We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Seikoro Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Seikoro Inn
Ranked #99 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights,our 1st experience of Ryokans.We were treated so special here, you feel like you might be the only 1 staying here.our traditional room was just amazing,everything so clean, so peaceful and easy on the mind.we had the traditional Japanese breakfast the 1st morning,served in our room, once the futons had been put away,we're used to having a nap after breakfast but when the futon was put away it wouldnt appear until late in the evening again,the 2nd morning we had the western breakfast including some fish as well. it was amazing, you need to be up and ready in the morning so the futons can be moved and the table laid out for the food. would really recommend this ryokan, we loved it very much. the Onsen was great also. my 1st experience of them. really great

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padraig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    28
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
36
86
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

At the end of our time in Kyoto we stayed two nights at this ryokan. We were warmly greeted on arrival and we left our bags to go and see more temples. On our return, which was later than planned due to following a geisha, we were welcomed back and taken through to our room (courtyard views) which was set up for dinner. This was a feast of seven courses with all different Japanese delicacies. Its worth trying everything, there was only one dish we weren't too keen on! Dinner is not cheap but good value and a real experience; likewise breakfast which is also served in your room once the bed has been cleared away. We had our own wooden bath as well access to the public onsen and despite being close to a busy road you would think you had travelled back in time. For our early departure they arranged a taxi to the airport which was cheaper than most in Japan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had three people greet us warmly when we arrived for our three night stay. After we arrived in our room we were brought green tea and a small snack. The public areas and rooms are traditionally decorated and there our bathroom had a traditional wooden soaking tub which was wonderful. The public onsen was also a nice way to relax after a long day of sightseeing.

We did not take any meals at the Seikoro Inn but the dinner I saw looked amazing and I wish we had the opportunity to eat there.

The employees do not speak much English but do try to help in any way and are very hospitable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dwoods1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was my wife's first visit to Japan, and I wanted us to experience a Ryokan to share something that I loved about living in this country back in the 70s.
What a disappointment...
Overpriced for what you get. The vibe of the place is of a management that is stingy and looking out to cut corners wherever possible. A coffee in the morning costs 500 yen, and you are paying 34,000 yen a night!. And the next morning, you are out the door quick as you like when you check out at 10:30!
As we opted out of the breakfast/dinner offering (over 22,000 yen for 2 pax the dinner!!) we felt (this is very subjective of course) a bit like second class citizens for the night we stayed.Once they saw we were not going to put more money into the place, it felt as though we sort of dropped off the radar. We did get a tea served to us but after that, not a grain of rice. Not a token sweet, not a bowl of steam. There seemed to be a lack of generosity that is normally so common in Japan in these places.
We noticed also that staff seemed to be living in mortal fear of the mama-san that oversees the place with a slightly hostile air about her. As I say, this place felt off, and though we couldn't quite put our fingers on why that was, by the end of our night's stay we were happy to leave.
Another thing - while the room itself was clean and very spacious, with its own bath, I should say that the overall impression of the interior was that they need to refurbish/re-invest in upgrading some of the furniture. For example, the pillows in the room for sitting had a used, frumpy look as did the sofas. They could use an upgrade on some of the interior fixtures, even though there is some charm to that funkiness. One night was more than enough though and I wouldn't recommend the place. I should add that this is not my first time in a Ryokan - I lived in Japan in the mid-70's and stayed in a really nice place in the mountains near Toyama. My gut feeling about Seikoro is that the place is not run with high integrity, or honor, or whatever it is that we as guests can sense when we are in a place that sincerely cares about its guests. Seikoro has the window-dressing part of a Ryokan, but it's missing the heart. Avoid this place if this matters to you.

On the positive side:
The young woman assigned to welcome us into our room was sweet and attentive. She was probably the most positive aspect of our stay.
Also the onsen was nice - very clean and well-kept. I had two very relaxing baths there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank artstew5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This ryokan is run by the sixth generation owner. It looks small from the outside located in a small street, but inside it is spacious with many rooms. Our room is on the aecond floor. Although not so big, but the room is so cozy. What i love the most are the people here. Although their english are not so fluent but they are very helpful and hospitable. The kaiseki are so nice and delicious. The western breakfast is marvelous too. I highly recommend this ryokan

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferliana21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

It's obvious this ryokan has a lot of history and tradition. The standout for us was the wonderful kaseiki dinner and the beautiful breakfasts the staff prepared for us every morning. Our attendant was attentive and timed every course for the kaseiki dinner very well.

Service - The staff were lovely, attentive and very discreet - besides from when we needed them for things such as check in/out and laying out the tatami, etc, we hardly saw them.

Location - The location was very convenient also - it is 5min walk to the subway station, a 5-10 minutes walk to nearby Gion and bar/restaurant area, and is within walking distance to most sites in Higashiyama.

Bathroom - While some ryokans only have shared or public bathroom facilities, this ryokan offers ensuite bathrooms. Our room had a western style toilet, separated from the bathroom which had a wooden bathtub + shower. The ryokan's own onsen was fine also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahlee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was our big splurge of a stay in Japan. We wanted to stay in a traditional ryokan, and wondered how it would differ from a modern ryokan and other accommodations (aside from the price).

You'll see and feel it once you arrive. The sight of at least five people bowing at you makes you feel like royalty. They immediately get your luggage and offer you slippers. When you get to your room, the fresh flowers and artworks add luxurious touches to an otherwise simple layout. The bath and toilet room is big, and I especially loved the wooden bathtub, which fits 1 person only.

Snacks are served by the person assigned to you. Ours was a friendly, active old woman and though she spoke no word of English for she only knew Japanese, we managed to understand each other.

After snacks, she rearranged the dining set and lay down our beds. She was quick and efficient, and we slept very well that night.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, and though it wasn't a garden view room, we still had a view of plants and bamboo.

Breakfast the next day was served in our room. It was the best: grilled salmon, poached eggs, and soft tofu, among other small plates. We were full and happy with our healthy, filling meal.

Other amenities: wifi only at the first floor, with connection intermittent. There's also an onsen. The lounge/communal room at the first floor has a mix of Western and Eastern decor.

The ryokan is located close to Gion, 2 bus stops away or a 20-minute walk. Subway and bus stops are also nearby.

The sincere and happy service, small thoughtful touches, and comfortable room make Seikoro a memorable experience for us. We could only afford to stay one night, but this was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderful888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Gion Hatanaka
#38 of 369 in Kyoto
294 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Western Kyoto
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
#4 of 369 in Kyoto
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gion
Yuzuya Ryokan
Yuzuya Ryokan
#87 of 369 in Kyoto
156 reviews
Motonago
#9 of 369 in Kyoto
347 reviews
Gion
Kinoe
Kinoe
#168 of 369 in Kyoto
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seikoro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seikoro Inn

Property: Seikoro Inn
Address: 467 Nishitachibanacho, Gojosagaru Sanchome, Toiyamachidori, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0907, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seikoro Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Ikyu Corporation and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seikoro Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seikoro Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing