One block from the Kyoto incinerator!”
Review of Ryokan Yamazaki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ryokan Yamazaki
Ranked #96 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I have just read twenty five glowing reviews of this place, and no one has bothered to mention that it is located one block away from the largest municipal incinerator in Kyoto. Of course the public incinerator is called "The Clean Center." That means about 500-1000 garbage trucks zoom in and out all day long. If this does not bother you, great.

For my money there are much greener and more pleasant locations in Kyoto. Sorry to burst anyone's bubble.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ligger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 223 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2009

This Ryokan was situated away from the center of the city, it is located near Ryoanji, and Kinkakuji. The city bus was 30 mins, and runs about every half an hour. It seemed like it was run by little old ladies, and little old men, all very nice and friendly, limited english. They have a nice little restaurant located about 20 steps away from the sleeping building, and you can attach a meal or meals with your stay. They have coin laundry 20 steps away, outdoors from the main building. (just behind the restaurant) - and it looked like there was a public bath in the same building.

There is small but very pretty garden attached to the sleeping building. Internet laptop and printer are available for guest use, in addition to communal fridge, and kitchen area.
All rooms have an ac/heater installed on the wall, small 13 inch (?) tv, and hot water maker, tea cups and tea in your own room.

The rooms are fairly large, we booked for 2 rooms for 2 couples. It is traditional Japanese style, tatami rooms with futon on the floor, and buckwheat pillows. Shoji screens with small locks on them.

However, this is a traditional (old) Japanese house, so it's a bit cold, damp, and drafty. There are bugs. (cockroaches are very common in Japanese houses) We had quite a few dead ones, dusty, and not dusty from age, and a few live ones, big and small. The bathroom is not the cleanest - I think the seal on one of the toilets may be broken, because there is a definate odor of sewage - or maybe the drainage is just bad (my husband was shaving, and the drain grate on the floor started to bubble and spewed water up and made a huge puddle on the bathroom floor) The futons and blankets were not the cleanest - there were some crusty stains. The heater is small, so because of the size of the room, it was a while before the rooms was warm, we slept in our clothes and winter hats and gloves.

The price we paid was very cheap though, 4800 yen per person per night. But for our second night in Kyoto we decided to move on and stay in Osaka instead at a hotel - the shinkansen was only 15 mins (instead of a bus for 30 min). Would recommend if you have never stayed in a Japanese house before (it was like staying with my family that lives in Japan, who live in the country- except I was paying for the room), and want to stay in Kyoto on a budget, and aren't too picky about your surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yumi2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I suggest you not to go there as it is isolated and very far from the city, you have nothing around. the place is ok, but the only thing close are some temples.
if you want to enjoy the city and have a look at kyoto you have to take the bus for about one hour but the last bus in the evening is at around 9 pm so we had to have the dinner very quickly if we didn't want to miss the last bus and come back at the ryokan without taking a taxi which in japan are very expensive. nobody told us that this place was in the middle of nowhere!!! very disappointing!!!!
Ilaria

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

I liked my stay at Yamazaki. We were in the Annexe, without any other travellers, so it definitely was quiet. If it were busier, I am not sure how quiet it could have been as the walls were literally paper thin. I know that because our lock jammed and the owner broke into the room by smashing through a paper on the door.

The room was large and comfortable with a kettle and pot for tea. There was access to the internet with a printer at the entrance way.

Our only gripe was that it was a bit off the beaten path. There is a JR bus that travels closeby but the last one leaves Kyoto station at 9pm. Otherwise it is a 30-40mins walk from the closest JR subway station. It was a nice quiet residential area, though, and the prices were cheaper to reflect this.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

This was a lovely Ryokan. A little bit out of town and just in the foothills of NW Kyoto but hey, I was on holiday so I was in no rush. The couple who run the place were friendly and extremely helpful. The room I stayed in was ever so slightly tatty but I wasn't paying 4,200 yen for Buckingham Palace. The annexe was comfortable, with a stunning garden, and they have a public bath set up. The showers and toilets are coed but strangely enough the Japanese don't have such severe hang ups about bodies and bodily functions that we in the west do. Free laptop access to the internet any time of the day or night, with a printer attached. The dining room was predominantly used by Japanese, always a good sign, and both the city and JR buses regular as clockwork. Great location for access to Ninnaji, Ryooanji, Kinkakuji and Myoshinji. At Myoshinji's sub temple, Shoen In, they have mediation classes at 930, 1040 and 1330. On the road that leads from the south gate of Myoshinji is a very good class, genuine sumi-e shop (the pyjama like attire the priests wear to work in). I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and if I go back to Kyoto I will definitely stay at Yamazaki again

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brixtontrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Beautiful, bright rooms. Lovely staff. Quiet Location. Excellent Value.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejessup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

This ryokan has a lovely garden and their own restaurant that serves authentic Kyoto cuisine. The tatami rooms are clean and big enough for a family of four. We stayed in one which included private bath, toilet and a dressing area. The host is polite and is always ready to assist his guests. There is also ample parking in the compound for self-drive travellers.

Although this ryokan is situated 30mins by bus from Kyoto train station and major shopping centres but we like the quiet surroundings with privacy. It is also close to some of the famous temples and the scenic Arashiyama region. I highly recommend a visit to this attraction. It looks absolutely beautiful in autumn.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tulip-cher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Village Kyoto
Village Kyoto
#79 of 407 in Kyoto
325 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Hotel
Kyoto Garden Hotel
#188 of 407 in Kyoto
223 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#100 of 407 in Kyoto
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Shizuya Kyoto
Shizuya Kyoto
#197 of 407 in Kyoto
12 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Yadoya Hiraiwa
Yadoya Hiraiwa
#208 of 407 in Kyoto
61 reviews
City Center
Hotel Sugicho
Hotel Sugicho
#137 of 407 in Kyoto
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Yamazaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Yamazaki

Address: 11 Umegahata Takahanacho, Ukyo-ku, Kyoto 616-8261, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Northern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $58 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Yamazaki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryokan Yamazaki is located about 30 minutes by bus from Kyoto station and its very close to world famous sightseeing spots such as Arashiyama, Gold Temple and other world cultural heritages. Our guests from all over the world often says thhe specialty of Ryokan Yamazaki is a "Silence in Nature". We are at the entry to historical mountain village "Takao", and besides river and mountains. Close your eyes and hear the sound of nature and feel the fragrance of season. "The moments of healing will be yours" *Sensational Garden View *Authentic Japaense Cuisine *Global Friendly for over 15 years 『 Ryokan Yamazaki 』 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Ryokan Yamazaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Yamazaki Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing