We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Ranked #49 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Were suggested this place by the travel agent and am happy with their choice. We got a twin room since the double was a semi-double and the room is a good size given this is Japan. Staff very friendly and helpful. Two options for breakfast: international and Japanese.

Helpful?
2 Thank dburfs
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    580
    259
    54
    25
See reviews for
405
335
93
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Close to the shinkansen. 5 minutes walk and plenty to eat and see around the area. Rooms are kinda small but so was everywhere else went in Japan. Gave me an umbrella when it rained, kudos for that. Everything just works and is easy, it's a good bet for around $90-100 a night.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenHuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We selected the Rihga because of its proximity to the Kyoto rail station but we got much more than we anticipated. Our room was very generous and comfortable. But the best part of the Rihga was the excellent service provided by everyone we came in contact with. The front desk could not do too much for you. They were very helpful getting our luggage stored until after we finished our afternoon tour. While their English was limited (as well as our Japanese), they tried very hard to accommodate our needs. Great service makes a huge, positive impact on travelers and this hotel has found the key.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod & Vicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

It was very dark outside the hotel when we arrived at night time, feeling a bit creepy. But upon check in, you will see lots of tourists enjoying the free wifi in a cozy and relaxing space. Our room is clean, but a little bit old. Enjoyed the 100yen massage chair. Dinner is ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tboyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We arrived around noon, but our rooms weren't ready until 5:30pm.

The rooms were supposed to be non smoking (which we confirmed twice to make sure) but they stank of smoke. It hurt our noses!

Arriving home at night the hallways smelt of rotten sewage. It made us gag.

The breakfast (which we got for free because of the late checkin) was so bad we didn't eat anything. I was going to have simple poached eggs on toast but they don't do poached eggs. The orange juice was a huge fail - yuk.

Don't bother asking for anything from room service. They can't speak English.

We have been travelling around Japan for a couple of weeks and have stayed at lots of hotels. This place is a dive. Stay away.



Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayness33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I could only recall that the hotel was green in color, since I walked from the station. Rihga Royal was more expensive, I was hoping that they did an upgrade to the property. I liked that they had a shuttle bus service to the station. The staff was not very helpful and could not speak English when trying to forward our luggage by takkyubin. I heard the New Miyako Hotel is better and it is right across the street from the station. I will be staying there the next time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HonoluluMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Excelent location, although very close to the station, they offer free transportation, staff very helpful, room very comfortable and clean. We liked very much the tea house of the hotel. The tea and cake were delicious after a day exploring many temples.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CSK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#44 of 373 in Kyoto
2,091 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#17 of 373 in Kyoto
2,995 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#30 of 373 in Kyoto
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#43 of 373 in Kyoto
1,099 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 373 in Kyoto
888 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#23 of 373 in Kyoto
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto

Property: RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Address: 1 Taimatsu-cho, Shiokojisagaru, Higashihorikawadori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8237, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#22 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#29 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easily accessible to the Kyoto Station, only 7 minutes's walk away , RHIGA ROYAL HOTEL KYOTO is located within walking distance to World Heritages such as Toji Temple, Nishihonganji Temple and Higashihonganji Temple, and "Kyoto Aquarium" where you will have an exciting time with your family and friends and which is also popular spot for a date. You can enjoy truly relaxing time in our rooms equipped with an air cleaner with humidification function and free Wi-Fi. We are pleased to keep your luggage before your check-in as well as after your check-out, so that you can fully explore and discover Kyoto. We offer free shuttle bus service between Kyoto Station and our hotel and free parking facilities. We have Lounge & Bar and 6 restaurants where you can choose out of a variety of cuisine such as French, Japanese and Chinese. Amongst of those ,"Top of Kyoto" on the 14F which is the only one and unique French restaurant in Kyoto ,slowly turning around to command a beautiful and panoramic view of the townscape of Kyoto not only in the daytime but also in the nighttime, offers you a luxurious and delightful dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Kyoto
Kyoto Rihga Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing