We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty meal, enjoyable evening.”

Donguri Shijokarasuma
Ranked #115 of 12,186 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shimogyo-ku
Boston
Level Contributor
133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Tasty meal, enjoyable evening.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The okonomiyaki evenings were definitely enjoyable, enhanced by the staff friendliness and clear comradery. Whatever the words may have been called out by staff to those entering and leaving, it reminded me of Norm's drinking buddies calling out "Norm!" on the "Cheers" TV show when he arrived and gave a nice feel to the place.

We dined at the Shijo Karasuma location for 2 of our 7 nights in Kyoto. (About 5 min. walk from Shijo Station on Karasuma Line and a 10 minute walk from our Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto Hotel.)

We liked the Seafood Okonomiyaki and the Standard Okonomiyaki. It's nice having the food kept hot on a propane-heated metal plate but be attentive in order that food doesn't get overcooked after being placed in front of you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tennismaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    60
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
1 review
“great meal and good value for money”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

we tried the starters, mains and desserts.
all were delicious and the staff were so friendly. it's been a lovely evening and we will come here again before we leave kyoto.

Helpful?
Thank Reinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great, honest little restaurant”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Super little noodle & okonomiyaki (weird but nice Japanese pancake) place just along from the Kyoto Park Hotel. Really fair prices, good service, & cold, cold beer. If you are looking for nothing too prim & proper & wish to tick off a few of the mainstays of Japanese cuisine then look no further.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fussy_bear2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west australia perth
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a great time here, nice friendly staff lead us to a booth with a BBQ plate set into the table and turned up high, as it was about 36 degrees that day so a few beers went down very well. We ordered two okonomiyakis and they where quite large but very tasty and managed to get through them. There are lots of fillings and toppings for the okonomiyaki we couldnt make up our mind. A great food experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staynaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious okonomiyaki!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

There are several Donguri locations. We ate at one on Karasuma Dori just south of Shijo Dori. Very pretty place inside with booth seating. We shared an order of gyoza and one okonomiyaki, since they are quite large. The okonomiyaki was cooked in the kitchen but kept warm on the griddle built into the middle of the table. Some dishes on the menu are prepared on the griddle. Everything was delicious. We also sampled okonomiyaki in Tokyo and Hiroshima, and Donguri's was among the best. Nice bar with a wide selection of beers, sake, and mixed drinks - all very reasonably priced, as is the food. Service is cheerful and attentive. All in all, an extremely satisfying meal and evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryga12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donguri Shijokarasuma also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Donguri Shijokarasuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing