We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very deep in ancient time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Ranked #62 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

very close to a beautiful park, calm excepted a noise coming from an electrical machine
particularly at night. The service is very good. Futons and tatami comfortable. We stayed 2 days
in this traditional hotel. The hotel is very clean.Nevertheless,floor covering and cushions at the reception desk
a bit worn out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 456 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

After a strenuous five days walking in the Kii Peninsula we relaxed gratefully in the wonderful comfort of our garden room at Yachiyo. It was a great base for exploring Kyoto, out of town but close enough to cycle to just about everything and with Keage subway station very close by. A short walk away is the cool haven of Nanzenji. Yachiyo staff were always helpful. We stayed for five nights and ate dinner here several times. The dinner is fabulous, an array of delicacies, different every night although not cheap. The Japanese breakfast was also a taste adventure every morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Weekendaway07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 night in this japan hotel. Awesome room and beautiful garden. Everything is good. Comfortable tatami. Most importantly, the place is clean. The bathroom (private) was very comfortable.The public bath was japan style. The drawback is the location is a bit far from city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ringo256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

During our three week stay in Japan, this ryokan/hotel was the worst one. The only guests we saw were tourists like us. This hotel seems to have had its heyday several years ago. Although our room was big, it smelt like old dust. The bathroom (private) was very tiny.The onsen (public bath) was old fashioned. The location was a bit far from the center. We had to give our key room to the reception desk before leaving and to ring a bell when arriving.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ann31B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this traditional Ryokan in Sept 2013.

We stayed in the new wing on a #02 unit.. very nice and spacious room.. Comfortable tatami. Most importantly, the place is clean.

We had our best Keiseki dinner in the Ryokan on our first night.. very delicous food.. not cheap though.. but very nice.. I would recommend trying it if budget is not a concern.

Staff are very friendly and capable.. esp an uncle, who speak pretty good english..

Location is within close walking distance to a subway station Keage. Unfortunately, while we were there, the Typhoon had cause a train breakdown.. we have to take taxi to the nearest subway station which is Sanjo-Keihan.. cost about 800Yen.. taxi to Kyoto station is about 1200Yen.

Room Tip: Book early if you want to stay in this Ryokan... not many rooms available.. if possible, choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rynare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in this hotel. The hotel is a bit old fashioned but has everything that you need to experience ryokan - japanese traditional room with futon. The garden is very beautiful. The drawback is the location is a bit far from city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nugroho B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Having just finished a 3 night stay, I would highly recommend yashido ryokan in Kyoto. Do not come here expecting western style comforts though. The traditional japanese style rooms are fantastic, however you will be sleeping on the floor. I have to say it was more comfortable that I expected though. The ryokan is certainly not new, but has a very homely and comfortable feel. The onsen is very relaxing and meals were also quite nice. View from rooms overlooking steam and Japstate style garden is very tranquil. Great location also very close to some great temples. Ryokan has bikes that can be borrowed, however we were easily able to walk to most places of interest. Staff are very friendly and although they have limited English, are very helpful.

Room Tip: Chose a traditional Japanese style room for real Japanese experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liseylou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#5 of 379 in Kyoto
621 reviews
Gion Hatanaka
#34 of 379 in Kyoto
366 reviews
Western Kyoto
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
#4 of 379 in Kyoto
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#35 of 379 in Kyoto
254 reviews
Gion
Kinoe
Kinoe
#141 of 379 in Kyoto
92 reviews
Gyozanen
#192 of 379 in Kyoto
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo

Address: 34 Fukuchi Machi, Sakyo-Ku, Kyoto 606-8435, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#83 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $214 - $1,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get the best out of a RYOKAN Kyoto, once prospering as the nation's capital for over 1,200 years is the city of arts, tradition and history. Kyoto plays a significant role in the identity of Japanese people. Experience this authentic part of Japan in a Ryokan. Why do Japanese people feel most comfortable on Tatami floors? Why do Japanese people from outside Kyoto praise Japanese food in Kyoto? Why is it difficult for Japanese people on vacation to decide whether to stay in a hotel or a Ryokan when they come to Kyoto? In a Ryokan, get more out of the basic necessities in life; food, shelter and clothing. An experience different from the common hotel. A Ryokan is an accommodation facility original to the owners taste, influenced by Japanese culture, style and feel. A service that can't be found anywhere else in the world; only here in Japan. Don't miss the opportunity to experience a deeper Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, HostelWorld, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachiyo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing