We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible place”
Review of Highland Shimabara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highland Shimabara
Ranked #39 of 406 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

rooms are equiped in every possible amenities (I have never seen such facilities), manager is extremely helpfull, great value for money (this was our cheapest accomodation in Japan), there is no breakfast served, but you can have great meal 5 min. from the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 101 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted with the owner who couldn't have been friendlier and who spoke excellent English. Our room was a great size for Japan, with a big comfortable bed with a change of sheets should we need it. This is not a hotel so rooms are not cleaned and you are expected to fend for yourself, so to speak. Therefore we had enough clean towels for the 5 nights, were instructed to leave dirty ones in the wash basket and shoes had to be taken off before entering the room. Toilet separate from the shower and sink, temperature of the water can be adjusted accordingly. Air con excellent - well needed in the humidity! Quaint little balcony that we went out on when it rained, nice to watch. Kettle available though it is one of those boil on the stove types, fridge freezer also available. Despite there being a stove there are no pots and pans or plates and cutlery to use so bear this in mind before you go buying groceries to make dinner. We left out bin outside our room when it needed emptying. Quiet area and a hefty walk to the train station which isn't ideal when you are knackered and need your bed! Other than that, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elmo1989_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and were really pleased with the location, size and cleanliness of the room. It has a small kitchen witch you can use to make tea. If you like you are able to rent a bike as well (we did, Kyoto is a great city for cycling).
Looking for a no nonsense, central located apartment with a friendly and helpful owner? Look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLSLMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great new apartment. It was super clean and comfortable. We stayed for 3 days. It was a nice change from staying in hotels for 2 weeks already. We did talk to the woman in charge which was very nice and spoke really good English.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here from 28th December 2012 to 1st January 2013.

We arrived on a cold, wet, December day, hours earlier than check in but the manager let us into our room and was very helpful. Sadly, my friend and I had exited from the wrong place at the train station and went on a half hour search for this place till we realised our mistake, backtracking and then finding the place made us miserable but that was our fault and not that of the establishment, just make sure you take note of the correct exit.

The rooms are clean and functional, as it was winter we didnt use the outdoor table that our room had (we were on the ground floor) but i am sure it is lovely during warm months. Wifi and TV were both provided and no complaints on them. The bathroom was a real treat and had "traditional" Japanese home specs so very roomy.

There arent a lot of attractions around this place but there is a convenience store about 10 minutes walk away. Once you figure out the bus routes then this place becomes a real gem because you can get around easily.

We asked for a late check out as we would be going to Tokyo for our international departure but didnt want to have to lug around our luggage the whole day and the manager was very obliging.

Kyoto is an expensive town to find accommodation but this place was reasonable and if all you need is a "base" for your exploration then this place serves that to you. Oh, final note. the beds in the twin room are not the same size so if you are going in a pair, call dibs quick ;)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwiings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotels in Kyoto are expensive and there's not a huge selection especially within the price range of Highland. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and we found the staff to be very friendly. We decided to stay in Kyoto after check out to see some more sights before heading to Osaka. The manager/owner was very helpful in letting us store our bags in the office as they would not fit in the storage lockers, while we explored Kyoto. The room was very clean and was plenty spacious.
As others have mentioned, there aren't many restaurants or attractions in walking distance from the guesthouse, however the bus stop on the corner is very convenient. Be sure to pick up an unlimited day pass from the train station or a convenience store if you plan to ride the bus more than a couple times in one day. One trip will cost you 220 yen, however an unlimited day pass is only 500 yen.
I would recommend this guesthouse simply because it's a great value for Kyoto. It's very hard to find any hotels this inexpensive in the area. Although the rooms are fairly plain, the wifi works well and the rooms are very clean. All a budget traveler really needs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livinghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great value for Japan. The rooms are spotless and extremely comfortable. We were roadside on the ground floor, and I am a very light sleeper, yet there was hardly any noise. The location is very central, which was great for us as we wanted to explore all the regions of Kyoto, it is also only a 5- 10minute walk from a Jr line, which was useful with our pass :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Rak Kiyomizu
#75 of 406 in Kyoto
7 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Guesthouse in Kyoto(Schmied Nishinotoin)
Shimogyo-ku
Fujitaya Kyoto
Fujitaya Kyoto
#6 of 406 in Kyoto
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishijin District
Ryokan&Hostel Wasabi Kyoto Soba
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel M's Est Shijo Karasuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Shimabara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Shimabara

Address: 1-568 Omiya, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8363, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 406 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range: $38 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Shimabara 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highland Shimabara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing