We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Japanese Inn w/Beautiful Japanese garden”
Review of Ryokan Yamazaki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ryokan Yamazaki
Ranked #97 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Inn w/Beautiful Japanese garden”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This family run Japanese Inn is very authentic and has some really beautiful Japanese gardens that can be viewed from most of the rooms. It is a little ways outside of the main city area, however it is well worth the trip. Some traditional Japanese Inns are not keen on accepting foreign tourists due to language barriers and apprehension at how the foreigners will act. Not this place. They welcomed us from the time we set foot through the front door and if you are unaware of how to use traditional facilities they are very happy to help you out.

The Japanese breakfast we had was one of the best I've ever eaten in the 20 years I've been travelling to Japan. We didn't try the dinner but it looked even more amazing than the breakfast. The hotel is very old style Japanese, but does offer things like free Wi-fi if you just have to have your fix.

I've already recommended to several friends and am sure they will like it just as much as we did.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room in the back away from the road and with a bath included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    61
    29
    9
    12
See reviews for
27
70
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Outside of the city, away from the hustle and bustle of Kyoto. Very charming, authentic and incredibly accommodating. Definitely recommend this place for anyone who visits Japan and needs a relaxing getaway after the visiting the holiday hotspots of this wonderful country.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatgrumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

It's very pretty & has an authentic japanese feel to it. I believe it might be family run. Easy to get to by bus, but there is NOTHING around the ryokan.
We walked around the area looking for food but there weren't any. There were only 2 convenience stores (family mart & something else).

Ended up eating at the ryokan for dinner. Breakfast is either jap or western, 1200 yen / 800 yen respectively.

Nice room & clean!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice ryokan outside the city. The rooms were traditional, but the house itself was not like the pictures. The ryokan is located next to a beautiful mountain, but the main house is on the sidewalk of a traficated road. The bus takes about 30 minutes from Kyoto station and leaves every half an hour/hour. We were there around new years and the public holiday, and the last bus left at 21:00 making it difficult to go out for dinner. The staff were distant and we felt like we were bothering them by beeing there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

a little busride outside Kyoto Ryokan Jamazaki is located in the hills above the city. We enjoyed a very warm welcome, had excellent food and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Quite an affordable Ryokan at the edge of town. I find it weird that some users a promoting this to be close to the center: be wary, it's not! It takes around 30 minutes on bus to reach the railway station. Don't get me wrong, the location is not bad at all: it's a very quiet area of the town, has a fairly good bus connection and a also a train connection within 5-10 minutes walking distance. It's still more than a walk away from all the major sights.

We visited at the time of the Fukushima crisis, so the Ryokan was totally empty except for us! The owners gave us a larger/better room than we had booked with no extra charge, which was really nice. The building we stayed in had a shared toilet and bathroom but it didn't matter as we were the only visitors. The building also had a bath and a kitchen with fridge for ones own meals. Our room had a small terrace that opened to a nice garden. The room was modest but spacious and clean.

We also ate at the Ryokan and the food was delicious although somewhat costly. The owners are very nice and they served us tea when we first booked in. I don't know if the owners speak english, since we communicated in Japanese, so take that into account when booking (we booked by sending an email in japanese).

I'd recommend this ryokan in a heartbeat and would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Misantr00ppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Finding this Ryokan is actually very easy, just take the bus Nr. JR 3 from Kyoto station and get out at Takahana-cho. Then just follow the sign. One way fare is 220 ¥ but you can look for a access description as well on their website.
Unfortunatly I had a room with windows showing me just the parking lot. But the room was very big ( I have been to Tokyo before) and very clean. You get free tea and water. The owner are quite nice. even their english is sometimes a bit hard to understand.
Grandma even made me a little tea ceremony as she heard that I want to study japanese culture. The whole family is really nice!

Well the location might not be the best, you need to ride 30 minutes till you get to kyoto station, but buses depart every 30 minutes till somewhen between 22:00 and 23:00.
That's okay!
Atractions like the golden pavilion are easily to reach by feet. Just take one hour and walk, you will find a lot of lovely nature and nice temples on your way!
The only negative thing is, that you hear a lot of traffic noise in the morning.
I would recommend this ryokan to everyone searching for a cheap and typical japanese inn!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#33 of 369 in Kyoto
517 reviews
Yadoya Hiraiwa
#206 of 369 in Kyoto
58 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chatani
#192 of 369 in Kyoto
25 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Shimogyo-ku
Azumaya Ryokan
Azumaya Ryokan
#326 of 369 in Kyoto
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Yamazaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Yamazaki

Property: Ryokan Yamazaki
Address: 11 Umegahata Takahanacho, Ukyo-ku, Kyoto 616-8261, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Northern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Yamazaki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryokan Yamazaki is located about 30 minutes by bus from Kyoto station and its very close to world famous sightseeing spots such as Arashiyama, Gold Temple and other world cultural heritages. Our guests from all over the world often says thhe specialty of Ryokan Yamazaki is a "Silence in Nature". We are at the entry to historical mountain village "Takao", and besides river and mountains. Close your eyes and hear the sound of nature and feel the fragrance of season. "The moments of healing will be yours" *Sensational Garden View *Authentic Japaense Cuisine *Global Friendly for over 15 years 『 Ryokan Yamazaki 』 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Ryokan Yamazaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Yamazaki Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing