We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good spot at a good price”
Review of Yadoya Hiraiwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yadoya Hiraiwa
Ranked #209 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good spot at a good price”
Reviewed April 10, 2006

We stayed at this hotel in March 2006 for two nights. Although it is definitely budget lodging, it is clean and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The location is good (1 block from the river and a 15 minute walk to the Gion), and it is in a quiet residential neighborhood. The Japanese breakfast is delicious (they also offer a Western-style breakfast). If you are expecting glamour, this is not the place for you; but I find tatami mats and futons the ultimate in comfort. The bathroom is shared, and shared by many. I expected the "public bath" to be a large one like other ryokan I have stayed in; this "public bath" is literally a small tub. Choose the shower. Overall, if you are looking for a traditional inn for a good price, I would recommend this ryokan.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank illflyaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
5
14
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 19, 2006

I stayed for 3 days in this Ryokan during a quick visit to Kyoto, and they offer great value for money. Its good points include:

Nice central location. The Kyoto station, downtown, Gion, and some of the temples are all on walkable distance. (Allthough one should just rent a bicycle to explore Kyoto).

Friendly staff. The owner of the Ryokan is a helpful and very friendly woman, who speaks excellent English. They really make you feel at home.

Clean rooms and bathroom facilities. Free highspeed internet. Good homemade japanese and western breakfasts. Easy to find: just turn right at Tony Lama's Homemade Boot Shop.

A good choice if you are looking for an affordable Ryokan.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2005

I spend 1 week at the Hiraiwa Ryokan and was not deceived by it considering the low price of the room.
Rooms (at least in the main building) were small, simple but comfortable enough and clean. Moreover the ryokan is quite well located (not too far from Kyoto Station (15-20 min on foot), and near bus stop which permit to reach downtown quite fast).
Internet station is also available.At last, staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Philippe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 12, 2005

Having read the review of this ryokan it must have changed alot before I visited. I stayed 5 nights with 2 friends and found the staff very friendly and helpful with advice on local festivals and temples to visit. Rooms basic but very comfortable with TV, hot showers, traditional baths and free green tea. It was a really homely place and would recommend it for a fantastic location near to the train station. It is certainly a different place from the previous writer's review. It added to the experience to what is a truely fantastic country.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2004

In planning my trip to Japan I read only good things about this ryokan. However, I regret that my experience was very bad. My husband and I stayed in a room on the second floor in the annex. The hallway and our room reeked of a cross between urine and rotting garbage. I was able to air it out enough with the one window in the room so that we could sleep through the night. The tatami mats were dirty and ragged. The floor pillows had brown stains on them. The door and walls were visibly dirty. My husband's shower was cold. Its only redeeming quality was a fairly good location. Yes, its cheap but you would be a lot better off paying a little more somewhere else. It was only one night and was our last night in Japan so we didn't complain.

Helpful?
16 Thank WestSeattleSaysHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Northern Kyoto
Ryokan Yamazaki
Ryokan Yamazaki
#93 of 369 in Kyoto
190 reviews
Chatani
#191 of 369 in Kyoto
25 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Azumaya Ryokan
Azumaya Ryokan
#329 of 369 in Kyoto
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ryokan Nakajimaya
#249 of 369 in Kyoto
34 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokan Kyoka
Ryokan Kyoka
#247 of 369 in Kyoto
35 reviews
Nashinoki Inn
#278 of 369 in Kyoto
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yadoya Hiraiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yadoya Hiraiwa

Property: Yadoya Hiraiwa
Address: 314 Hayao-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8114, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#91 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yadoya Hiraiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Hiraiwa Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing