We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kyoto Traveler's Inn
Nearby Hotels
$485
$295
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$384
$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$349
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$328
$274
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$358
$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$271
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$422
$180
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$455
$299
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ryokan 
Hiiragiya(Kyoto)
YOKOSO Japan
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
$542
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
24
106
66
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
106
66
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelgreat locationphilosopher's pathheian jinguworked finebicycle rentalelectric kettletraditional japanese roombed roommaruyama parkmajor sightsplace to sleepspoke englishcherry blossom seasonhotel staffgion areabasement
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 217 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have been here many times, both for business and for leisure. The rooms are good and clean, with a/c, refrigerator, electric kettle, etc.; there is a Japanese-style public bath downstairs which is really pleasant; the location is good, in Higashiyama ward near Heian shrine; the price is very reasonable (may vary with season). They do not provide internet connection though. Overall I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loteoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leizumishere, 支配人 at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Mr. Loteoc

Thank you very much for choosing us.

We apologize for the wi-fi system did not meet your satisfaction this time. We really appreciate if you could let us know which room you stayed so that we could fix that problem. As of last summer, all the rooms should be wi-fi free with password so we must fix it right away. If you do not mind, please email at kyototravelersinn@gmail.com at your convenient.

Otherwise, we hope that you enjoyed Kyoto during this festive season of the year.


Sincerely,


Manager
Naoki Ueno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

The location is very good in Okazaki area and there is pretty Cafe.This Cafe is very comfortable and they have English menu.
I recommend Matcha(Japanese green tea)Drink.
I hope many backpackers spend good time in this cafe.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarouchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leizumishere, Owner at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Tarouchan

Thank you very much for your review. Matcha Drink w/wo ice-cream is our favorite, too. We hope you liked our new bathroom with Ki-Yan's Artwork.


Sincerely,

IN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great location near the Torii gate and opposite the cherry-blossom lined canal. Very friendly service and good breakfast with choice of Japanese or Western style. Comfortable room - no lift but didn't bother us. Asked for a recommendation for good ramen and got sent to Miyaki Ramen in Gion where the locals go and was not disappointed. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leizumishere, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Blimit

Thank you so much for choosing us. Kyoto is famous for Ramen shops and there are at least 200 of them. Please come back again and find your real favorite Ramen shop. Probably, if you ask each staff, they would have given you different answers. My favorite is Tonryu ( 東龍)near Philosopher's walk/Ginkakuji Area.


Sincerely,

IN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My family and I loved it here! It was the fifth place we had stayed in our seven days so far in Japan and we would have loved to stay here longer than our two-night stay.

We stayed in a Japanese family room for two adults and our two teenage children and it was very clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff were friendly, rooms great value and the hotel in a good location.

Across the road is a pretty stream lined with cherry blossoms and there are temples and gardens within easy walking distance.

I am looking forward to staying at Travellers Inn again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leizumishere, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Kylea S

Thank you very much for staying with us. Currently we are in the process of making Walking Recommendation nearby us. Hopefully, it should be ready by the time you come back to Kyoto again.

Sincerely,


IN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Conveniently placed, very close to Heian shrine, Kyoto municipal museum of art, Zoo , Nanzen-ji shrine.
Triple Room is well equipped but it is quite small so we have to arrange the traffic inside the room in order not to bump into one another. The bathroom is twice the size the cabin toilet. Their is no electronic panel for the toilet seat. We can say that the room is not spacious at all,especially when we are three, however, it is clean and well maintained. In addition, the bed linen is very comfort to sleep in.
The staffs are helpful, their English is ok.
Tip: using the common bath in the underground hot spring is really a good choice. No need to bring anything, bath amenities provided.
Order some snack and sit on the terrace overlooking the river and the giant Tori gate towering over a row of cherry blossom is enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuJuNoNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leizumishere, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear JuJuNoNo

Thank you very much for choosing us. We are sorry for inconveniencing you with the room traffic and small bathroom situation in the guest room. Your comment is very important us and we would like to find some solutions in the near future. However, you seem enjoy the Okazaki Area in a very ideal way and we are very pleased that you enjoyed Kyoto.

Sincerely,

IN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews