We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cosy traditional Ryokan in kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Ranked #63 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this traditional Ryokan in Sept 2013.

We stayed in the new wing on a #02 unit.. very nice and spacious room.. Comfortable tatami. Most importantly, the place is clean.

We had our best Keiseki dinner in the Ryokan on our first night.. very delicous food.. not cheap though.. but very nice.. I would recommend trying it if budget is not a concern.

Staff are very friendly and capable.. esp an uncle, who speak pretty good english..

Location is within close walking distance to a subway station Keage. Unfortunately, while we were there, the Typhoon had cause a train breakdown.. we have to take taxi to the nearest subway station which is Sanjo-Keihan.. cost about 800Yen.. taxi to Kyoto station is about 1200Yen.

Room Tip: Book early if you want to stay in this Ryokan... not many rooms available.. if possible, choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rynare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 455 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in this hotel. The hotel is a bit old fashioned but has everything that you need to experience ryokan - japanese traditional room with futon. The garden is very beautiful. The drawback is the location is a bit far from city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nugroho B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Having just finished a 3 night stay, I would highly recommend yashido ryokan in Kyoto. Do not come here expecting western style comforts though. The traditional japanese style rooms are fantastic, however you will be sleeping on the floor. I have to say it was more comfortable that I expected though. The ryokan is certainly not new, but has a very homely and comfortable feel. The onsen is very relaxing and meals were also quite nice. View from rooms overlooking steam and Japstate style garden is very tranquil. Great location also very close to some great temples. Ryokan has bikes that can be borrowed, however we were easily able to walk to most places of interest. Staff are very friendly and although they have limited English, are very helpful.

Room Tip: Chose a traditional Japanese style room for real Japanese experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liseylou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are looking for authentic this is the spot. But don't go in there like a tourist, or you will be treated like one. Go in there with a sense of humility that is required for this holy land and you will be treated with extra, including, the guidance that you require in order to fulfill your destiny.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zarameta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Yachiyo was a lovely ryokan set just outside of the Kyoto CBD. It was easy to get from the station to the ryokan and easy to navigate around Kyoto from there. The ryokan itself was lovely, we stayed in the old building which was just beautiful overlooking the gardens. The customer service, food and baths were wonderful! Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Elli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here and cannot complain about any aspect of it. The location is a good breather from the busy centre - it does take a little longer to get here but is totally worth it, plus its only 2 train stops from the city. If you walk 5 mins from the ryokan, you will find the most beautiful temple and walks, we only came across it before we left, bad research on my part. The staff are very friendly and the younger guy at reception went out of his way to help us book our next place which we were having trouble contacting- even ringing them for us. The room we stayed in was upstairs and we didn't get to see the garden which other people have written nice things about. It is a little dated, ie carpets/furniture, however everything is clean and well kept and the beds were lovely and comfy. For the price you are paying here its well worth the stay - walk 5 minutes in any direction and you will pay much more for abit of a 'posher' version. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie101photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Although the location is not as center to the city but it gives you another side of Kyoto. I had the ground floor room where you can walk out to a small back garden area where you don't notice you are actually in the city. It's a very traditional hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The food was very nice with a wonderful view to the garden especially if sitting outside.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertal34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#5 of 379 in Kyoto
620 reviews
Gion Hatanaka
#30 of 379 in Kyoto
365 reviews
Western Kyoto
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
#4 of 379 in Kyoto
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#34 of 379 in Kyoto
254 reviews
Gion
Kinoe
Kinoe
#148 of 379 in Kyoto
92 reviews
Gyozanen
#182 of 379 in Kyoto
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo

Address: 34 Fukuchi Machi, Sakyo-Ku, Kyoto 606-8435, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $214 - $1,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get the best out of a RYOKAN Kyoto, once prospering as the nation's capital for over 1,200 years is the city of arts, tradition and history. Kyoto plays a significant role in the identity of Japanese people. Experience this authentic part of Japan in a Ryokan. Why do Japanese people feel most comfortable on Tatami floors? Why do Japanese people from outside Kyoto praise Japanese food in Kyoto? Why is it difficult for Japanese people on vacation to decide whether to stay in a hotel or a Ryokan when they come to Kyoto? In a Ryokan, get more out of the basic necessities in life; food, shelter and clothing. An experience different from the common hotel. A Ryokan is an accommodation facility original to the owners taste, influenced by Japanese culture, style and feel. A service that can't be found anywhere else in the world; only here in Japan. Don't miss the opportunity to experience a deeper Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachiyo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing