We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment for the price of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arklead Gojo Horikawa
Ranked #12 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Arklead GojoHorikawa for three nights in June 2013. Great little apartments for the price of a hotel room - scrupulously clean and very quiet. Great shower, air-con and internet connection. Good little kitchen but no crockery, cutlery or cooking pans. Friendly staff speak good English. Quite a hike from the main train station but a great little place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

I honestly didn't expect much, so when I walked in I was blown away. You get a gas stove-top, microwave, kettle, mini fridge/freezer, bathroom (with tub) and separate toilet, and a little balcony. There is a computer for you to use, with free internet. The rooms aren't cleaned daily, but they collect the rubbish from outside your door. The staff are so helpful, and speak a decent level of English. Kudos to such a nice place, for a very minimal cost (~55-65 per night). I recommend this place to any traveller that isn't looking for a hostel style experience- good for couples, close friends, or small families. There is even a TV in the tub. Plus, the bed was more comfortable than a 4.5 star hotel we previously stayed at. Definitely don't miss this one.

Room Tip: Any unit, but number 13 has a larger outdoor area for those who smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marzy369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during our 4 day visit to Kyoto and were pleasantly surprised! Given the low price we didn't quite knew what to expect. Imagine our surprise to find a new, clean, modern and spacey apartment! The apartment has a small kitchen with a regular sized fridge and a bathroom with separate toilet (a plus!) and even a bath and shower, including mini tv! The bedroom has airco, decent beds (one not quite 2p and one 1p) and even a free to use computer with internet. For a couple like us this was just perfect! Don't expect to meet other people here or any hotel service and this is the place for you as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonaldEnShanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

we picked this guesthouse given its high ranking on booking.com (9.3) and reasonable price (Yen7500/night for studio/2ppl) at Sakura Easter holiday.

The location is not particularly good and far away major scenic spots. However, it has quite a few buses nearby (within 5min walk) to almost all scenic spots. Kyoto station is 15min walk while MTR station is 10min walk. So if you buy daily bus pass or metro pass, the location is OK for you to reach all scenic spots easily.

The guesthouse is located in quiet lane in a neighbourhood but with convenience store nearby.

Room is larger than expected with open kitchen (but only boiling pot available and thus we don't cook at all) and seperate toilet and bathroom. All faciities are well brand new and well maintained. the room is very clean.

WIFI is very strong and fast at house. Towers/toothbrushes/shampoo/conditioner/shower gel are all provided. hair-dryer and fridge is provided also.

We didn't manage to see the landlord at all but it's not a problem. The landlord will give you email in advance with detailed instruction for check-in (key is placed at letter box at front door and pw will be provided to you in advance). Check-out is even simpler, just drop your key at front door box. Landlord can be communicted in english (i called her once before arrival).

No room clean up during your stay and basicly no help you can easily get from landlord during your stay.
So book it if you're independent experienced travellers. But pass it if you need lots of help from guesthouse.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We, a mature couple enjoyed our 7 days stay. The studio room unit were good, place clean and well maintained with WIFI, kitchen, toilet and bath facilties. It was our base to use our JR pass to travel to Himeji, Osaka and Kobe and to Nara.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 310sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

... and perhaps the best value guest house in Japan!

If you're looking for something 'traditional' or if you want the 'backpacker experience' then move along - this is not the place for you. If, however, you are travelling as a pair/couple (or as a three), aren't going to accommodation to make friends, look for cleanliness, functionality, and value for money, then this really is worth considering.

The rooms are actually small apartments (lots of people in Japan live in apartments this size or smaller), and comes with rudimentary cooking facilities (hob, microwave, kettle). The shower/bath area is typically what you will find in Japanese apartments. The bedroom is separate and features a small double bed (or a large single depending upon your definition) and a single bed, which are positioned quite close together. There's a PC with free wifi, from which you can also watch Japanese TV if you feel like reducing your intelligence.

The staff are friendly and very low key. As it's effectively self-catering accommodation, they book you in, give you the door key, and send you on your way. That's fine for me as I hate the usual overly fussy service that you commonly encounter in Japan, but I guess for the service focused it will be a negative.

The guest house is located in a residential area, reasonably close to Kyoto Station. It really isn't difficult to find, and we walked to Gion in about 20 minutes for evening entertainment. I guess it all depends upon how lazy you are, but if you really do want to be in the thick of things, then this isn't the place.

The best thing is the price - we paid an unbelievable ¥ 5225! Between two people this is about the lowest I've ever paid on my travels in Japan - and for accommodation that was far superior to some of the grubby guest houses/stinking dorm rooms I've stayed in - and in Kyoto of all places (one of the most expensive cities in Japan).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jegsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The apartment is very new and modern and clean. We had a nice relaxing stay there. The room is big enough for two. And it has a good price. The only thing is that in the kitchen there are no tools or cups and plates. It is about 15 minutes walk from the train station. And quiet a walk to most of the temples, but I would choose this place again if I were in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vermeer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
FUJITAYA BnB
FUJITAYA BnB
#1 of 183 in Kyoto
80 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Villa Court Karasuma Nanajo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Seiki Kyoto Station
Hotel Seiki Kyoto Station
#35 of 183 in Kyoto
6 reviews
Southern Kyoto
The Pagoda Experience
The Pagoda Experience
#36 of 183 in Kyoto
7 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel M's Est Shijo Karasuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arklead Gojo Horikawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arklead Gojo Horikawa

Address: 700-1 Kakimotocho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8357, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range: $35 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arklead Gojo Horikawa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Arklead Gojo Horikawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing