We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious okonimiyaki”

Donguri Shijokarasuma
Ranked #62 of 12,166 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious okonimiyaki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

You should try this regional speciality if you love trying out Japanese food. Seriously tasty. We loved the versions with lots of leeks, so good we went back again the next day. Staff friendly, English menu available and six branches around Kyoto to choose from.

Helpful?
Thank PhilipNW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    56
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not Amsterdam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

When we heard of okanami-yake, Japanese savory pancakes, we thought of some of the great specialty pancake restaurants in Amsterdam. At Donguri, they were definitely something different in the pancake genre, but not anything that we particularly craved or enjoyed. Also the service was rather coarse and indifferent, which made it a negative standout from all our other experiences during our two weeks in Japan.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato, Japan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome Okonomiyaki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The food was OUTSTANDING!, servoce good and atmosphere quite nice. Add that to quite reasonable prices for Kyoto (ok maybe cheap for Kyoto), and what more could you ask for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moshisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Okonomiyaki was good... rest was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We were so excited to go here because of the great reviews. Okonomiyaki was good but the rest was just ok. The staff didn't speak english very well but they were nice and friendly. The restaurant got really hot because they have the cooking tray in the middle of the table and it was hot the whole time. I didn't see much of point, since it was just for the heating the food. I couldn't wait to get out of there.

Helpful?
Thank Koreanineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
256 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We ate at the Donguri 5 minutes from Kyoto station. Busy all evening, but as with everything we have experienced in Japan, very attentive service, very friendly.
The food was very good, dumplings, pancakes and followed by black sesame ice cream.
Good atmosphere, highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donguri Shijokarasuma also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Donguri Shijokarasuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing