We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical experience in our Japan trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hiiragiya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hiiragiya
Ranked #18 of 361 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Historical experience in our Japan trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This isn't only a ryokan, it's a part of Japan's history.
We had the impression to experience the Japan you can see in movies...at the time of the samourais.
We booked a luxury corner room in the main building and felt we made the good choice. Try to stay in the main building to feel the real magic of this place. Yes, the bathroom is old but a modern bathtub would definitely not suit in this building.
We spent the evening reading about Japan's history near the beautiful garden.

But the experience wouldn't be complete without a nice dinner. And wow...this is probably the best food we had in our entire trip. Everything was so beautifully prepared and served. Actually we hesitated between the Hiiragiya and the Tawaraya just across the street and finally chose this one because we heard the food was better...And now we are sure we made the right choice.

Don't hesitate, Japan is certainly a once in a lifetime trip so go for it, even if it's only for one night.

Room Tip: Main building is a must. Get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georges_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    34
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
159
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed three nights at this great ryokan, which came highly recommended by our travel agent. It was a really good decision as everything was just fantastic: wonderful rooms, great service, super meals and very friendly staff, including the owner who personally gave us the story behind this great family-owned ryokan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I travelled to Hiiragiya sixteen years ago as part of a group and loved the experience, which came at the end of my visit. Returning this year, I made it my first stop, partly to introduce my wife to Japan with the most sublime experience possible. And I was far from disappointed. The welcome was wonderful. The staff were more accommodating in terms of use of English than on my previous visit, and there has been some modernisation. But aside from this, the place remains unspoilt, an oasis of timeless calm and elegance in the heart of Kyoto. A beautiful room with its own miniature garden, a private bath made of cedar wood and kept at a wonderfully searing temperature, tea on arrival and the most hi-tech loo in the world (with aiming light for those standing). The staff reveal the centuries of tradition of hospitality in their seemingly effortless attentions, be it in the tea on arrival, the exceptional kaiseki meal or the breakfast. I cannot praise Hiiragiya enough. Indeed, meeting the hostess and being given a tour of some of the more modern rooms was itself an experience and, like most of my brief stay, felt like a privilege. The only problem was a brief tussle with the air conditioning unit, but for once I prevailed.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the older, more traditional part, and if possible, spend a little more for a slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WJBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
395 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hiiragiya was simply a fantastic stay. Staff and owner are attentive (not to mention the maiko that took care of us). We stayed in the new wing. Room was large, absolutely clean. Bathroom with a small hot tube / ofuro and a typical japanese style. Meals absolutely fantastic. Amazing how they change the room from a dining to as sleep place (buy moving the table out and the futton in). Fantastic smell with typical scents. After Hiragiya we moved to a western style hotel; we wanted to get back there at any cost...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acukiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in the old part of the building, beautiful room, spacious and tastefully decorated in traditional Japanese style. Staff was extremely polite and attentive. The Kaiseki dinner was also very nice. Convenient and central location

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CM6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
347 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This property is unique but not excellent. We stayed in the new section which has nice soaking tubs and a more modern feel. The dinner was long and though very good was hard to sit through. The service was average but always friendly. We love Kyoto and enjoyed the area but overall this property was not our favorite in Japan, though Kyoto was. You do feel like you are going back in time but other I feel there are better properties in the charming city of Kyoto.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

my corner room had sliding glass floor-to-ceiling doors that looked out/opened to an absolutely private,perfect japanese garden--which,along with the amazing service, was definitely the best part of staying at this wonderful inn. for anyone with an appreciation for the japanese aesthetic, it doesn't get any better than hiiragiya. altho there were some changes from my previous visit 9 years ago(wi-fi and a choice of meals, plus the option of having them in a separate dining room) it really does seem fixed in time--and the time probably closer to the pre-meiji(1860's) days than last century! of course there are some trade-offs:a miniscule sink and seriously austere towels, plus basically spending a lot of time sitting on the floor, but i'd return in a heartbeat

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtimegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 361 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#10 of 361 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 361 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiiragiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiiragiya

Property: Hiiragiya
Address: 277 Nakahakusancho Huyacho Anekoji-agaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8094, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hiiragiya 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hiiragiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiiragiya Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing