We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #49 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“comfortable”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

we stayed five nights, 4 (2 adults, 2 under 10 kids) in the room which made it tight with the sofa bed permanent made and an extra trundle. staff very polite and helpful. Shuttle bus to the station was actually very handy, even though it is less than 10 mins away, after a long day of walking it was easy to catch. location ok, have to travel by public transport, but the proximity to the train and bus station helpful. Lots of food options in an around the station. Did not have the breakfast, expensive addition really that is not needed. They had lots of events in the hotel, but that did not cause any problems.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    553
    249
    52
    23
See reviews for
379
317
91
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel was very comfortable although the room was quite small. We were there for 3 nights. Staff very friendly and always smiling. There was a few shops in the lobby area one being a lovely little bakery but also serving sandwiches, ice cream etc as well as being a gift shop the other shop was a florist, which I thought a bit odd, but then the majority of the guests are Japanese and suppose they want to purchase flowers/plants a a gift to take to someone. The breakfast was adequate, not much of a selection but I did enjoy the rice porridge. this hotel is a great location for the railway station.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The location is strategic and very close to Kyoto station. The hotel provide regular free shuttle from and to hotel- Kyoto station.
The hotel room has old design, but clean. They renovated the toilet and shower.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainEwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great location, closed to the train station plus the hotel has a shuttle to the station every15 min.
The staff is very kind and speak english
Small rooms but vey clean but everything in japan is small.

Room Tip: look the street because on the back of the hotel are the rails of the train and it could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliana t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Exellent hotell near the railway station - and free transport with shuttle to the hotell. Nice three days stay. Good restaurants. We (my wife and I) specially enjoyed the revolving restaurant om the roof, with et marvellous view of the city. Friendly staff and good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in the Rhiga Royal at Kyoto in April. Our travel agent had booked the two night stay and unlike the other hotels we had to pay at the end of our stay. The travel agent was quoted the price plus GST. However when we arrived we were told that there was a 10% service charge added on top of our quoted price - not a very good start.
Our room was ok, but in need of an update - the room and fittings were a bit tired although generally comfortable.
The desk staff were helpful and gave us excellent assistance with our airline booking passes when the supplied printer would not work.
Overall, the hotel needs to quote the full price when booking and an update is needed to the rooms, otherwise an average comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pyris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Terrific location! Walking distance from the station, as well as Umekoji Park and Kyoto Aquarium, and Nishi Honganji. Staff was friendly and helpful, although sending our bags ahead to the next hotel wasn't as easy as it was at other hotels - the language barrier was stronger at the RIHGA counter.
There IS bus service directly from the train station to the RIHGA front door, and back, which is lovely.
Unfortunately, we were a party of three and traveled with a wheelchair, and the hotel had no wheelchair accessible ("universal?") rooms to offer. This was the only hotel that was unable to make up for the mistakes our booking agent made when putting our trip together for us. The hotel seems to be in the process of updating, and the floor we got was clearly an older floor. The hall ceilings were relatively low, dimly lit, as were our rooms. The walls were thin, and it felt generally flimsy to me (even in comparison to the other hotels we stayed at during our trip). The bathroom is small but functional - but again, not really an option for someone requiring a wheelchair. I cannot say whether they offer accessible rooms, or what the accommodations might be in one if they do.
It wasn't bad, but it was definitely "worn," if that makes sense. Vending machines are available on every floor, but we were advised that floors 7, 8, and 9 had larger and a greater selection of vending machines (the floor I visited seemed to have already completed renovation - better lit, fresher carpets and walls).
Between the location and cost, this RIHGA Royal is a good choice, particularly if you're not a fussy or special needs traveler.

Room Tip: Make very certain the hotel understands you'll need a wheelchair accessible or "universal&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmeWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#45 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#41 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#19 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto

Property: RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Address: 1 Taimatsu-cho, Shiokojisagaru, Higashihorikawadori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8237, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#22 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#29 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easily accessible to the Kyoto Station, only 7 minutes's walk away , RHIGA ROYAL HOTEL KYOTO is located within walking distance to World Heritages such as Toji Temple, Nishihonganji Temple and Higashihonganji Temple, and "Kyoto Aquarium" where you will have an exciting time with your family and friends and which is also popular spot for a date. You can enjoy truly relaxing time in our rooms equipped with an air cleaner with humidification function and free Wi-Fi. We are pleased to keep your luggage before your check-in as well as after your check-out, so that you can fully explore and discover Kyoto. We offer free shuttle bus service between Kyoto Station and our hotel and free parking facilities. We have Lounge & Bar and 6 restaurants where you can choose out of a variety of cuisine such as French, Japanese and Chinese. Amongst of those ,"Top of Kyoto" on the 14F which is the only one and unique French restaurant in Kyoto ,slowly turning around to command a beautiful and panoramic view of the townscape of Kyoto not only in the daytime but also in the nighttime, offers you a luxurious and delightful dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Kyoto
Kyoto Rihga Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing